We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boxwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boxwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. It was a spontaneous trip, so there were not any places left except this lodge. This proved to be in our favor. Our room was very clean, well stocked with linens and surprisingly spacious. The owner was very nice. The price was good and kids loved the pastries that were waiting in the office the next morning. We were able to walk to the main street of town in only a few short minutes. We enjoyed the porch and the rockers. There is one cute cabin on the property with a king bed in a loft and a pull out couch. There is a small little park setting in front of the cabin. This would be great for the kids while you sit on the front porch. It was not available when we stayed. We liked Boxwood Lodge so much that we stayed a second night in another room because we had checked out thinking we were leaving town, but decided to stay. The second room was even nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the single story row seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have been staying at the Boxwood Lodge since first going to Blowing Rock several years ago. The owners are welcoming, accommodating, and just plain friendly! Every morning we went up to the Lobby for coffee (there is a pot in the room, also) and took it back to the line of rocking chairs on the front porch to enjoy. Then we'd go back for a light breakfast (more coffee, bagels, juice, sweet rolls) and sat on the side porch to plan the day. Beds are queen-size, rooms are comfortable. If you have a chance, check out the log cabin rental: loft bedroom, fireplace, jacuzzi - very romantic! We are not in our room during the day, so to have peace, food, and friendly people in the morning and comfort at night is all we ask. Within walking distance to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbaraann007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

great location and very pleasant and helpful owner, however everything else fell well short. Rooms dark and bathroom antiquated, never seen a bathroom heater like it! Breakfast very poor in comparison to anywhere else we stayed this trip, minimal to say least, considering price paid.

Room Tip: all rooms looked same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We are just returning from a short weekend 2 nite stay. We could not be more thrilled! Having never seen the place and having stayed in a similar place last year with horrible mattresses that left us sore for a week, we were nervous. But for less than that place, we got comfy beds, alot of room (standard 2 queen room for 2 adults, a 13 and 11 yr old), a wonderful hot shower, very clean and looked to be recently updated, great location, and wonderful service ( we arrived rather late and the owner had stayed up and waited for us). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bshaw96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I just stayed at Boxwood Lodge for my second year in a row to enjoy the beautiful NC mountains. The Lodge is owned by a wonderful husband and wife, who are so pleasant and accomodating! The rooms in which I've stayed have been immaculate and very attractive - loved the oh so comfy beds. There is a huge porch that simply begs you to sit and enjoy a rocking chair and gentle breeze! I'd have lassoed it and brought it home w/me if I could! Another big plus is that you're an easy walk away from the charming Blowing Rock village, w/lovely shops and restaurants. If you're going to be enjoying the Boone/Blowing Rock area in the future, I highly recommend a stay at Boxwood Lodge! You won't regret it!! :)

Room Tip: Sorry - I mistakenly clicked excellent for fitness center and couldn't figure out a way to delet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaboutbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

There is NO customer service that this hotel. We made reservations to stay at this hotel and received a confirmation number. Once we arrived at the hotel and had visited the hotel room, the innkeeper informed us that he would not honor our confirmation. After trying to reason with him and even agreeing to pay more than the reservation amount, he asked us to leave. We stayed at another hotel with better ammenities for the same money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosie6520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

I was reluctant to book an extended stay anywhere in Blowing Rock without seeing my choices in person. After reading several reviews, I chose to stay a night at the Boxwood Lodge. It's a good choice. We had a king suite room. Room was very clean and smelled fresh. Bed and furniture all in great shape. Bed was very comfortable. This was a nice departure from the chain hotels. I would certainly stay again next visit. My wife thought the room was "cozy" and "quaint". Location is good for shops in Blowing Rock and surrounding area. I'm pretty picky when it comes to lodging. This was a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ifindsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxwood Lodge

Property: Boxwood Lodge
Address: 671 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6159
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Boxwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxwood Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing