We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Boxwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boxwood Lodge
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Boxwood Lodge this weekend and were completely thrilled with the accommodations and the friendly innkeepers!! Our room was very spacious and nice. Everything was clean and in good working order. The bed was very comfortable. Free wifi made it even better. We thought the couple who own the lodge were so very nice and so helpful. I would definitely recommend the Boxwood to anyone who is looking for a place in Blowing Rock or Boone area. We were truly impressed and will stay with them again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Appears to be newly renovated. Nice decor, great cross-breeze at night. Only 1 sink but lots of counter space in bathroom. King sized bed and recliner. Rockers on our porch but look onto the main road and it was a little noisy. Bedding was scrumptious but bed a little soft. My biggest complaint is that it was too far away from downtown to walk (I have to use cane). We will definitely keep it in mind for our next trip.

Room Tip: We were in back bldg. facing Main St. Little noisy from traffic but with window shut it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grannani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My son and I stayed one night to go to Art in the Park. Owner is very friendly, great location, spacious parking and rooms were well kept and much larger than I expected. This is a great weekender place to stay while visitng Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

TO THE WONDERFUL INKEEPERS PHILLIP AND EMMA OF BOXWOOD LODGE
We spent 3 days at Boxwood and this lodge is truly a GEM. Situated within minutes to the main street and shopping area as well as excellent restaurants. The spacious parking area is easy in and out. Rooms are immaculately clean and appealing. Beds are very comfortable. Rocking chairs on the long verhanda are easy to relax in and the cool breeze just whispers around you. Complementary breakfast on the covered patio is fun and sociable.
We hope to return next year and plan to stay at Boxwood Lodge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try an end room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constance p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband, 13 year old son and I wanted a quick summer get away in the mountains. Honestly, as a frequent business traveler, I worried that the Boxwood would prove to be a bit of "roughing it," but was game to try something different. We stayed two nights and really enjoyed it. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and pleasant. The owners were nice. The little breakfast wasn't much. The location was perfect for walking to the shopping area and restaurants. It's not a big name chain with lots of extras...but I have to admit, I didn't miss them! We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. It was a spontaneous trip, so there were not any places left except this lodge. This proved to be in our favor. Our room was very clean, well stocked with linens and surprisingly spacious. The owner was very nice. The price was good and kids loved the pastries that were waiting in the office the next morning. We were able to walk to the main street of town in only a few short minutes. We enjoyed the porch and the rockers. There is one cute cabin on the property with a king bed in a loft and a pull out couch. There is a small little park setting in front of the cabin. This would be great for the kids while you sit on the front porch. It was not available when we stayed. We liked Boxwood Lodge so much that we stayed a second night in another room because we had checked out thinking we were leaving town, but decided to stay. The second room was even nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the single story row seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have been staying at the Boxwood Lodge since first going to Blowing Rock several years ago. The owners are welcoming, accommodating, and just plain friendly! Every morning we went up to the Lobby for coffee (there is a pot in the room, also) and took it back to the line of rocking chairs on the front porch to enjoy. Then we'd go back for a light breakfast (more coffee, bagels, juice, sweet rolls) and sat on the side porch to plan the day. Beds are queen-size, rooms are comfortable. If you have a chance, check out the log cabin rental: loft bedroom, fireplace, jacuzzi - very romantic! We are not in our room during the day, so to have peace, food, and friendly people in the morning and comfort at night is all we ask. Within walking distance to the center of town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbaraann007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxwood Lodge

Address: 671 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6159
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £67 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boxwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxwood Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing