We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service were superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Crestwood
Ranked #7 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Salisbury, NC
1 review
“Food and service were superb!”
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We had stayed for the first time at this inn for Thanksgiving and had a great experience. It is a small inn and privately owned. We came back for 3 nights and brought my parents. My stepdad is 96. We had wine and cheese by the fire and moved to the table behind us for dinner. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. My husband and I attended their "Winter Indulgence weekend." We had a cooking session with their chef and an awesome 7 course meal accompanied by wine from a local winery. The food is excellent and we have been told that the Gamekeeper down the road less than a mile is awesome as well. On our first trip we went hiking. There are many beautiful trails nearby. Because the inn is small you do need to book spa services ahead of time, and check about the hours of operation for the restaurant, because this varies according to the season and planned events. I think you will find the staff very willing to accommodate your needs, if you ask ahead. Try one of their packages and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve54SalisburyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    65
    39
    39
    29
See reviews for
60
138
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Both rustic & elegant Inn, Restaurant, & Spa. Scenic long range views of the Blue Ridge. Tucked away in seclusion we thought, but the inn was at guest capacity for ringing in 2010. Winding ice-rimmed road with no shoulder could have been no fun going or getting out had we been blanketed with snow, but there was only a dusting. We arrived after we had dinner, so I can't comment on the fare but the waft from the kitchen once in the lobby smelled divine! We did spend considerable time in the spa, just a few steps outdoors from our room, and the path there well-scraped was a plus because of the chilly 28 degrees night air we encountered walking back uphill to the inn. Brr. Lap Pool was not heated at swim temp but the sauna melted some of me away with incredible gusto! Two styles of music for eve party, we preferred the solo acoustic guitar room, and let others channel to the 2 bars, dancefloors and seating areas well-equipped with lotsa liquid, favors, & candles. Light, healthy breakfast included and needed upon departure. Shabby-chic, old brick, worn wood floors, very inviting overall, hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoArtGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We saw the website and were very excited about a special weekend away - Crestwood Inn is in a beautiful location. However, the location was the only positive aspect of our "weekend away".

There was a wedding at the Inn the weekend we stayed, but no one had informed us of that when we booked the reservation. The room was dirty, there was a used bottle of KY jelly under the bed. The Inn was not well staffed - we always had to wait for service (never being acknowledged while waiting!) and all staff could use a seminar in customer service. The Spa services were non existant and the hot tub was "closed for service." We'll never go back.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank charlottenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boone hotels

Claremont, NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We were so excited to get away over Thanksgiving and do something different. We chose to stay at Crestwood based on their "misleading" website. We had gotten an email saying buy 2 nights, get 1 free so we jumped on it. We also made reservations for Thanksgiving dinner there as well.

The prime rib was good, but it took forever for our drinks orders to even be taken. It took well over 2 hours for us to finish. Our toliet would not flush and they had to come fix it 3 times. The "spa" was located in a different building and it was very cold to walk from one facility to the next. The indoor pool was freezing cold so we could not use it and the hot tub was closed for repairs. My husband got out of the steam room to find no towels. He had to dry off with paper towels. (This was supposed to be a "resort") We asked to book spa services and told there was no one working to perform them. I have to agree with the review before me....it was very understaffed!

The only good points.....the place was clean and the bed slept well. The location was peaceful. That's about all that was good.

I am not looking for perfection, but we were very sad because our stay did not meet the expectations we had based on viewing the website.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maysameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Although the location is remote and attractive, the main building felt run-down and poorly maintained - cracks in tile floors, dark scuff marks all over the walls, creaky and wobbly stairways, and so forth. The room we were first given smelled very musty and old; we were able to get changed to a less smelly but no less dingy room after some resistance from the desk clerk.

The staff were lackadaisical, unhelpful, and unprofessional. There was a wedding at the Inn the same weekend we were there, although none of the staff so much as mentioned this fact either when we made our reservations or when we checked in. (Good thing we hadn't planned to go to the hotel restaurant Saturday evening, since it was completely closed off for the wedding reception!) At the wine and cheese tasting, the bartender didn't seem to know much about the wine beyond "red" and "white", and made no effort at all to make us feel welcome at the bar. The restaurant and front desk staff mostly ignored us until we directly asked for something, and made us feel like we were imposing on their time by doing so. In general the staff seemed more like a group of bored teenagers than employees of an expensive inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glennfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Took my hubby for his 50th birthday. Nice romantic trip. Some extended family members also came up one night and we stayed at a cottage. Wonderful accommodations and they have two cottages that we were allowed to brings our doggies.

Location is perfect. So close to Boone, grocery store, Gamekeeper down the road (fantastic place to eat!)

Will go again and again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brutarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My wife and I chose Crestwood to celebrate our 25 anniversary for a 4 day getaway. We stayed the same weekend as a wedding party (see previous review comments). Also there was a grand opening of a new public lounge on the facility and it rained. The 2 special events along with the weather created quite a challenge for the staff. Due to wedding party moving inside we had no access to the DAWG bar or the dining room and we had reservations. The new lounge opened 2 hours later. The staff attempted to over service us, which was nice but did not overcome the inconvenience or akwardness of us being the only guess...not in the wedding party, or so it appeared.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wf1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
3.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
590 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
430 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Crestwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crestwood

Property: The Inn at Crestwood
Address: 3236 Shulls Mill Rd, Boone, NC 28607-6836
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Crestwood 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Crestwood is the premier inn of the High Country, offering guests cozy accommodations, special packages, wedding venues and conference facilities. Enjoy unforgettable panoramic views, distinctive dining, celebrated local art and relaxing spa services all in one harmonious setting that's just minutes from the High Country's area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Crestwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crestwood Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing