We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its okay... Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its okay... Nothing special”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The room was clean however very out of date. Very over priced, the views were beautiful & staff was friendly. The pool was very small... I didn't have any major issues but I wouldn't stay here again. Short drive to restaurants & other attraction's.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    65
    39
    39
    29
See reviews for
60
138
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
496 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in February of 2013 and loved it. We decided to return the first week of July, 2014 and enjoyed this visit also. The food is superb, and the scenery is outstanding. The crab cake and the mountain trout were fantastic on our first night's dinner. Next night the flatiron steak and salmon were also gourmet meals. Third night was more crab cakes, cured meats, and salads.

However, there are a few things that disappointed us. The floor in the dining room was not cleaned from the night before and had spots of food and crumbs throughout. This is a shame since the room is beautiful with nice white tablecloths and a beautiful setting to view the mountains. We saw the same crumbs for 3 days!

Each day, we got an email from James@Crestwood asking how the restaurant had done. When I replied, I finally got a reply from James that he no longer works there. In my opinion, this is another management issue. Makes me wonder if anybody is in charge.

We stayed in a villa that was clean and updated. However, there was no lamp on the computer desk / table area and the only chair in the room is an uncomfortable hard back chair at the computer table. I unplugged the lamp from the bedside table and moved it to the desk so I could see my keyboard. Also, the chair did not have rollers and it was almost impossible to move it on the carpet.

Also, the villas do not have ice machines. You will have to go to the front desk to get a bucket of ice (leave the villa and walk about 100 feet outside).

The WiFi connection is a bit slow and does not work all the time. The second day, we lost the connection for over 13 hours. It was then available for only an hour. Third day it only worked for about 30 minutes. Front desk personnel said they had reported it. Good thing we had a personal hotspot to use.

The closet hangers are firmly attached to the rod, and you cannot take them down to hang up your clothes, a real inconvenience.

Hot breakfast is served at 8 AM (supposedly - it was almost 8:10 AM before it was actually available on two days). Excellent sausage gravy and biscuits.

Bed was very comfortable and maids were courteous and efficient.

Spa services were outstanding! Couples massage was fantastic.


The villas do not have elevators. If you do not want to use stairs, ask for a room at ground level.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Boone and had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful mountain resort . The room was large, beautiful, and clean . Breakfast was hot and we loved the muffins . The views were amazing . This is simply a wonderful place to stay !!! Will definitely return !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bernk35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Okay, to start the room itself was very nice, good view, nice deck. The bathroom was large, but the panel from the whirlpool tub was falling off and the tile on the floor had large holes in it where you could stub your toe, if not being careful.
We wanted to get a drink in the bar, and was told the bar and the restaurant were closed due to a wedding. So, the guests of the hotel could just lump it I guess. The towels were paper thin, and speaking of paper, you might want to bring your own TP and Kleenex, as this was the lowest, thinnest grade possible.
The final kicker was trying to take the elevator down to the desk to check out, and it opened and was full of chairs!! So my husband had to carry our heavy suitcase down to the lobby. No offer to ever help came from the staff. They really didn't seem to know or care what was happening in the hotel at all.
Can't recommend this place, was a disappointment, sorry to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boone hotels

Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My boyfriend and I were guests this past week, and let me just say that we could not have asked for better accommodations! Our room had an amazing view of the mountains which was incredible at sunset! The resort itself had a very vintage mountain inn feel (complete with actual bunnies and chipmunks on the front steps) which was only enhanced by the friendly staff and the rustic decor. The bed was insanely comfortable and the room, while small, was perfect for a couple looking to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and each others company. The food at The Table at Crestwood was absolutely incredible as well. After dinner we spent some time with some of the restaurant staff and you could tell that their passion for their jobs and their food was what truly made for a fantastic dining experience (not to mention the amazing sunset view on the patio accompanied by the live entertainment). Overall, we would absolutely recommend the Crestwood to any and all of out friends. We will be back!!

Room Tip: I would say that rooms on the mountain side on the second and third floors in the inn have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I'll start by saying this is an old property, built in the 1940's as a private home. If you are aware of that and looking for a quaint old-fashioned mountain inn instead of the typical chain hotel in town then you're in luck.

We booked a Villa King Room through Groupon but before leaving found out that our son would have to travel with us. I called and asked if there was a room available with more sleeping accommodations and they were happy to help us make the change, even though the fine print in Groupon states you take the room you pay for. Upon arrival we were told the room was no longer available but they put us in another room in the main house with two queen sleigh beds, no extra charge. Service was like that the entire stay, helpful whenever possible.

The room was clean and large with a nice balcony facing the mountains and more modern than the house seemed upon arrival. Beds slept well and the bath was a nice size with a marble sink, flooring, and tub surround. The air conditioning unit worked fine, although in warner weather it might not be able to keep up as well. The bath and room were very clean but all the floors in the public areas need more attention. The restaurant was not open on a Monday night (or Tuesday either I heard later) and as there was nothing else in the area, we ate some things we had brought with us, no problem. Boone or Blowing Rock are both about 15 minutes away on a beautiful but winding mountain road.

Ultimately our first impression upon arrival was not our final impression. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again based on quality, service, price and location except maybe in the winter months due to winding roads and early nights.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a mountain view. Be sure to ask if that's what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ncmomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent one night at the Inn last weekend. As soon as we got there we had to get ready to go to a wedding in Linville. We didn't notice that there were cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom and the bedroom until our return that evening. My husband killed several spiders after we got back. There was also a problem in our bathroom of very large black ants. We must have killed over a dozen of them before we checked out. We asked the girl at the front desk to come and look at our bathroom and when she saw it she agreed that there was a problem but that we were situated in the woods as if it were an excuse. We have been coming to the mountains since 2003 and have rented houses, cabins and hotel rooms. We have never stayed anywhere with this problem. We can't speak at all about the spa facilities or the dining areas since we didn't use those services, but I can't recommend the Inn to anyone since our room was infested.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sptchbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
3.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
430 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
374 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Property: The Inn at Crestwood
Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Rd, Boone, NC 28607-6836
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing