We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family campgroumd”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flintlock Family Campground
Grantville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice family campgroumd”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 days. Great owners Sooo helpful. They kept everything neat and clean. Stream running through camping area was a fun place for kids.
Lots of children fory grand daughter to play with .
I stayed in tent area. And was very happy with the overall experience

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
36
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I took a road trip at the end of June to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary (June 23, 1973). The hospitality extended from the initial phone reservation to our arrival was outstanding, reminiscent of visiting old friends. The site we had reserved (after reading other reviews on this website) was great but an even more picturesque setting, Site #23, beckoned. Two crystal clear flowing creeks adjoined at that campsite providing the perfect setting. Because the staff is so friendly, other campers share that same neighborliness. The bathrooms/showers were very clean, a laundry available, and charm in abundance. If we are ever anywhere near the Boone area we will definitely look forward to a return stay with our new friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Wonderful campground nestled right along the river side. We camped in site 26 which was directly across from the bath house....plus! Convenient locations, nice play area, bluegrass music at the pavilion on Saturday was wonderful. Will definitely stay again if I am in the area. Bathhouse was older but hey, you're camping!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamaicanBound07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We needed a campground near Grandfather Mountain, and Flintlock was the most highly rated on tripadvisor. However, it wasn't as good of an experience as we had hoped it would be. Our family loves camping, but we almost always stay in state parks or national forests. We are accustomed to space, seclusion, and quiet. Flintlock, by design, is more commercial and communal. This point was exacerbated during our stay by the fact that a large church group was on their annual excursion. They held an evening and morning session under the center shelter, and the children rode bikes around the campground together well into the night (11:00). At a different time, we may have appreciated this sense of community, but we were exhausted and really needed the sleep. The tent site sizes are average, but there is no divider between the sites other than a spray-painted line. We had to re-position our tent several times to escape the campfire smoke from both sides. We also had children wandering into our site throughout the evening, asking about what we were cooking, looking in the tent, etc. When we were trying to sleep, I clearly heard the conversations of the parties on both sides of us, as well as some from louder guests a few sites away. I turned to my husband and joked, "I feel like I'm camping in the middle of a Wal-Mart!" My other complaints are minor: the bathhouse has indeed seen better days. And due to some summer showers, the campground was muddy and the playground was inaccessible due to large puddles. On the flip side, my children loved the opportunity to buy ice cream from the office. And the river flowing through the campground was lovely. It provided a nice, white noise at night, after everyone had quieted. Though our experience was not exactly pleasant, I cannot rate the campground lower than a "3" because there was no false advertising involved. We should have been more aware of our needs and wants before making the choice. Plus, the office staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank roadtripfamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Campgrounds in general are a crap shoot. They look decent online and you get there and it's either a dump (including brand names) or people are drunk and loud all night. We stayed two nights and would go back. Most of the campers there (both RV and tent) have been coming for many years. It's off the main road which is convenient, but also some traffic noise. The bathhouse is from the 70's and the sites are fairly close together. The flip side is this. The creek that runs through the campground is loud and drowns out most traffic noise and the bathhouse makes up for old with clean. There's FREE wi-fi. No charge for fire pits (KOA charges), cabin rentals onsite, the staff is more than friendly and helpful.....the list of pros go on and on. If you're going to be in the Boone area this is the place to stay. 10 minutes from Tweetsie,Blowing Rock and 5 Minutes to Boone Downtown, and 15 Minutes to Grandfather Mountain. Can you say, "perfect?"

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhills, NC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Grounds were in great shape and obviously well maintained. We tent camped on Memorial weekend and had a great time. Of all the campgrounds that we have visited across NC, Flintlock is now No. 1. The only reason that I couldn't rate it a 5 is solely due to the bathhouse. While it was stocked and kept clean, it is also very old and the water smells when showering. I hope that the owners are seriously considering demolition and replacement of the bathhouse in the near future. If you are tent camping or staying in one of the cabins, your going to have a considerable walk to get to the bathhouse. A small bathroom in the tent/cabin area would have prevented all the folks from going to pee in the woods behind our site.
The owners and staff were very helpful and checked on you to make sure you didn't need anything. Kids will love the river and rock climbing that it provides.
Perfect setting with the river & mountains and only a short drive to Boone.

See you there!!

Room Tip: Tent site 26 is the gem. Close to the bathhouse & on the river. Tent sites 3,4,5,6,7,8 are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cove City
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our family has stayed at Flintlock Campground on three different ocassions and on each stay we loved it. Cookouts, bluegrass music, white water rafting....equal a great time with a great place to stay. I'll be back...The Wade's

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kdub2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
5.8 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
3.5 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boone
5.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flintlock Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flintlock Family Campground

Property: Flintlock Family Campground
Address: 171 Flintlock Campground Dr, Boone, NC 28607-7875
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flintlock Family Campground is located in the majestic Blue Ridge mountains, made famous by America's best loved pioneer, Daniel Boone. Flintlock sits in a natural mountain "hollar" with a picturesque mountain stream. Only nine miles north of the Blue Ridge Parkway (exit U.S. 221 N) and three miles southeast of Boone, Flintlock is near many natural scenic areas, historic sites and northwestern North Carolina attractions including Grandfather Mountain, Tweetsie Railroad, Horn in the West Outdoor Drama, Linville Caverns, Linville Falls and Wilderness Area, Mystery Hill, Moses Cone Estate, Linn Cove Viaduct, Daniel Boone Native Gardens and Mast General Store. Area activities include mountain hiking and biking, river canoeing, rafting and tubing, horseback riding and golfing. Come stay at Flintlock and enjoy a peaceful mountain vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flintlock Family Campground Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing