We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it once was...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We are currently in the middle of a 3 day stay at this hotel. We have stayed here before and thought we knew what we were getting. Unfortunately, that is not the case. The other reviews stating the mattresses and pillows are in dire need of replacing are right! Definite hole in the middle of the bed. With two people in a bed, it is very uncomfortable. Pillows feel as if there are just shredded pieces of foam in them. It even seems as though they are skimping on the breakfast compared to our last stay. Very disappointing compared to the experience we are used to getting from other Holiday Inn Express hotels. My next trip to Boone, I will stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NavyMomNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Opted for a suite and found the room to be very oversized as well as the bathroom. The breakfast had a nice variety.

Room Tip: update to a suite it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank east59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Spent the night here after a visit to Appalachian State University. Check-in was so quick, I barely had my wallet out before he was handing me the key card. Extremely nice property with many modern conveniences. Our room had a private but very small balcony. It overlooked the main street but the mountains were surrounding the entire property. Super-clean room and bathroom. Very comfortable beds. WONDERFUL full breakfast including omelettes, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, waffles, sausage, etc. The dining room is very pretty with a tall fireplace. Great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

$195 a night ten year old zenith tv's old fashioned under the window air/heat very worn carpet and room furnishings. Great staff great location worth $89 a night tops

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertwSunnySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

In search of a mountain home, my husband and I have made many trips to Boone. We try to stay away from traffic congestion, which is difficult in this small college town. Holiday Inn Express use to be a really nice place to stay. It is in need of renovation. Beds and pillows need to be replaced-magor sagging in beds and pillows are lumpy and totally uncomfortable. Breakfast is okay-nothing special. Would be nice to have a small fridge in rooms. Will be looking for a different place to stay on next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent this past weekend in Boone NC and stayed at this property for two nights. The hotel room was nice which faced the mountains with a small balcony. Our room was clean with two beds and we did slept comfortably. We liked the location of the hotel and the friendliness of the front desk personnel; this was a nice stay and we would consider staying at this property again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LADYMOVER40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were in Boone for a funeral. Traveling disabled with no way to stretch one's legs or walk around, is never pleasant and a bad hotel room makes everything worse! Fortunately for us, we were placed in a roll-in wheelchair accessible shower room that was really a suite. The staff was so courteous, sympathetic and caring, that I could actually feel the stress leaving my body. My husband was visibly relieved that we were placed in the right type of room without a fuss. It made it easier for him, knowing I was comfortable.

Everything was clean and presentable. The bed was so comfortable, we fell asleep almost immediately. Plenty of space to maneuver my electric wheelchair without bumping into husband, furniture or wall.

Thank you for a comfortable place to stay away from home, while we mourned the loss of a family member.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachykeenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
419 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Boone, NC
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: £64 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing