We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fun environment”
Review of Macado's

Macado's
Ranked #51 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ararat, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and fun environment”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It's been about 15 years since I last ate here and the place hasn't changed a bit! The menu was the same - actually had my favorite sandwich that I used to get when I lived in Boone. Lot's of fun memories came back to me during my visit. Absolutely love Macado's!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rubberband1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    76
    43
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Brew and Food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Big City Jazz and a basket of fries (order as a side dish, as it usually comes with chips) and select your favorite brew. This is great bar food it is not a NY Deli but the staff is nicer, the food is good and affordable and the atmosphere is fun. When you finish grab yourself a cinnamon sensation and one more for breakfast the next day. If you are in Boone NC make this one of your stops.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average, but fresh”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went to Macado's for lunch a few days before New Years. Service was good, but the food was definitely average. I had a reuben, which came out with "soft" rye bread. Anyone who is used to a good Jewish Deli would turn up their nose at this offering. The Corn Beef was fresh, but it was not a traditional reuben. We also had the Beef Dip which was okay and the onion rings which were also passable. If you are not too particular about your deli sandwiches, you may like this place. In an area like Boone, I would expect and want better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k2web
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Buns!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Do yourself a favor. Go to Macado's, grab yourself a pint and order one (or more) of their cinnamon buns. Those things are awesome! You will not be disappointed. The staff was friendly, we were happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Macado's Sports Bar”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent place if you are in downtown Boone to watch a game and get a cold beer. The menu has a very large selection of pub food! Friendly staff and fast service!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macado's also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing