We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worste hotel experience ever”
Review of Super 8 Boone NC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Boone NC
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Reviewed 8 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Boone NC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came to town for the annual visit to autumn at Oz. The entire city was sold out of rooms, but we were pleased to have the super 8 based on the pictures. Our first room felt icky.. the knobs were missing from the AC unit, no safety lock on the door, and it was extremely small. We called and were moved to a MUCH better room. As always, we stripped the comforters off the bed and slept with the sheets. The indoor pool was so cold my 6 year old couldn't even stand it. When a 6 year old chooses to not swim, you know it's COLD. The hotel managed to provide us a safe place to spend the night without getting cooties, but that was about it. No pizazz here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your stay. I am sorry you had difficulties during your stay. I'm happy our front desk staff was able to accommodate you and move you into a more suitable room. We are working on the problems you have listed and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the High Country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Was wanting a weekend away and everything was wonderful until we get to Super 8 to stay. They first tried to charge me more than what the reservation was booked for. Fix that problem. Then we get to our room and the AC didn't work so we called the front desk and they said they would take a look at it right away. 20 mins later still no one had been to look at it. Said there was 6 in front of us but were standing around and then walked out to smoke. Finally they went to take a look after their smoke break...RIGGED it so it would work. A few hours later the room was still not cold called front desk again, this time sending someone right away. The AC was a complete bust. The smoke detector was falling off the wall. The bathroom door knob was falling off. The pool heater was still broken and has been broken for several months. The arcade games didn't give prizes to the winners. Then to top it all off, we left and was guaranteed we wouldn't be charged and now have been charged not once, not twice, BUT THREE times for our 5 hour stay totaling $407.03. Most expensive stay ever. And now no one can figure out how to get me our money back. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. THE PLACE NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN AND BULLDOZED!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problems you experienced while you were here. I am sorry you had so many complications during your stay. This is unacceptable. We are working to fix all the problems you have stated. We hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in Boone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Horrible experience. The room had a bad odor. The comforter on the bed smelled disgusting. The price was outrageous for the quality. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Beverly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am sorry your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I have made housekeeping aware of the issues you encountered with your room. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Boone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Upon arriving, I was already informed that the hotel and others properties were sold out for the weekend due to the game in town, when I called to informed front desk of our late arrival. He then told me they were out of NON smoking rooms, and that we were re assigned to a smoking room, SMH!! However me and my bestfriend were in town for a wedding for our Coworker. Id give the Exterior of the property a "4" out of "5".. But thee Interior ("-1" out of 5) it was Screaming a FaceLift!!! Although Front desk was very Professional. But once we got into the room.. Totally a different story.. It was so late when we checked in that we were so tired from the 3 hr drive we jus wanted to rest. But while I was preparing for bed, I pulled my comforter backed and discovered LONG Black female hair on my pillow case and sheet. We quickly got dressed and went to the nearest Walmart to Buy a Blanket to put on top of the Comforter cause there was no way I was getting under those sheets. Next morning, my friend discovered the Bathroom and Tub to be Dingy looking, So yet again before we got dressed for the wedding, we had to quickly rushed out to go buy some Cheap Bathroom cleaner to accommodate our stay to our liking!! Some time during our stay I saw a Little creature crawling on the wall, which I thought was a baby roach, smh!! Never the less I killed it and informed the Lady at check out on that sunday of the creature and that we didnt touch the sheets on the bed because of the hair I found. Worst part of this trip is that my bet friend that was with me, had came in contact with "BedBugs" during our stay and possible brought them back home with her.. Ive been trying to speak with the GM about this matter, but It seems that he's never in his office, at least when I call. Which I've made Numerous calls since we've returned back home and he's not there whether I call in the morning or early afternoon in hopes to catch him... This Frustrates me to the Up most because this was my choice of place to stay, since I work for the company (definitely not a Super8 property) and couldnt accommodate our stay else where due to the Game selling other properties out!! My advice would be to stay else where..... at some point all hotels should so some type of remodeling /upgrade

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoolardJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problems you experienced. I am extremely sorry about all of the issues you had. I have let maintenance and housekeeping know about the difficulties and we are working to fix the situation. We hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in the High Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very Good place to stay. Motel is in good location in Boone, NC and relatively close to ASU. Hotel staff were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing the Super 8! We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are up in the High Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When paying the price-gouging rate of $400 for 2 nights [parents' weekend], I somehow found the 10am-sharp Sunday morning removal of "breakfast" a jarring note. -Along with 11am checkout time Sunday, complete with carts approaching room from both directions 9:30am? Were there really people lined up to check in, clamoring for our vacated rooms?
I'd like to emphasize that all the staff with whom I had contact were unusually pleasant and helpful.
I blame the policies of this chain and consider that the lovely staff are probably fellow victims -along with guests.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank kru-kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Boone NC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problems you had while at our Hotel. I am sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. Thank you for the kind words about our staff; we try to make sure everyone leaves happy. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the High Country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Boone NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Boone NC

Address: 2419 Highway 105, Near US 321, Boone, NC 28607-7815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Price Range: £45 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Boone NC 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Appalachian getaway at the Super 8 Boone NC hotel near Grandfather Mountain and many other attractions. Conveniently located on Highway 105, our hotel offers easy access to outdoor adventure and vibrant campus life. Free RV parking with outdoor outlets makes it easy to explore the area. Plan your day trip with free high speed internet, and then relax with a swim in the largest indoor pool in Boone! Revive in the morning with our Super Start continental breakfast bonanza. We offer handy amenities like refrigerators, single serve coffee pots and microwaves in every room. Handicap accessible, non smoking,a suite and pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Boone NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Boone Hotel Boone
Super Eight Boone
Boone Super 8
Boone Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing