We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than STARBUCKS!!! a MUST for coffee lovers”

Higher Grounds Coffee Shoppe
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Boone
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“better than STARBUCKS!!! a MUST for coffee lovers”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I love this coffee shop hidden in a shopping center but worth finding. This is hands down one of the best coffee shops I have ever had coffee from. While the pastry selection is slim the coffee is EXCELLENT. The staff is helpful and very nice. They have a nice place to sit and relax with your coffee at cute tables and there is some soft seating as well. Please stop in and support this local business!! I will be stopping every time I am in "the high country"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glendale215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Frappe”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I love anything coffee flavored. I tried the mocha frappe and was not disappointed. They have sugar free syrups and will make drinks with skim milk on request. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Coffee shop in Boone”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

When in Boone, skip Starbucks. We have many unique coffee shops and my favorite is Higher Grounds...for atmosphere, friendliness and most of all high quality coffee (and ice cream too!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kind and relaxing coffee shop”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I had a nice iced coffee with a little bit of vanilla at Higher Ground. The barista, who was very nice and helpful, gave me the perfect amount of vanilla and milk in my coffee. It was so nice that I went up for a refill ($1 with the vanilla). The atmosphere was calm, quiet, and relaxing. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkeane2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Frappe”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Caramel Frappes are excellent here. Free wifi is fast and it's usually quiet enough to get some work done if you need to. The people are nice and the service is good. Lots of parking.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Higher Grounds Coffee Shoppe also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Higher Grounds Coffee Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing