We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perched on a man-made cliff high above a 6-lane road, this place is hard to spot without GPS ... but the staff was helpful, and the room was great ... and it had a jacuzzi! Loved it! The included serve-yourself breakfast was quite satisfying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving a review here on Tripadvisor for our hotel. We are all so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our complimentary breakfast. I am sorry that you had a hard time finding our hotel as the entrance is to the far side of the builiding, but glad that you were able to enjoy the jacuzzi in your room. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites University
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel goes from $80's during the week to $157 for weekends. Ripoff especially for a hotel that had serious safety problems . They should review their policies one moving their prices to such extremes for weekends when it is not special weekends or local events going on. Many people I met during breakfast felt the same way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor about your recent stay here with us. We value your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you felt your stay was not worth the money you paid. Our weekend rates do go up from the normal weekday rates. Again thank you and if you would like to discuss your stay with me please feel free to contact me at 828/266-1100.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this particular Best Western on numerous occasions and have never had the smallest problem that was not immediately fixed or addressed. This staff is incredible and strive to give you the very best visit possible. Love the fact that the hotel is situated off the main drag, thus affording a bit more solitude. It is across the street from a well recommended Mexican restaurant and the Chinese restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Louisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on our hotel. We are always so happy to have you stay with us and can always expect you to have a smile on your face anytime we see you. We are all thrilled that you always choose our hotel when you are in the Boone area and hope that you will always continue to do so. Thank you so much again and we can't wait until your next visit!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice and convienent hotel for stop over after driving the Blue Ridge Parkway from Asheville to Boone, NC. Clean, quiet, and efficient room with refrig and microwave. The shower had good water pressure and felt so good! Nice to have breakfast before hitting the road again the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Vonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are all thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. The parkway is a beautiful sight this time of year and we have many guests who stay with us because we are so close. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The rooms are very nice. The pool is nice, average. Continental breakfast good, make your own pancakes. Just hectic when everyone goes same time. Lobby cozy. Parking lot up hill and through another parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bratz204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give our hotel a review here on Tripadvisor. We value our guests feedback and always love to hear that we exceeded their expectations. I am so happy to hear that you liked our pancake machine. We have had excellent feedback on adding this along with our waffle machines. This way each one of our guests have a choice on which they would like. I am also happy to hear that you were happy with your room while you were here. We all work really hard to make sure each room is perfectly clean and ready for each guest when they arrive. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit to the Boone area.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, Good breakfast, quality rooms, Good caring reception, Good view, Nice decor in the room Cons: Found one boiled egg in the room My friend complained of faint cigarette smoke in the room, even though its non smoking

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Manoj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on our hotel. I would like to apologize about the egg and the cigarette smoke smell in your room. Although we are a 100% nonsmoking hotel, we do have the occasional guest that does smoke in the room. We always try to get the smell out and I am sorry that your room was not completely up to your expectations. However, I am happy to hear that your liked your room and our breakfast bar. Again thank you for bringing these items to my attention and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After traveling in the car for 4 hours with 2 little boys who were very hungry by the time we arrived the front desk clerk was oblivious to our presence while checking in other guests. Prior to these guests arrival she said she would provide us with a website of places to eat. After waiting 15-20 min we decided to go drive around and explore the area. I feel there was no reason the clerk couldn't have slipped the website to us during the process of checking in these other guests who were all grown men with no children. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. I must say it was the worst of any other place we've stayed. Had a hard time figuring out which hotel it was which because there was no sign on the front or back of the building.... only at the end as you drive past. The plus side is....the room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor for our hotel. I apologize that you had to wait for our front desk to give you a list of local restaurants in the area and I will make sure to speak with them about this. I completely understand how it is when you have tired and hungry children. Also, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations on our breakfast. We have been working hard to create a menu that better pleases our guests, but as we are very limited in what we are able to serve on a continental breakfast our choices are very limited also. We will continue to work on this menu until we exceed every one of our guests expectations. As for the road signage, I do apologize for this, but per the Town of Boones regulations we are not able to add any more signage. Again thank you for letting us know about your recent stay here with us and we hope you will give us another chance when you are back in the Boone area.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
405 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University

Address: 840 E King St, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#3 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#6 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: £45 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza Hotel Boone
Best Western Hotel Boone
Best Western Boone
Boone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing