We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for adults”

Peddler Steak House
Ranked #28 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at The Peddler Steak House it is all about the steak! At The Peddler Steakhouse, you will see your Ribeye custom cut right at your table! The Ribeye is The Peddler's signature steak and is always cooked to perfection! If you are not in a Ribeye kind of mood, the Peddler steak house offers a variety of beef. Everything from slow cooked Prime Rib to succulent "cut with your fork" filets. The Peddler also offers a variety of other selections like seafood, an extensive salad bar, and a light eaters menu.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“for adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The service was wonderful, and our waiter was excellent. We had our grandsons who are 6 & 8. Their menu is not very child friendly, but they were happy to make a cheeseburger for our 6 year old.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    68
    33
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sebastian, florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This place has character!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I read the review from the person who said "1975 called and they want their decor back" before we went there. I have to tell you, 1968 is more like it! It reminded me of the "Hitching Post" in Sideways. With that being said, my filet Mignon was awesome! My wife's prime rib excellent and junior loved his rib-eye. The service was awesome and a bit comical as the guy who brings the raw steaks on a cart to help you choose, rolled it out a little too early. They also make the guys were berets which I reminded me of how emasculated Judge Reinhold felt in Fast Times at Ridgemont High when he had to wear that pirate outfit. It was a pleasurable experience. As for the decor, yes they need to dump those weird woven basket type dust collectors. But I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliverTwist66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1975 called, it wants its decor back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I don't understand the rave reviews this place gets, it was ordinary for the price. The atmosphere of the place was down right bizzare, the decor was straight out of the 70's and it looked like that was the last time the place was dusted. I have eaten at the Peddlers in Gatlinburg and thoroughly enjoyed it but this experience was less than stellar. One thing that is unique about the place is how they bring the meat cart around. Well, the guy walled up to our table without the cart and said Iit was too much trouble getting it back to our table. This is what they are known for, why would they have a table in a place where they couldn't get the cart?. A little later he pushes the cart up next to the table beside us. Maybe because it was a table of 5 women he thought we wouldn't care, he was wrong, so much for that part of the dining experience. The salad bar was small and nothing special. I am sorry that we didnt take the time to find out what other places might have been better. Ln I took the word of a friend and from now on I will question her tastes! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richmond_KYCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackstone, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Peddler to Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I called in an order for pick up to take back to the hotel rather than wait an hour. I ordered a filet mignon, grilled shrimp, French fries, grilled onion, blue cheese butter, and a side salad. The side salad was HUGE. Imatenthemremainder for lunch the next day. The food was cooked perfectly, and I enjoyed each bite. The plastic utensils were very sturdy (a necessity if you're cutting steak). I spent about $40 and for the amount of food, plus the quality of the food, I feel it was money well spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food/ Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

If your in Boone and want a wonderful all over experience you must visit this restaurant! The steaks are brought to your table, you choose which steak you would like to have prepared for you. They cut the steak in the ounces you would like. Ours were cooked perfectly to our request and almost melted in your mouth. They also have a wonderful salad bar that is included with your meal. By the way, if you still have room for just a bit more check out their desserts. A perfect ending to a perfect meal. The staff is on top of things as well, making sure your visit is the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peddler Steak House also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Peddler Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing