We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Decision”
Review of Boxwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boxwood Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed in the cabin on the premises for the weekend. In packing our things the morning of our departure I forgot to look in the tiny closet between the bathroom and kitchen. I had hung our 3 rain coats and placed a very expensive JVC camcorder in a red tamrac bag on the shelf just above the jackets and right beside the spare sheets. We left without ever looking in the closet. the next morning we contacted the innkeeper who said housekeeping found the 3 rain jackets but did not admit to finding the camcorder??? this is simply not possible in a tiny 18 inch closet right beside the sheets that would be needed to remake the room. We were just heart sick to think that someone would take our camcorder. The Innkeeper initially seemed concerned but upon further conversation with him and suggesting that his housekeepers were dishonest he became rude and hung the phone up on me. A very expensive trip for us. We will never return to Boxwood or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SCClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2008

A friend and I stayed at the Boxwood Lodge on the
weekend of 5-9-08. The experience was great..really great.
Phil and his wife were very helpful in every way.
The room was #202 a double queen suite. Everything
was clean, the layout was very warm and inviting. The
lodge is freshly painted and well maintained. I called the
front desk to report a broken lamp, Phil was there in five
min to take care of it. I plan to stay in the cabin suite they
offer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed at Boxwood Lodge for a long weekend getaway, and were extremely pleased with our stay. We stayed in the king suites that are located in the main building of the property-Room 111 (Room 112 is identical). It appeared to be recently decorated -I found that it had been about 3-4 years since it was, but it was SPOTLESS. The main room was spacious, with a king bed (with a brand new matress), two reclining chairs, TV and dresser. There is a small balcony that you can go out onto that overlooks the other main bulding of the property-not large enough for a chair though. The bathroom was spotless as well, with a very large double sink and counter, and very spacious jacuzzi tub/shower with attractive ceramic tile. The room was attended to everyday by the staff. The owners were very congenial and pleasant to talk with. They provide a modest breakfast each morning of coffee, orange juice, and pastries.

We would highly recommend the king suites as a place to stay at this property, and we intend to return there next year.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eyetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

I recently stayed at the Boxwood Lodge based on reviews on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to be given a tiny room with a musty smell and bed so hard I could barely walk the next morning. Although the property was spotlessly clean, it is apparently the worse for wear as our mattress was just plain worn out. The property sits right on a very busy highway and the noise from trucks and traffic is constant. I'd recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtn_Traveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

My husband and I stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. We had a nice room upstairs in the main house of the lodge. The room (a king suite) was large, clean, and had plenty of furniture. However, it was not a suite in the sense that there was a seperate sitting room and bedroom. The room was very large though.
The location is great. About a three-five minute walk to anywhere in historic Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esg0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This is a modest but very pleasant establishment. It is on the main street into Blowing Rock and a reasonable 10 minute walk into the downtown area. It is basically a motel but a nice one.

It is very well-run by the proprietors, Philip and Emma, and there a general sense of personal pride and ownership in the place. The rooms are relatively ordinary but are clean and well-kept. Same with the continental breakfast - modest but quite sufficient. There are many small touches outside, such as the gardens and breakfast porch, that make everything quite pleasant.

Like the earlier reviewer we stayed in the one-bedroom suite with small children, and valued the extra room and small kitchen facilities (sink, microwave and some cups and utensils).

(Special tip for other families - Blowing Rock has a great playground in its downtown park.)

Blowing Rock has many motels and inns but we thought the Boxwood Lodge was a very nice, well-located and reasonably-priced place to stay. There may be better places but we were quite satisfied with our choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2006

When planning your trip to Blowing Rock, The Box Wood Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. It is located on Main Street and is within walking distance to all the wonderful shops. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and spacious. If you are traveling with kids I recomend room 105. We have a 5 year old and it was perfect. Its a two room suite with two TVS, cable and a small kitchenet with sink, dishes and glasses, utensils and even wine glasses and a cork screw for that evening bottle of wine. There is also a babbeling brooke out side the window and a litte stone garden with a swing. Main Street has a big park for the kids and it beautiful during peak season in the Fall. Mr. & Mrs. Pickett (Inn Keepers) are delightful and welcoming, and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Very, very cozy! A great deal for the price. we plan on staying there every visit to come! There is not much of a view, but the location is great if you plan on doing Granfather Mt. and the likes. It's located just a stones throw from the Blue Ridge Park Way! They also have a private cabin for extra privacy. Oh, and the towels are extra large, thick and soft. That's a big change from the hotel towles we expected. All rooms are non-smoking, but you can step out side and smoke while sitting on the swing in the covered gazebo. While sitting there you can feel, hear and smell the brooke running under your feet below the wood floor. It's very relaxing. I highly encorage a stay at the Lodge, you will not be disapointed. Also, make sure you stop by Mistery Hill just down the road. It's fun and amazing for both kids from 5 to 50. Enjoy!

9  Thank MiddleSoundMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxwood Lodge

Address: 671 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6159
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £66 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boxwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxwood Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing