We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to like”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Days Inn Blowing Rock
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“hard to like”
Reviewed 25 May 2008

well i'm a glass half full kinda guy but this place was not so hot.
the problem in this town is staying for cheap which i was determined to do.
spend the money!
they had started doing work like countertops but hadnt gotten to replacing the mirrors or cleaning the tile grout yet.
the "staff" was a young guy more interested watching "shot of love 2 with tila tequila" than presenting himself as the face of days inn inc.
worst of all is the very loud doors slaming shut all morning!
people cant help it, i did it too, but the silencers (the little bumbers the go on the jamb) were long gone and BLAM!
ugh.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — couldnt get any rest with noise from slaming doors
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterthebronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2007

I was very shocked to see some of the reviews on here about this hotel. It is not the Marriot, but it is a far cry from being one of the worst Days Inns. Everything was clean, ALL of the staff were extremly friendly! Room decor was outdated but not old and ragged. From what I hear, they are planning on doing major renovations in the Spring - So then Im sure it will be even nicer! Restaurant for breakfast was excellent! Also, the front desk manager (a young girl) was wonderful! She helped us with an issue we had like she had been doing the job for years! Now I saw another complaint on here about her -- and I think that they were pertaining to the hotel manager. She was a very old, very cranky, very much in need of retirement lady. But we still had a wonderful stay!!

  • Liked — The Excellent Service from the staff
  • Disliked — The pool was closed due to water restrictions -- I know this wasnt the hotel's fault, but I was dissapointed.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vacationer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Our AC didn't work, the towels were dirty, the sheets were dirty, the carpets were disgusting, the bathroom was downright nasty, our TV looked like it was from the '70s (attached wheeling stand and no remote) and we're pretty sure there were bloodstains on the bedspread. Also, the pool and hot tub were disgusting. We spoke with the front desk manager about our troubles in the morning and she was so rude to us and to her staff that we decided to cut short our stay and went to another area hotel, where we found out about the multiple health code violations that the Days Inn has had. We will NEVER stay here again. I didn't know chain hotels could be so bad.

  • Liked — The wireless internet worked
  • Disliked — The dirtiness & the front desk manager's attitude
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mlc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blowing Rock hotels

North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Hotel is one of the worst properties Days Inn has in its portfolio. Rooms are old and dirty. The rooms with two beds are doubles (not queen) -- and the mattresses are hard as a rock. Floor might be slightly less comfortable. Two adults cannot sleep on these beds comfortably.

Everything about the hotel was done on the cheap -- no pride of ownership in this facility.

Rates are overpriced. Alot of other nicer choices in area. Will not stay there ever again.

The poorest design is the bathroom. The toilet is placed maybe 4 inches from the wall. If you want to use the toilet and have to sit down -- you have to sit sideways. I weigh 175 pounds -- can't imagine what it would be like for someone larger.

Building facility itself is poorly maintained. Lights outside back entrance we're not lit. Back doors could not lock. Hotel has ZERO security if you stay there - be aware.

Chambermaids are nice however -- we gave them a big tip as they probably don't have alot of options for work in that area.

  • Liked — Location relative to city if Blowing Rock.
  • Disliked — Facilities were poorly maintained. Beds were low quality.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We chose a larger room with fridge/microwave. The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. For a no-frills place to stay, I would recommend this hotel. It exceeded the expectations I had.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thebeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, N. C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed at the Days Inn in Blowing Rock N.C. for (1) night only- the room was nice and clean- and very comfortable. WE were very dissappointed with the Hot Tub- It was just barely warm- others complained also. We reported this to the front desk and they brought a thermometer out and said it was 97 degrees- - That was a joke- the indoor pool was not even warm enough to tolerate at all. They said it was 80 degrees...For this price of this room, we feel it was very misleading and we have stayed at Days Inn throughout the carolinas on many occassions.. There were very many other places we could have stayed...vacancies everywhere...The front desk manager did not seem concerned, never offered an opology and we were not happy with our stay. This is not a very customer friendly place to stay.....just uninterested in the feelings of those who choose to stay there.... We were looking forward to the pool and hot tub- and planned our stay for for that very reason for a quick weekend get-away to relax.....

  • Liked — nice room- food service close by
  • Disliked — hot tub- pool , front office staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladycat1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREENVILLE,NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2007

On a short getaway to the NC Mountains we choose to stay at the Days Inn in Blowing Rock. We arrived on a Wednesday and left on Saturday morning. First impression the outside didnt have much of an appeal, but once inside seemed to be a clean place. However, the hotel is a cold place, Front desk always said that the heat was on but I dont think they finally ever turned any heat on in the place until Friday night with other customers started showing up. I guess they figured it was too much overhead to keep the place heated. Of course all the rooms have the individual heaters, but the heater in our room was annoying. It would stay on and when it did go off it would come back on in ten seconds. I believe this was due to no heat anywhere else in the building. There was only like two other rooms rented out Wed. and Thurs. Overall this was an okay stay, but if I did it again, I think I would stay in Boone.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank NCTRAVELER_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
6.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
6.0 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.0 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Blowing Rock

Property: Days Inn Blowing Rock
Address: Highway 321 Bypass, Hwy 321 & Blue Ridge Pkwy, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Days Inn Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Days Inn Blowing Rock Nc
Blowing Rock Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing