We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic getaway in the busy town of Boone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Rustic getaway in the busy town of Boone”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The La Quinta Inn & Suites in Boone is a nice place to stay. My parents and I stayed in a suite with two double beds separated by a door that goes into a living area with a sofa bed. When you first enter the room, you enter the living area with a standard TV, desk, sofa, chest of drawers, and end tables. There's also a cabinet with a mini fridge and microwave in it near the bathroom. The bathroom sits between the living area and the bedroom area. There's also a fairly large closet with hangers, iron, and ironing board inside. The bedroom had a nice sized TV, but both TV's were standard 4:3.

Let me say that if you don't like seeing dogs at a hotel, this is not the place for you. Many people staying there had dogs of all sizes, including us. My parents brought their 5-pound chihuahua. I never once heard dogs barking or making noise, though, as they all seemed well behaved.

One problem with the room was that there were numerous spots on the carpet, presumably caused by pets. I would not walk on the carpet without wearing socks or shoes, as it was in great need of shampooing! Despite the appearance of the carpet, there was no odor in the room whatsoever.

The other problems with the room were primarily found in the bathroom. The clean bathroom had nice updated decor that included high-end counter tops. But the tub was not correctly installed, and every time you move a foot or simply shift your body weight while taking a shower it makes a loud creaking sound that's annoying to others in the room. Also the water pressure in both the shower and sink was very low. It took forever to get soap washed off, and the shower drain was too slow. The sink had virtually no hot water, and only trickled out, so it was not good for washing off your toothbrush. The sink was located inside the bathroom, so it could not be used if someone else was taking a shower, for example.

The sofa bed, while at first seemed comfortable without any lumps, turned out to be too hard, and would cause me to wake up earlier than usual. There were also no pillows on the sofa, so it wasn't the most comfortable to sit on, and you had to look at the TV from an angle.

A good feature of the room was that instead of a typical window unit type heat/air, it had a central heat/air unit controlled by a thermostat on the wall.

There was not much noise from the hallway, thanks to a tight seal when the door was closed. Weatherstripping blocked out noise and light at night, though you could still hear occasional footsteps.

We stayed on the second floor, which was easily accessible by elevator or steps. Carpeted steps lead guests from the lobby up to the second floor around the fireplace. I thought this was a nice asset for quick entry to the second floor if you didn't want to wait on the elevator.

The hotel features an indoor pool, large wrap-around porch with rocking chairs and tables, free wifi internet access, a computer in the lobby, and an exercise room.

I visited the indoor pool once, and found the water to be way too chilly, but it didn't keep the kids away as they seemed to have fun just the same. I would estimate the water temperature was somewhere around 75 to 78 at the most. The pool was no deeper than 4 feet. The pool area also contained restrooms and a hot tub. The hotel offers towels at the front desk for pool use, but I didn't realize this until I had already jumped in and figured I'd use my own beach towel I had packed.

The exercise room only contained cardio equipment, such as an elliptical, stationary bike, etc. It also had a flat screen TV, but did not have any weights or resistance machines. However, if you are a member of Anytime Fitness, a new location has just opened in a condo complex right across the street. I walked over there to work out one morning and had the whole place to myself. Just be careful crossing the street, as it's pretty busy.

Morning breakfast was provided by the hotel, and it contained a variety of food choices, including instant grits and oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, toast, bagels, cereal, sausage biscuits (needed heating in the microwave), and a variety of beverages. A waffle maker was also in the breakfast area. You simply pour in the batter, close the lid, flip it over, and wait 2.5 minutes for the waffle to be ready. The hotel offered no hot items, such as eggs or fresh grits, however. While eating breakfast, you had the option of sitting at a table in the breakfast area, or taking your food outside onto the expansive porch. That was a nice option, but the road construction in the rear of the hotel offers a less than desirable view!

The staff was mostly courteous and accommodating. One day during our 3-night stay, our maid never showed up to clean our room, even after we saw her and spoke to her on the way out of the room. She knew we were leaving, but it was near 12 noon, as we got a late start that morning. When we arrived back in the room that evening, she had not cleaned our room. We notified the front desk staff, and they provided towels and toiletries, but told us the maids get off at 12, and that's why the room wasn't cleaned.

Otherwise the staff seemed friendly, and one of the front desk clerks even gave me a free stamp to mail a postcard home.

Overall, the hotel's decor is designed to reflect its location in the North Carolina High Country. It has a very rustic feel, but with modern luxuries, and overall is a clean, no hassle place to stay. I would stay here again and recommend to friends as long as they don't mind pets staying there.

One final note...the hotel is hard to find if you are relying on a GPS or online map service. If you are entering the Boone area from the south along U.S. 321, turn right onto N.C. 105 where you'll see an Appalachian State University dorm facility that looks like a former large hotel. The La Quinta will be a little ways up the road on the right. The hotel shares a parking lot and driveway with the Sleep Inn next door.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGS_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is through feedback such as yours that we were able to improve our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your first stay. However, we would like to inform you that we have made many renovations as well as being under new management. We would love for you to let us show you during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    204
    75
    33
    19
See reviews for
332
205
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Fairly new hotel with a log cabin decor.
Room was very clean and the beds and linens were great. Good shower with nice water pressure and hot water.
Use the map on the website since Google etc have the location wrong.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank russwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and would like to inform you that we have made many renovations since, as well as being under new management. We hope to exceed your expectations again during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The hotel itself was very nice, blending in well with the mountain community. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite with fireplace. The red heart jacuzzi was a little cheezy but that didn't detract from the great size, strong jets and plenty of hot water. However, it was the day after New Years and snowing and very windy and cold outside. It was also beautiful and enjoyable to look out on. When the fire alarm went off at 6am it was absolutely MISERABLE to go and stand in. It took about 18 minutes for the fire department to come and announce the all clear, just a glitch, no fire. These things happen. Once we were out of bed and dressed at 6 am and out freezing we were not feeling like going back to bed. We wanted to get our belongings and get out of there. I asked for a partial refund. The clerk didn't have the authority to reduce the charge. I understand that too. I got an email from the gen mgr inquiring about my stay, I responded with my complaint and request for a partial refund. Never so much as a response from him after that. WAY BELOW LA QUINTA'S USUAL LEVEL OF CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is through feedback such as yours that we were able to improve our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your first stay. However, we would like to inform you that we have made many renovations as well as being under new management. We would love for you to let us show you during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We were told @ 11;00 that a suite for 5 people would be ready for us at 3:00. At 3:50, I was informed that someone who was already staying at the hotel, decided to stay another night, so now they didn't have that type of room availabe. We settled with a room with 2 queens and a roll away bed which I had to ask for twice. The shower sprayed the ceiling due to a bad shower head, the bathroom sink wouldn't drain, the TV remote needed new batteries, there was no towels by the pool and hot tub area, and the waffle machine was broken - there went the hot breakfast. This is a yearly trip to get our Christmas tree and I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBANc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is through feedback such as yours that we were able to improve our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your first stay. However, we would like to inform you that we have made many renovations as well as being under new management. We would love for you to let us show you during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Our one-night stay here after an ASU football game was not to our expectations. We thought we would try this hotel since it is new. Didn't realize it was a "dog" hotel until after checking in. Although there was no barking noise, it just made us feel like this new place was already dirty! Beds were really firm - way too much for us. Also, walls really thin - could hear our neighbor snoring all night!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickypicky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is through feedback such as yours that we were able to improve our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your first stay. However, we would like to inform you that we have made many renovations as well as being under new management. We would love for you to let us show you during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitty hawk, nc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Really nice hotel, I am always leary when booking a hotel that allows pets unless it is a true name brand 3 stars etc. But Laquinta came thru, this is a beautiful hotel, nice rooms, they allow pets, tempur-pedic beds. Really nice. My only complaint or suggestion and this would apply to all hotels that allow pets, have an area to take pets. This hotel is surround by parking lot, like most hotels. so finding some grass was a challenge. Already planning a trip back to this hotel. Breakfast was nice, belgium waffles, eggs, etc. Staff was good, when we needed something, it was tended to.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclark63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and would like to inform you that we have made many renovations since, as well as being under new management. We hope to exceed your expectations again during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed here one night while driving the Blue Ridge Parkway. Excellent hotel in all regards. Very nice accomodations. Front desk staff went out of there way to be accomodating. Fresh baked cookies and popcorn nice treat at checkin. Free breakfast was above average. Only downside was a little hard to see the sign because of road construction so "headsup". Nice area to walk dogs with bags and disposal available.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and would like to inform you that we have made many renovations since, as well as being under new management. We hope to exceed your expectations again during your next visit to Boone!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone

Property: LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Address: 165 Highway 105 Ext, Near US 421 Junction, Boone, NC 28607-4207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boone
#5 Family Hotel in Boone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
La Quinta Inn And Suites Boone
La Quinta Boone
La Quinta Hotel Boone
Boone La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing