We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for family with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights here while visiting Tweetsie Railroad with 7 adults and 2 preschoolers in 3 rooms. We selected this hotel because of fair pricing and location. The place was clean and inviting. We used the breakfast area each night for supper and relaxing. We bought carry out across the highway at Lowes foods one night and ordered Papa John's pizza the next night. The rooms had refrigerators and microwaves to save and heat up leftovers. There was an indoor pool. The water was chilly to me but the kids swam both evenings and loved every second. The breakfast was fun! Make your own waffles and my 5 year old granddaughter LOVED making everyone pancakes! Apples and oranges were available 24 hours a day. Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza was definitely our "home away from home" for our family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pirategirlecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are all so happy to hear that you had such an amazing vacation visiting Tweetsie. We are also thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your time here with us. Our pancake machine is definately a big hit with the kids. They all enjoy pressing the button and watching it go through the machine. So I am so happy that your granddaughter was able to enjoy this also. Again thank you and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here with my daughter while visiting ASU. The staff was pleasant, the room was clean and nice. I will stay here again for sure. It was close to Boone and also convenient to ASU. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on our hotel. We value each of our guests feedback and we are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We are one of the closest hotels to the campus of ASU and we look forward to seeing you each time that you visit your daughter.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a terrific place! The location is very close to Boone city center, and it is right across from a little plaza with a Lowe's supermarket and several restaurants, including Mexican and a coffee shop. It is on a major thoughfare that is convenient to the many outdoor activities and Blowing Rock. The rooms are very quiet, hotel is clean and everything seems new. friendly, helpful people, if anything is wrong they'll send someone to make it right immediately. There are beautiful mountain views. I'll stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: the upper level rooms on the third floor, facing the front have awesome mountain views:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. We value your feedback and we are all so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. Our rooms on the front side of the hotel do have some amazing views of the mountains and most of our guests love that. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location... close to Horn in the West, Tweetsie Railroad and Appalachian State University.
Indoor pool and rooms for clean and comfortable. The hallways were a bit warm but room temperature was a self contained unit and was great.
I would give the breakfast a 2 star...
It was supposed to have in room wifi but they were having trouble with that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on our hotel. We love to hear from each and every one of our guests, so that we can learn where we can improve. I do apologize for the problems you encountered with our wifi and I can assure you that we have addressed this and have it corrected now. Also we are still currently working on our breakfast menu so that it has something for each of our guests, so we love to have recommendations. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon when you are visiting the Boone area.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Across the street from the "mall" of Boone. Close to the old downtown as well as the main street going to Blowing Rock and past ASU. The breakfast has waffles, pancakes, biscuit sandwiches, cereal, fruit, juice, milk and coffee. Room was very clean. HDTV, small fridge, coffee pot.

Room Tip: There are no "scenic" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jrobigolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel and we are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We value your feedback and always love to hear from each of our guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as we are always trying new items to make sure our guests are satisfied. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

One of the better Best Westerns I have stayed in. Exceptionally clean. Only complaint was the breakfast selection or lack of. I was traveling to West Jefferson for a family wedding. Had I known there was a Best Western in that town, I probably would have stayed there. But, I was very pleased. Front desk was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy your time here with us. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations on our breakfast and I can assure you that we are continuously working on the menu so that we can always make sure our guests are satisfied. We always love to have our guests recommend items that they would like to have. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit to the High Country.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was attending a conference at ASU in Boone. The hotel is a short distance from the ASU campus, and not much further to the business district (assorted restaurants, grocery stores & WalMart). The room was large with good HDTV, small fridge, and good air, and comfortable bed.

Sort of tucked behind another motel and the entrance is not overtly obvious, and the hotel is on a hill above the main thoroughfare. It has a breakfast, but I did not look to see how good it was. I went online and found a local breakfast restaurant to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_G_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor for our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is always our goal to make sure that each and every one of our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their stay while visiting us. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#10 of 18 in Boone
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University

Address: 840 E King St, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#3 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#6 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: £47 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza Hotel Boone
Best Western Hotel Boone
Best Western Boone
Boone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing