We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vidalia

Vidalia
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Upscale casual dining specializing in creative American cuisine focusing on local/regional cuisine and products. Extensive wine and specialty beer lists including mixed beverages.
cary nc
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

when a Thursday night nice ambiance you see the cooks working Very delicious onions rings. The dishes were very tasty but we wait 35 minutes for our dish.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scorneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    80
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We knew we were in for a good experience when meeting a woman going out the door who told us the tomato pie is "to die for." My sister and I both chose to try the tomato pie and my brother-in-law had the BLT. We both agreed that the pie was as good as we had been told. Vidalia uses only locally sourced ingredients. The soup was a pulled pork and vegetable soup that was a meal in itself. The BLT had applewood smoked bacon, a local cheese and heirloom tomatoes.

Vidalia is a small restaurant with an excellent menu and good selection of beers and wine. The service was friendly and efficient. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GAGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our last night in North Carolina and this was our favorite meal of the trip. The wine list is small but good. We started with their onion rings that came with a creole dipping sauce. Very yummy. We then split a heirloom tomato salad that was marvelous. I had their trout (w/o grits) and loved it. It came with crispy (tempura) beans and a slaw. My husband had their meatloaf that was wrapped in hickory bacon with a cherry "catsup". Looks like I have to try to replicate that recipe he loved it so much. This is a small restaurant so be sure to make a reservation. All the tables were taken on the Friday we were there. The space is charming and the service was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedgeclipperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, created in a way that is pleasantly surprising!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We've gone for dinner here twice: once over the summer, and again for my birthday, because we both loved it so much. The food is brilliant! The staff, helpful, knowledgable and very friendly. I think it's one of the best dining experiences in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

With a group of 19 it is difficult to find a restaurant to accommodate so many but Vidalia was exceptional. It isn't a large place but we were very comfortably seated together. Everyone's meal was excellent and the servers were knowledgeable and efficient. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank r10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vidalia also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vidalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing