We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're staying in a kabin here, you'd better bring a fan!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boone KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you're staying in a kabin here, you'd better bring a fan!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My review is only on the kabins and bathroom/shower facilities. You must first understand that I don't stay @ KOA for the activities, the pool, or the "camping" experience. I stay in KOA kabins, when I travel, because it's an economical alternative to over-priced hotels. I've been renting KOA kabins for many years, and have never been disappointed in any KOA, until my recent stay here. The Boone KOA kabins do not have air conditioning nor do they have ceiling fans. This is not mentioned in their kabin description. The kabin was miserably hot and never seemed to cool down, even at night. It made sleeping difficult. I had to go to the local WalMart and buy a fan. I noticed that I wasn't the only one. With the hot summer we've had, I would have never stayed here had I known. There were only 3 shower stalls available; totally inadequate for this large campground. The distance from my kabin to the shower facility equalled the length of a normal city block. The only other item that I've never experienced at another KOA, was that I was responsible for taking my own trash to the dumpster. At every other KOA I've stayed at, it's picked up for you, if you set it in front of your kabin in the morning. My overall impression of this KOA, is that the owner(s) are more interested in profits than adding amenities that will increase guest comfort; i.e., cooler kabins, more shower facilities.

Room Tip: I would only stay here in the spring or the fall. I will never stay here during the summer again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trippermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was pleased with this campground overall. Only complaint, not a real good WiFi signal. Other than that, very nice campground.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Summitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife, two sons ages 18 and 15, and I stayed here July 3-5, 2012, in a Kamper Kabin. The Kabin was clean, although they were close together, which is common in commercial campgrounds. Dogs are allowed, and there were many. Being dog people ourselves, we didn't mind.

On Independence Day, the campground hosted a hot dog supper, which was great. The staff was very friendly, and we hope to go back again.

Tip: Don't leave your garbage out. I went to the bathhouse in the middle of the first night, and returned to find a skunk nosing around in the garbage bag we left on the porch. I kept my distance until the critter left, then disposed of the bag.

I can't really think of any drawbacks, except for the skunk, but that was our fault for leaving the garbage outside. The facilities are a little dated, but we didn't spend a lot of time at the campground.

The Kabins are close to the main road, but it is a dead end road and very quiet.

Room Tip: The Kabins at the lower end are more shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possum_Slayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Well, resort might be a little bit of a stretch, but I have tent camped there for four or five consecutive years with my young son. The first year I was devastated that he wasn't THAT interested in the tourist activities I had planned out in the area (fishing, mining, hiking, horsewusia back riding and loads more), all he wanted to do was hang out at the KOA. Hmm, I thought, mini golf for a dollar a day for as many games as you can stand, clean pool, playground, goats, chickens, and did I mention the pool. Don't think that the mini golf is fancy, it is old and well used, but it is perfectly functional and fun producing for a kid. Oh, and when it rains, there is table tennis and loads of board games and some books to entertain you. One of the other posts complained about the location of the tent sites but I have found them fine at bed time all but one time when there was a noise group in the next site to ours. Moved into a cabin the next night. Love this place, for me and my family it is a super relaxing camp ground... I have learned to love my sons enthusiasm for our luxury vacations. I also agree with him now, I feel relaxed and refreshed at the end of our trips there

Room Tip: Tent sites with shelter are desirable in summer with showers... Sites are plenty big enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raezveyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We totally enjoyed our stay here, Lynne, Garry, Joann and all the staff (and the seasonal residents} are very friendly, helpful and just fun to visit with. We have a small camper on our truck, we stayed for stayed for a week, took several day trips and always looked forward to coming back to our site. The weather was great and so was the weekend entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOBnSUE2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I looked for several campgrounds that were close Grandfather Mountain and other tourist attractions in the Boone, NC area. After reading several reviews about this KOA I decided to book and I found them to be accurate once we arrived. We booked the two bedroom Kamping Kabin which had a one full size bed in the front room and two bunkbeds in the back room. The campground was well maintained with friendly staff. I thought this KOA is especially great for families with children because children are able to feed goats/donkeys, swim in the pool, play games in the gameroom, or watch TV. I would stay here again!

PS We enjoyed listening to the bluegrass music at the camp site.

Room Tip: If you book the one room Kamping Kabin, ask for one with a swing and away from the street light loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank educator26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at this campground the very first day of our very first RV experience. At arrival we had no idea what to expect an no idea how to hook up our rental RV.
No problem! There was Gary, our friendly helper. He showed us how to hook up, gave some advise and tought my daughter how to make the best SMOORS at the fire place that night.
Boone is a nice place to stay. Relaxing, healty stores and lots to do like tubing, hiking, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joracuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
2.9 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
380 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone KOA Campground

Property: Boone KOA Campground
Address: Ray Brown Rd. (Hwy 194), Boone, NC
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Boone Koa Campground Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing