We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Introduction to Boxwood Lodge, Blowing Rock NC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boxwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boxwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
venice, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Introduction to Boxwood Lodge, Blowing Rock NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

TO THE WONDERFUL INKEEPERS PHILLIP AND EMMA OF BOXWOOD LODGE
We spent 3 days at Boxwood and this lodge is truly a GEM. Situated within minutes to the main street and shopping area as well as excellent restaurants. The spacious parking area is easy in and out. Rooms are immaculately clean and appealing. Beds are very comfortable. Rocking chairs on the long verhanda are easy to relax in and the cool breeze just whispers around you. Complementary breakfast on the covered patio is fun and sociable.
We hope to return next year and plan to stay at Boxwood Lodge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try an end room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constance p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

My husband, 13 year old son and I wanted a quick summer get away in the mountains. Honestly, as a frequent business traveler, I worried that the Boxwood would prove to be a bit of "roughing it," but was game to try something different. We stayed two nights and really enjoyed it. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and pleasant. The owners were nice. The little breakfast wasn't much. The location was perfect for walking to the shopping area and restaurants. It's not a big name chain with lots of extras...but I have to admit, I didn't miss them! We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. It was a spontaneous trip, so there were not any places left except this lodge. This proved to be in our favor. Our room was very clean, well stocked with linens and surprisingly spacious. The owner was very nice. The price was good and kids loved the pastries that were waiting in the office the next morning. We were able to walk to the main street of town in only a few short minutes. We enjoyed the porch and the rockers. There is one cute cabin on the property with a king bed in a loft and a pull out couch. There is a small little park setting in front of the cabin. This would be great for the kids while you sit on the front porch. It was not available when we stayed. We liked Boxwood Lodge so much that we stayed a second night in another room because we had checked out thinking we were leaving town, but decided to stay. The second room was even nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the single story row seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have been staying at the Boxwood Lodge since first going to Blowing Rock several years ago. The owners are welcoming, accommodating, and just plain friendly! Every morning we went up to the Lobby for coffee (there is a pot in the room, also) and took it back to the line of rocking chairs on the front porch to enjoy. Then we'd go back for a light breakfast (more coffee, bagels, juice, sweet rolls) and sat on the side porch to plan the day. Beds are queen-size, rooms are comfortable. If you have a chance, check out the log cabin rental: loft bedroom, fireplace, jacuzzi - very romantic! We are not in our room during the day, so to have peace, food, and friendly people in the morning and comfort at night is all we ask. Within walking distance to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbaraann007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

great location and very pleasant and helpful owner, however everything else fell well short. Rooms dark and bathroom antiquated, never seen a bathroom heater like it! Breakfast very poor in comparison to anywhere else we stayed this trip, minimal to say least, considering price paid.

Room Tip: all rooms looked same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We are just returning from a short weekend 2 nite stay. We could not be more thrilled! Having never seen the place and having stayed in a similar place last year with horrible mattresses that left us sore for a week, we were nervous. But for less than that place, we got comfy beds, alot of room (standard 2 queen room for 2 adults, a 13 and 11 yr old), a wonderful hot shower, very clean and looked to be recently updated, great location, and wonderful service ( we arrived rather late and the owner had stayed up and waited for us). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bshaw96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I just stayed at Boxwood Lodge for my second year in a row to enjoy the beautiful NC mountains. The Lodge is owned by a wonderful husband and wife, who are so pleasant and accomodating! The rooms in which I've stayed have been immaculate and very attractive - loved the oh so comfy beds. There is a huge porch that simply begs you to sit and enjoy a rocking chair and gentle breeze! I'd have lassoed it and brought it home w/me if I could! Another big plus is that you're an easy walk away from the charming Blowing Rock village, w/lovely shops and restaurants. If you're going to be enjoying the Boone/Blowing Rock area in the future, I highly recommend a stay at Boxwood Lodge! You won't regret it!! :)

Room Tip: Sorry - I mistakenly clicked excellent for fitness center and couldn't figure out a way to delet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaboutbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxwood Lodge

Property: Boxwood Lodge
Address: 671 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6159
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boxwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxwood Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing