We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mountain retreat”
Review of Lovill House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lovill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Boone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Scott and Ann are warm, welcoming and very attentive hosts. Our Bristol room was comfortable, clean and "homey". ABC Romance Package was the perfect way to celebrate - chilled sparkling wine, delectable strawberries and the most beautiful roses we have ever had! We had a lovely first wedding anniversary trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CofC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Lovill House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This was a surprise weekend set up by my husband for our 35th Wedding Anniversary! What a great time we had! The Inn Owners were very personable and I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast! We will return and hopefully make it at least a yearly visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Lovely inn on beautiful grounds with a gazebo and a waterfall at the back of the garden. There were lots of birds around and we saw rabbits and even deer! The inn is spotless, the rooms are spacious and fitted with TVs & WI-FI, and the bed in our king room was very comfortable. Guests can store personal items in one of the kitchen fridges. We loved dining al fresco on the front porch with our locally bought bread, cheese and wine. Scott and Anne are extremely hospitable hosts who go the extra mile for their guests and Anne's breakfasts are superb featuring both sweet and savory items. Coffee and daily papers are available at 8:00 which one can enjoy in a rocker on the porch before breakfast is served. The inn is well located near the downtown restaurants and it's only a short drive to other area restaurants such as The Game Keeper. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaqueen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing spot, stop at the Lovill House Inn. The place has a lot of mountains and is gorgeous. Scott, one of the owners, was very hospitable and willing to share with us the history of the inn. This year on June 3 they will be celebrating their 20th anniversary of the place. Not only do the owners make you feel at home, It has received a triple AAA four diamond for over sixteen years in a row now. The history is so unique. Appalachian State University (ASU) legislation that allowed the institute to exist was signed in one of the rooms. The door frames are surrounded with chestnut. The rooms are immaculate! The landscape surrounding the inn is beautiful there are beautiful flowers surrounding it a nice gazebo to sit in and enjoy the peace and quietness. Not to far from the gazebo is a beautiful waterfall. I would recommend anyone who needs a break from city life or just looking for something peaceful and restful to come here!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank JamilaAbril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Lovill House Inn is a very relaxing spot. The grounds are well maintained and gorgeous. My husband and I spent a lot of time rocking on the front porch, watching birds and unwinding. The innkeepers, Scott and Anne, were very attentive and it is apparent that it is very important to them that their guests do indeed have that fantastic experience while staying at Lovill House Inn. We stayed in the first floor room, just off of the entry way. It was very comfortable, convenient, and private. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. We hope that we will be able to return very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lovill House Inn 4 out of the last 5 years on our anniversary. We absolutely love the inn and the innkeepers!! They make you feel at home and let you enjoy your stay. They have become an extended part of our family and are wonderful people! The rooms are immaculate. We recommend the Spring House. The breakfast is always delicious and well prepared. Check in and check out is quick and painless. The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. It has almost become our vacation home. THere is no other place I would rather stay than at The Lovill House Bed and Breakfast! It is the reason that we come to Boone every year! Can't wait to stay there this year!

Room Tip: The Bristol Room has some wonderful history with it. Ask about the history. The Spring House is gr...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Lovill House Inn is a beautiful bed & breakfast located in Boone, NC. My colleagues and I didn’t stay here, but we did stop by to tour the historical place and landmark for the city. The owners were very nice and eager to give us a tour. The Inn was originally the home in which the legislature for Appalachian State University was written and signed. As a landmark for the town, it is discretely stowed away just off of the main road, behind of some hemlock trees. The landscape is beautifully tended to and there is a waterfall in the backyard! For being right off of the main road, the Inn was very quiet. I would definitely recommend this stay for a couple or someone interested in local history or looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful to work or stay for a few days. The Inn has received the Triple AAA Diamond award for the past 12 years, so they must be doing something right!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cheyanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
7.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
399 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovill House Inn

Address: 404 Old Bristol Rd, Boone, NC 28607-7678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boone
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovill House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovill House Inn is an historic Bed and Breakfast Inn conveniently located on eleven wooded & secluded acres, less than one mile from Old Town Boone NC and Appalachian State University, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Experience AAA Four Diamond Award hospitality and elegant lodging accommodations in a relaxed and unforgettable setting. 16 perennial flower gardens, gazebo, wrap around porch and waterfall/stream. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lovill House Inn - b&b
Lovill House Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing