We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joy Bistro

Joy Bistro
Ranked #12 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food & selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Service was great, food was excellent , there were great menu choices for everyone in our party. No question why this restaurant is rated #1 !

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    44
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gourmet surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of the best meals ever. The cocktail menu was very cool and I had a feeling the food would be excellent and it was . My Martini was perfect . The salad with arugula , prosciutto , pine nuts and fruit was a combination of brilliant ingredients .The main course of scallops with vegetables & fingerling potatoes was another home run . I tasted the lamb which was excellent also .Our server was attentive and all of our party was so excited to have had this great dinner . We cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BBinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal & Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Celebrated an accomplishment Friday night with dinner. Negronis before dinner were great! Terrific balance and just like we enjoy them. Starters were Ahi Tar Tar and Pork Belly - both were substantial and delicious. Cathy had the filet and I had the hamburger, which was easily in the top 5 I've ever had. Server was quite attentive and all in all, another great meal at Joy Bistro!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for graduation and while it wasn't terrible, it wasn't that impressive either.
I've dined here before and it was better than my most recent visit.
However, this is one of the best places in Boone, so perhaps it was an off day. The decor is lovely and the best in Boone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Torib2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In our top three dining experiences..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Began with the Crab and English Cucumber Cocktail. Excellent! Enjoyed the scallops and duck entrees and were thrilled with both. Server was especially helpful in suggesting wine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joy Bistro also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing