We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Golf”
Review of Boone Golf Club

Boone Golf Club
Ranked #9 of 25 Outdoor Activities in Boone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by architect Ellis Maples, this 18-hole golf course features level to gently rolling fairways, large undulating bentgrass greens, lush greenery and magnificent views of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Golf”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is my home course and I play here every chance I get. Staff is exceptional and the course is just as good. Very well kept. Greens are super fast (in the summer). Very challenging from the Blue tees.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oflieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain City, TN
2 reviews
“Nice Course”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Nice course and friendly golf attendants. I would definitely go back for another round. The only downfall was the cold weather. Maybe I can make it back over the summer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but very unfair course”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Visiting friends in Boone. My friend is a member. Great scenery and super good conditions .... but. - the greens are completely ridiculous ! I am a 10 hcp so I know golf and I know conditions. Greens are like an upside-down salad bowl---- impossible to not only hold the green, but to make a putt with the crazy speed. Even the PGA would complain. Never again....despite the wonderful conditions and scenery. No way ! And, it took 3 hrs to play the first 9 holes on 9/24 in the afternoon ! Cost ? -- excessive ! Fuggetaboudit !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BOBOIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Course, Great Location”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Smack dab in the heart of Boone, this is a beautiful public course. But it does cost a pretty penny to play. The fairways are wide with a few sneaky creeks to watch out for. The greens are undulating and fast! Only complaint is that they didn't hesitate to put a couple of glacially-slow walkers in front of the four of us in carts. Really slowed things down for us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jnjreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mountain golfing”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A very good public course. The front nine lulls with mostly flat terrain, some raised tee boxes and greens. The back nine has great views, carries over scrub and hills to climb up or down to challenging greens, all providing a fun day of golf.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EIfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boone Golf Club also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Boone Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing