We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Good, But....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gamekeeper Restaurant

Gamekeeper Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gamekeeper Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still Good, But....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Four and half of us for dinner. Almost everything was very good to good, but there was one disappointment. We have been there a number of times over the past 4 to 5 years and often ordered the Ostrich. It was always wonderful. But it is no more. Too bad. Hope they get it back.

Three of us ordered the Grilled Elk and the Grilled Pheasant and the reviews at the table were good. I started with the cream of new potato soup - it was divine. Then I ordered the only dish containing ostrich (NOT the original dish). This one was fettuccine with bits of ostrich and mushrooms in a supposedly port thyme cream sauce. No cream, just watery. The dish wasn't bad, just not very good. Not up to the Gamekeeper's standards.

The bread pudding for dessert continues to be the planet Earth´s best.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiveDog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    67
    32
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stunning menu, great service, fabulous food...a great place to celebrate with friends. I took my cycling tour group here after riding the Blue Ridge Parkway for five days and we had the best meal of the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusual and exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We really enjoy trying new foods and always enjoy when a restaurant takes something basic like macaroni and cheese and makes it exceptional by using blue cheese. This was served with the elk which had a hint of rosemary and perfectly prepared. The pheasant was excellent with shiitake mushrooms and the best risotto, not too soft, perfectly flavored. We also had the grilled escarole salad and stuffed blossom salad. Both were terrific, liked the squash blossom better as it was served with ripe blackberry's - one of my favorites. Both my husband and I enjoy cooking and are rather critical of restaurants and always look for new ideas in cooking for ourselves. Thank you for giving us some new tastes and challenges. The service from Lee was one of the best. Knowledgeable, not pushy, attentive and timely. Many thanks for an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnGie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is by far one of our favorite restaurants. We go about once a year and look forward to the next visit before we even leave. The atmosphere is quaint, located down a winding road lined with beautiful old oak trees. On our visit last week I had the bison and he had elk. The side dish with the elk was blue cheese macaroni….spectacular!! We had just returned from Yellowstone where elk and bison were on every menu so we were excited to relive the memory. The chef did a fabulous job as the entree was prepared perfectly. The waitress was knowledgeable and happy and provided a very satisfying experience. The home in which is now the Gamekeeper restaurant has history so ask your server.

Make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Novel, but average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

First let me say that our meal was good and the service was outstanding; with that said however, you're paying for the novel-ness of the food, not the unique-ness of it. I had elk--correctly prepared (rare) but nothing different than mid-range beef. My wife had bison flank steak--and while good, nothing out of the ordinary. In fact, the only that that really stood out was the macaroni and blue cheese--that was almost worth another star just on it's own...

The other thing that was disappointing was the beverage selection--or rather--the lack of it. The beer selection was not good (the bartender was pushing 'PBR' for some unknown reason) and neither was their liquor selection.

Lastly, don't rely on the website to accurately show what's on the menu for today--I was told it's not updated very often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gamekeeper Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Gamekeeper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing