We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Cozy”
Review of Boxwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boxwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cozy”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I have been staying with Phillip and Emma Pickett, owners of the Boxwood Lodge, for over fifteen years. Blowing Rock has always been a favorite place of ours and over the years I have stayed at several small, privately owned hotels that were nice. We had grown rather fond of a fairly large hotel in Blowing Rock as it had a decent restaurant inside. One weekend, at the last minute we decided to drive up to Blowing Rock just to beat the heat down in the piedmont area. On calling this place where we had stayed at multiple times, we learned they were full. I asked them for recommendations and they referred me to the Boxwood Lodge. They probably shouldn't have made that recommendation because the Boxwood is where we always stay now! The owners work extremely hard to keep the place clean, neat and comfortable and there is nothing we enjoy more than sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch with a good glass of wine and some locally made cheese! North Carolina mountains are beautiful throughout the year but fall is spectacular! Call the Boxwood Lodge and make your fall reservations early as they book up quickly. The owners can fill you in on what to see and do. They are delightful people!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but two couples might enjoy staying in the little cabin. I never have but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGriffin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've stayed at Boxwood before but this time we chose an end room in the building that is to the left of the office if you are standing looking at it from Blowing Rock Road. This room was wonderful! It has been updated (rooms in the other building are almost finished being renovated) and the decor is very nice and everything was really clean. I love it at Boxwood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amynpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just returned from a great weekend getaway. We decided Friday that we would head to Blowing Rock for the weekend and just find a place when we got there. We had driven by several places and went by this place and immediately turned the car around and went in to check it out. Gentleman at the front desk was so friendly and even gave us a key to check it out before we made a final decision. We walked in the room and knew that was the place. It was clean, cozy and quiet!! If you are looking for a place close to downtown Blowing Rock that is clean, quite, great priced with excellent staff then you Must stay here. You will not be sorry! It was an awesome place to stay and I am already excited about my next stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We just returned from our visit to Boxwood Lodge and we are already looking forward to our return! I loved that they still use real keys to the rooms! The beds were comfy & warm (it was really cold this past weekend!) & the room was a good size. The bathroom/vanity area were a little cramped, but still a lovely room. The location is excellent, just a short walk to local shops & restaurants in the Blowing Rock village. They also offer tickets to local attractions with a small discount at the front desk. We would definitely recommend Boxwood Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOlds10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Once again, I SO enjoyed my stay at Boxwood! The owners are such lovely, accommodating folks, and the room was comfy cozy, just like being at home! As always, everything was spotless, and the comfortable bed was to die for! Just a short walk into charming Blowing Rock, too, for wonderful shopping and restaurants! If you're going to be in this area overnight, I highly recommend Boxwood Lodge! I keep going back for their reasonable rates and incomparable care of their guests! You can't go wrong staying here! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imaboutbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were looking for a room with a king size bed and porch with rocking chairs. Boxwood Lodge these requirements perfectly. The location is good, at the end of the block with walking distance to downtown stores & restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Secrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our two night stay here with a family of four. The rooms are nothing fancy but clean and comfortable enough. The keepers are very friendly. The grounds are well kept and tidy. The location was within 5 min walk to downtown blowing rock, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxwood Lodge

Property: Boxwood Lodge
Address: 671 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6159
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Boxwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxwood Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing