We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinnamon Buns!”
Review of Macado's

Macado's
Ranked #51 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Buns!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Do yourself a favor. Go to Macado's, grab yourself a pint and order one (or more) of their cinnamon buns. Those things are awesome! You will not be disappointed. The staff was friendly, we were happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    76
    43
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Macado's Sports Bar”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent place if you are in downtown Boone to watch a game and get a cold beer. The menu has a very large selection of pub food! Friendly staff and fast service!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Had sandwiches and beer for an early lunch while watching the Christmas parade. Delicious sandwiches! Portions are large, lots of fresh meat and veggies, would definitively recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't expect to watch football here”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to watch football games on Sunday while in Boone. While Macados does have the NFL ticket and at least two large screens in dining room, it is almost impossible to sit and see more than one TV at a time. Also, even of bar is empty, they will not change TV to a game you request. Bartender says that if they change one TV they would be changing them all day. So, since the food is average and service less than average, we went to The Rock on Blowing Rock Rd. where there are plenty of Tv's and they are 100% willing to change TV to the game you need.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches and Beer”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Macado's has been around since I was a student at App over 25 years ago. I have eaten here hundreds of times over the years. My favorite is the Doc Watson sandwich. Macado's has a nice bar area and usually has beer specials. The bar will be packed with students on Thur, Fri and Sat nights but that's not so bad. They usually just ignore the old folks. I recommend Macado's over any of the other chain restaurants in Boone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AppNeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macado's also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing