We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average steakhouse, resort area premium prices”

Peddler Steak House
Ranked #30 of 151 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$34
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here at The Peddler Steak House it is all about the steak! At The Peddler Steakhouse, you will see your Ribeye custom cut right at your table! The Ribeye is The Peddler's signature steak and is always cooked to perfection! If you are not in a Ribeye kind of mood, the Peddler steak house offers a variety of beef. Everything from slow cooked Prime Rib to succulent "cut with your fork" filets. The Peddler also offers a variety of other selections like seafood, an extensive salad bar, and a light eaters menu.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average steakhouse, resort area premium prices”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This restaurant is definitely not a high end steak house. In keeping with that, there’s nothing fancy about décor. The steaks are good but not great. The salad bar offers lots of items, but in a very small space, which can result in somewhat long lines at peak times. The prices were somewhat high given the steaks were only slightly above average and the self-serve salad bar. Service was also spotty – appetizers came out late while the steaks came a bit too soon, given the appetizer delay. Still, there was a fairly good crowd on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    73
    35
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best steak in town!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great service, delicious soup and salad bar, perfect Filet Mignon. Be sure to try the twice baked potato. It sells out early and is not listed on the menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The BEST.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We ate here last night and were so happy we did. There was a wait but it went by quickly and it was worth it. I would compare their steak to that of Ruths Chris or Mortons - Its was that good. Its pricey but worth every penny. Even the salad bar and soup was up to par. I would encourage anyone to dine here. Enjoy a drink or dessert too, they are moderately priced and delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceciliyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n va
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a good concept poorly executed”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

An intimate decor well laid out. Menu in the $25-30 range; ~$50 per person with drinks and tip. Cut table side rib eye the attraction. Steak was very good. That being said, the downside. Service was marginal at best. Sides and presentation well below average. Condiments (butter/sour cream) served in small plastic containers (think Denny’s). Nothing distinguished the salad bar from those in other less priced eateries. This restaurant has significant potential, but at this time it remains unrealized. At this price point I assume there are other options that will provide a better experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Autryville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“The best in Boone.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Peddler is our favorite restaurant in Boone, NC. We have a home in Blowing Rock and we eat there a few times every chance we get to go up. The food is great and the service is second to none. I would advise anyone who gets a chance to go to Boone, NC to try it. I guarantee you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peddler Steak House also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Peddler Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing