We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay food, terrible service”
Review of The Red Onion Cafe

The Red Onion Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red Onion Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay food, terrible service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Came in last Saturday with the family, had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. When we were finally seated, our waitress, trina I believe. Seemed flustered and frustrated. Our salads came out after 20 more minutes, and when we finally got them and asked for more dressing, she rolled her eyes and there was audible complaining coming from the kitchen. She did not return for 15-20 minutes. Service continued to be slow and lacking for the rest of the meal. My wife's salmon and my trout were delicious. Food is great, but sadly will not be returning due to inexperienced waitstaff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    143
    62
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Choice when in Boone”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stopped in for lunch, and sat on the outside terrace. The terrace had a nice crowd and somehow seemed a better atmosphere than the inside. Service was attentive and flawless. The menu had a reasonable selection if one is not seeking fine dining (which at lunchtime for the typical American style, is quite appropriate). There is a nice selection of wines not overpriced, and the food was exactly what we were expecting for a nice lunch: flatbread with an interesting twist of cheese/vegetables (we added the house made hot sauce) & a variety of salads. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrd3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cooking.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Ate at Red Onion for dinner after son's graduation in May. Server was excellent. Very attentive. Our food was great. The salmon on polenta was wonderful. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Just a Sandwich”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stopped at Red Onion since it was highly rated on TripAdvisor. It was okay. I had a club sandwich and fries. Nothing amazing--just a sandwich. The interior seating area seemed nice enough. The staff refilled drinks and were prompt and friendly. Prices were about what we expected at $10-12 for lunch. Can't complain I guess, but the food was just okay. I think I was expecting a bit more based on the TripAdvisor rating, but I guess a top 25 restaurant in Boone is different from a top 25 restaurant in a bigger city--diner beware.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I went here for a lunch date with a friend and loved it. We got seated right away, and our waiter was quick and very kind. I ordered the teriyaki chicken sandwich and it was delish. I will in back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Onion Cafe also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Red Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing