We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy and Relaxed!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honey Bear Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honey Bear Campground
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy and Relaxed!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have visited Honey Bear Campground a few times now and we LOVE it every time!! The atmosphere is very relaxing and the scenery is beautiful! TONS of activites all weekend for campers to participate in. Prices are reasonable and everyone is sooo friendly!! Can't wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible for larger units. There are multiple site to accommodate but they go fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drakenme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
46
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just stayed at this campground for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. Our site was great. We has plenty of room and we were on the creek and close to the bathhouse. I loved the fact that we were so close to downtown Boone. The only complaint I had was the cleanliness of the bathrooms could be better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonSalem_NCLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Very accomodating. Trail guide on site to advise on directions to hiking & activities. Cool little trail on their property. Good.. cable & wifi. They do want to sell their own firewood but there's tons already cut on the hiking trail. Bring an axe. We actually brought our own wood & noone said anything... Sites are fairly level & pretty easy to navigate even with a long rig.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank buffbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at this campground for a couple of nights in early/mid March. Accessible to local attractions. The sites are a decent size and are kept clean, the dog park was a huge bonus. The staff was very helpful, and even brought firewood to the campsite for us. While the campground was not completely open at the time we were there, it was still a great trip. During our walks around the grounds with the dogs, we found other sites of interest for both the camper as well as tent camping. Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently stayed at Honey Bear for three nights. There are very limited accommodations during the winter. We booked online and picked our campsite only to be moved when we arrived. The section that we had chosen was closed. The bath house was also closed for the winter which was inconvenient. The sites by the creek looked nice but overall the campground is not very scenic. I'm sure a summer/fall stay would have been better but I would not recommend this campground for a winter visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great stay at this weekend! Everyone was so nice and friendly. Our stay even included a ride to the parts store when our car died and we needed a new battery. We'll definitely be back and hopefully for longer next time. Very family friendly, onsite coffee shop, clean bathhouse, gameroom, volleyball, cornhole. Fall festival, pumpkin patch, haunted trail. great fun for everyone!

Room Tip: "the field" otherwise known as overflow was nice and grassy. Nice area, would be great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellbert612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We spent two nights in Honey Bear. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The campground is at about 3500 ft elevation, so is nice and cool. Our campsite was completely surrounded by a rhododendron thicket and was really pretty. Our camper is only 18ft, so we had plenty of room, and it was very easy to back in. There were lots of children (Friday night) but there are so many thick bushes, is still was reasonably private. There's only one bath house and is was a bit of a trek. It's kept very clean, but is pretty basic, and I'd guess will be updated soon. It's easy to miss the turnoff of Rt 105 so watch for it, and the mile and a half is indeed twisty 'till you get to the campground road. There were enough big rigs there that I know it's not really a problem, but you do have to take your time. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Portfoliofotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#3 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Bear Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Bear Campground

Property: Honey Bear Campground
Address: 229 Honey Bear Campground Rd, Boone, NC 28607-8390
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 84

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing