We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will stay again!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I am always pleased! Check-in is quick and the staff is always smiling. Rooms are nice size, not overly extravagant but just what I want in a hotel room, quiet, comfortable, and very clean! Breakfast is basic but good choices. We prefer a hot breakfast so it is nice to be able to make a waffle as well as the Jimmy Dean biscuits that can be easily heated. Across the street is a shopping area with a good Mexican restaurant, movie theater, and a grocery store. The rate is usually better than other hotels in the area. Overall I highly recommend the Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Moonbeambabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us such an awesome review here on review. We love to hear about our guests stays as this ensures that we are doing everything we can to make sure each and every guest we have has a pleasant experience. Again thank you and we can't wait to see you soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    169
    50
    26
    17
See reviews for
174
157
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

On our recent trip to drive the Blue Ridge Parkway and visit the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, we stayed for one night at this Best Western Inn in the beautiful small town of Boone. The front desk clerk was very warm and make us feel welcome. We got a room that has a nice green hill view. The room is spacious and very clean, and the bed is very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is ample and delicious. We are very happy with this hotel and will definitely stay here if we come back to visit the area again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank WXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. We love to hear from our guests and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claryville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The room was wonderful. Comfy king size bed, a fireplace, a couch and table, lots of room. Clean pool. Reception area was very nice and cozy. Breakfast was very good. The entire hotel was very clean. The staff were personable and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank keifers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us! We are all so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and we met your expectations on everything. We love to hear from our guests and we rely on your feedback to let us know how you are doing. So when we hear that everything was great, we know we are doing something right! Again thank you and we hope to see you again really soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My Husband and I stayed here on an anniversary trip to The High Country overall we found it to be an excellent home base for exploring the area.

PROS:
* The staff was pleasant during the entire stay.
* We found the room very clean, with a large flat screen television and an extremely comfortable bed.
* We were provided a very good mini fridge and a functional microwave. We feel like these are important and beneficial extras that we appreciate.
* The location was central to many attractions, while being set back from and above the main thoroughfare. This made for two very quiet and peaceful nights sleep.
* We feel like this was an excellent value for the cost.

CONS:
* The toilet made an unusual and jarring noise whenever flushed. It was loud and annoying but not cause enough for us to complain.
* Temperature control for the hot water in the sink and shower was sporadic, sometimes producing 30 seconds of extremely hot water and other times producing bursts of lukewarm water.
* While we don't expect a restaurant quality breakfast to be provided at a hotel, we found some of the items were sub-par even for a continental breakfast. We found the batter for the waffles separated and runny, the pancakes had an extremely raw taste, and the muffins were dense and flavorless.

We found the cons to be minor annoyances at worst, and they barely distracted from the beauty in the area and we will certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us what you loved about our hotel as well as the few problems that you experienced while you were here. I have informed my maintenance team about the toilet and the temperature of the water in the sink and both of these problems will be taken care of immediately. As for our breakfast, we are continuing to work on a new menu that our guests will love. We rely on our guests feedback in order to figure out what these items so that we can make sure that each and every guest is happy with every aspect of their stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife, grandson and I recently stayed at this hotel. The rooms are nice, clean and very roomy. The hotel is well located near Appalachian State and is very attractive from the outside. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with waffles and pancakes in a clean and well appointed area with a TV. This is a great place to lay your head for a night or two in Boone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We are so pleased to hear that we met your expectations as we work really hard to make sure each and every guest enjoy their time here. Again thank you, and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for the night on the way through the Blue Ridge Parkway. Jessica at reception was very helpful and she also assisted us booking another Best Western hotel for the following night. The rooms are very tidy and clean and the bed and pillows gave me the best sleep I've had so far on our trip. The kids loved the heated pool. The breakfast was ok but have definitely had better. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel about your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that we met your expectations on everything. We are currently working on the breakfast bar menu and are trying to get more of a selection to give our guests a variety to choose from. We are trying new items out each week to see which are the most popular items and seem to make our guests happier with the selection. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

For the money this is about as good as it gets. Hotel is a little rough in spots. Our room has three tiny pillows the size of a bag of popcorn, the iron is missing but at least the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is huge. The windows don't seal worth a crap. Plenty of parking and access is a breeze with a traffic light off the main road. Worth a lot more than we paid. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Face away from the main room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chosen 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give our hotel a review here on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your kind words and I have addressed the issues on the pillows and the windows with my staff and we are taking measures to get these problems taken care of. We are so glad that you still enjoyed your stay even with these few problems. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
399 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University

Property: Quality Inn & Suites University
Address: 840 E King St, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#3 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#6 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza Hotel Boone
Best Western Hotel Boone
Best Western Boone
Boone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing