We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful vacation resort for body,mind & soul”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Art of Living Retreat Center
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful vacation resort for body,mind & soul”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It was few weeks before finals in college. Many of us were longing for a rejuvenating vacation after stressful school semester. We attended Yoga & Meditation Retreat offered at Art of Living Retreat Center! It turned out to be the much needed vacation for body, mind and soul.

Waking up to the melodious birds chirping, soaking in morning sunshine, breathing in fresh mountain air, performing guided yoga series, hiking/biking on beautiful trails of Blue Ridge Mountains. The local retreat staff/volunteers are awesome loving caring individuals who go above and beyond to make you feel at home! And the highlight of our stay was the high prana food served 3 times a day. I am a traveler and have tried food at various food joints, high end restaurants, but nothing comes even close to the food served here. We met many local people who had dropped in just to enjoy a walk and meal at the retreat center.

A highly recommended place for anyone and everyone who wants to repose and recharge in a natural, peaceful set up. A perfect place to roll inwards; experience oneness, love and harmony!

Helpful?
7 Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
9
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Art of Living Retreat Center is the 'Heaven on Earth'. This place is very peaceful and with lots of joy. Whenever I visit this place, I forget myself. I mean my thought process stop and I feel very calm and peaceful. In this serene setting the Yoga and mediation courses happen here. One can experience the deep meditations here transforming yourself with more energy and refreshed. Here the people can learn how to live in the present moment with more compassion, love, joy and peace. Everyone has to plan to visit this place if not already done and has to give yourself an opportunity to be peaceful and joy.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is amazingly peaceful and calm. If you want to experience silence, this is the place to go. I have been there multiple times as I love the view and the experience. Down to earth volunteers and beautiful meditation hall. The Meditation program is well streamlined and ends up on time. The stay was comfortable and so was the meditation. The teachers are very helpful and experienced and took me deep into meditation. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrvarungoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here over the weekend with a Yoga group. Everything was extremely clean, from the grounds to the dining hall. I stayed at the spa, so I cannot comment on the amenties on the retreat center. The location is tucked away in the mountains, there are small signs so be careful if you are driving at night, you might miss it. The center consists of a large meditation hall that can literally hold 5,000 people (swan statues out front, you can't miss it), a smaller meditation center, 4 smaller buildings for small classes, dining hall, condos (I dont advise parking in front of them, you will get a note from a resident), onsite rooms and the Blue Heaven spa. There are plenty of hiking trails around the area to wander, but other then Yoga classes and mediation, I don't think there was much else to do. We went into Boone and blowing rock for outside entertainment, but we really enjoyed our time at the center.

The meals at the dining hall are vegetarian, mostly Indian cuisine. My only complaint would be the lack of cold water. There is a nice selection of hot tea and a keurig for coffee. I noticed that everyone kept getting multiple refills of the hot ginger tea and I didn't get it until I tried it myself! The food is assigned "buffet" style. Our class had our own line assigned to us. We only had breakfast twice both times it was oatmeal, cereal, a small selection of fruit and a couple of slices of bread. Never had lunch at the center, but there was a good selection of things for dinner. Salad, one type of soup, lots of veggies and either rice balls or banana bread. After dinner, take a cup of hot tea onto the wrap around deck. The view is so beautiful! There's literally only a couple of chairs out there, try to grab one if you can.

Downstairs from the dining hall is the reception center as well a gift shop that does not stay open, you have to ask to get someone to come open it for you. Same with the bookstore. There's a large room as well for mediation and kirtan. There was a water cooler downstairs, but only a few cups available that had people's names already on it. The water fountain appeared to be broken, I recommend bringing some water bottles with you.

Whether you are looking to attend the Art of Living for some peace & quiet, silent retreat, meditation or yoga, I highly recommend it. It's a small slice of serenity, but you will leave feeling refreshed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ferrickhead28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A very beautiful setting about 15 minutes outside of Boone, this meditation center is part of the Art of Living Meditation Institute (http://www.artofliving.org/intl-meditation-center-usa), which teaches yoga and meditation, and has as its mission "a place to rediscover human values – compassion, love, togetherness, joy, harmony – and to nurture them in our life." The center offers formal courses and workshops (check ahead for schedule) but also has daily meditations that are free and open to the public. The daily sessions are free, though donations are appreciated (but not required). My wife and I dropped in simply to learn more about the program and received an hour of individual instruction on meditation. There was no pressure to join anything, pay anything, or follow up with anything. There is also a dining hall on site ($10 lunch for visitors; excellent), as well as a spa, and long-term and short-stay housing. This is worth stopping by just for the natural beauty of the area, the uniqueness of the experience, and to learn more about peacefulness and harmony (hard to beat that!). The site was originally built by the Transcendental Meditation organization, but is no longer affiliated with TM and the meditation practices are not those of TM.

Helpful?
2 Thank JMinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Indeed, this is a place where thousands have meditated. Like the other review said, this is a huge place and not like a traditional hotel, though there are all facilities available. If you are looking for a vacation where you are comfortable, and want to just sink into yourself .. with some yoga and meditation, this is the place to be. A top spot on the top of the hills.

Room Tip: Call ahead and tell the organising folks what exactly your needs are and ask WHAT TO EXPECT from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Beautiful settling, great programs, superb cafeteria. The place is very nurturing. The vibration & strength of heavenly mountain (where the center is) goes back thousands of years. It is said that a white shiv lingum is buried deep in the mountain. The cherokee indians used to worship in this mtn. You feel a deep peace and stillness descend on you as you step into the center. Staff is super accommodating and friendly. They try and make each experience unique. A place to go to - to reset yourself and let all worries fall away, to heal and be in balance.

Helpful?
1 Thank MShome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
5.5 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
5.3 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art of Living Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art of Living Retreat Center

Property: Art of Living Retreat Center
Address: 639 Whispering Hills Rd, Boone, NC 28607-7378
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art of Living Retreat Center: A place to rejuvenate. A place to rest. A place to energize yourself for months to come amid spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The center offers inclusive packages with simple, comfortable rooms, inspiring activities and a vegetarian cafe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing