We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another chain in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We chose this Country Inn because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not expecting a spectacular Inn but were very disappointed in our stay. There were 3 adults in our party. The evening desk clerk was friendly but the room appeared to already be occupied since the bed skirts on both beds were dragging on the floor and the pillows were rumbled. turns out the bed skirts are too long for the beds - not very appealing and certainly does not give the room a pristine look. The room seemed tired. It was a busy Saturday a.m. for breakfast with lots of families in the hotel but the breakfast choices were mundane to be kind and the juice machine was broken so there was a pitcher of juice. We asked the a.m. desk about road conditions as we were travelling over the mountains on some 2-lane roads and he actually asked how else we thought we would get over the mounatin! Not exactly friendly or helpful as we are from another state. The construction on the highway outside the hotel is a deterrent to getting into the parking lot which is not large. The beds were hard, air conditioner noisy, and the road noise disturbing even though were were on the top floor. We travel a good deal staying in chains as well as private hotels. This experience was one of the lower type - I would not stay here again and would choose one of the other chains in Boone. The town itself was fine and fun.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeightsKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. All of your feedback helps us create a better experience for our guests. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced while staying with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel in our recent visit to Boone, NC and Blowing Rock. Let's start in the very beginning. The hotel staff are very courteous. My first contact with staff came when I called to ask if I could update my room type. They were very professional and helpful. When we got to Boone we had no trouble finding the motel using the address plugged into our GPS. The motel was visible from the road however there were no signs showing where to turn in at. We had to turn around and go back to the red light before the motel and figure it out ourselves. A sign at the entrance would have been very helpful. Checking in was a breeze. When we got to our room it looked very nice. A quick use of the restroom revealed that the cleaners hadn't even cleaned up dried up urine on the toilet seat but I could easily wipe it off and just call it a minor oversight by the housekeeping staff. The next issue arose when we tried to use the jacuzzi in our jacuzzi suite. There was hair in the screen for the jets. We quickly called the front desk and a maintenance man was there within five minutes. He took the drain cover off, cleaned it then disinfected the tub so that we could use it. Very helpful and courteous. The fitness center consists of two treadmills, an elliptical trainer, and recumbent bike. It was very clean and contained towels to dry off with. The temperature was comfortable. The bed was comfortable if you like sleeping on a board. The pillows also were very firm. If you stay on the front side of the motel you will wake up at 7am. Although the hotel is on top of a hill it is basically one travel lane distance from the edge of a 6 lane highway that is still under construction. About the time of morning rush hour you WILL hear the traffic. I woke up about 7 am and could not go back to sleep. Might not be bad for a business traveler that has to get up but for someone who is there to rest I would definitely choose the backside of the hotel. The breakfast was fabulous. There were sausage biscuits, fruit, cereal, muffins, doughnuts, orange juice, milk, bagels, etc.Every staff member we came into contact with was great and super friendly. If I could give the management of this hotel a tip to make happier guests it would be...1)Be sure you have your housekeepers check behind themselves for things such as urine on the toilet seat and hair in the jacuzzi. 2) Please notify guests that plan on staying on the front side of the hotel that they may wish to stay on the back side regardless if the view from the front is better.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cpowers1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. All of your feedback helps us create a better experience for our guests. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you expereienced while staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Room was fine, not upscale but clean and fairly comfortable. Hallways are a bit dim and could use more lighting. Hotel employess were very curteous and friendly, I rate them A+. Continental Breakfast pretty good and varied selection. This is probably not a top of the line hotel for this chain but would be a good stay if you can get a good rate. All the facilities were clean and the bed comfortable... Road construction in front of the hotel may inhibit late sleeping so if you party late... try to get a room "without a view" in order to be a bit farther from the daytime construction.. they start early !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlottesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the construction. We hope that you will come back and see us if you are in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

No parking was the biggest issue, but not one Ice Machine worked. Breakfast was just ok, for a this chain, normally its much better. The beds were hard, pillows flat, TV was old tube, maybe the construction will improve even thing once they are done. Until they are done, I'd stay clear, unless you get a really good price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elad963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback helps us create a better experience for our guests. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We hope that you will consider staying with us again if you are in the Boone area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The hotel was great. Clean rooms. Service with a smile. Only negative would be all the road construction around the hotel, but that is not the hotel's fault. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable room with great hotel service. A terrific value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the construction. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

My husband and I went to Boone and surrounding areas as a two day getaway mid-week since we knew the weekend would be a busy weekend in the area with college graduations as well as Mother's Day. My birthday happened to fall on Mother's Day this year, so we just decided to wait to go mid week instead for that purpose as well. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Country Inn and Suites, from check-in to check-out. The rooms were nice and clean, comfortable beds, and clean bathroom. The desk staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions and made phone calls to places we wanted to go to make sure they were open and the times they were open. Shana was the nice lady that checked us in upon arrival and also at check-out, and we appreciated her courteous and friendly service. When we are in the Boone area again, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachmusic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again if you are in the Boone area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Stayed here in December after all the snow fall. The roads were clear and driveable. Hotel is located in Boone, which I thought was a very nice town. Has all the amenities to make ones stay comfortable--Wal-Mart, Food Lion, restaurants & fast food. Went here for winter activies. While it is not located right next to the ski resorts, it is within a reasonable driving distance to Sugar & Beech Mountain, Hawsnest and right around the corner from Appalachian Ski Mountain and Blowing Rock. Also close to Grandfather Mountain. Found hotel to be clean and well maintained, breakfast was good which was belgium waffles, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches, cereal, bagels, fruit, etc. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Florida1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again if you are in the Boone area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.3 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone

Address: 818 E King St, Boone, NC 28607-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boone
#4 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Family Hotel in Boone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boone
Price Range: £61 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina is the Country Inn & Suites, Boone. Located in the North Carolina High Country, the area offers unsurpassed scenery, exciting activities and outdoor adventures for people of all ages. The Country Inn & Suites, Boone is located in the middle of it all. Come and enjoy all the area has to offer and let us pamper you with a little "Country Hospitality." We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Boone
Country Inns & Suites Boone Hotel Boone
Country Inn Boone
Boone Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing