We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights April. It is a very nice hotel, clean rooms, comfortable beds and the free breakfast was perfect. We took our kids with us (3 and 6 yrs old). Location is great. Minutes from downtown boone, blue ridge parkway and tweetsie railroad. We had a great time in Boone and the HGI was the perfect place to stay. I highly recommend this hotel. Every employee we encountered was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan7515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    131
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
115
95
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
western New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights this past week. We were with another family as well. We had rooms next to each other, smooth check in, quiet sleep - considering 3 bus loads of kids arrived to stay there. The breakfast was very good. There was a cool pancake maker in the breakfast area! (I've only ever seen waffle makers). The breakfast area was excellent, well maintained and kept stocked. I didn't really know what to expect from a Holiday Inn Express but it was just wonderful. We were there over graduation weekend, so we had two completely different rates for our stay - it balanced out to $150 per night....so that wasn't terrific but a few other hotels had already been booked up. I liked the location though it wasn't scenic. We stayed in a room with a balcony (and paid extra for the balcony) but unfortunately there weren't chairs out there so we didn't use it much.

Room Tip: We were happy that we were on the highest floor (5th) and facing towards the back of the property. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valleylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I came in to see our daughter graduate with her Masters from ASU. We stayed here for 2 nights. This was not my first visit, nor my last at Holiday Inn Express in Boone. He and I truly enjoyed our stay with them. They made our stay very pleasant. A most stay at hotel for anyone looking for a very clean/friendly/enjoyable to lay their heads down.

Room Tip: We loved that our room had a balcony. We sat each night out on it and enjoyed the mountain view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is right on the main drag in Boone. Close to everything food-wise and shopping-wise. We were surprised that there was no fridge in the room or microwave. We are used to these things from frequent stays at Hampton Inns, but we had a nice sized, clean room, with a large bathroom and a room balcony. Pleasant and helpful staff person at check-in. Would recommend that you get a back room rather than one facing US321 since there was lots of traffic noise, even on the 3rd floor. We read about complaints about the beds but we had no issues. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Oburgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here recently while attending MerleFest in Wilkesboro, NC. The place is clean and the people are very friendly. The breakfast was very good. Our only complaint was that someone was smoking next door to us. YUK! We could smell it all night. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on Blowing Rock Road, a/k/a Highway 321, which means this property is super convenient for those touring the Blue Ridge Parkway. My sister and I spent 4 days there, because we were attending Merlefest, a large music Festival in Wilkesboro. We were up fairly early most mornings, so we took advantage of the breakfast, and the one in Boone was a bit better than other HIEs in the area, but there isn't much variety from day to day. Still, there were biscuits, sausage, eggs and gravy daily, along with a pancake machine, as well as the usual pastry, bagel, and fruit. And, there was milk, cereal, and yogurt.

I had an issue with misplacing my car key, and the staff was great, from checking with housekeeping and maintenance, to handling the fed ex package when hubby sent me a spare. Everyone I spoke with was professional and kind.

The beds are not the best, and there is a bit of traffic noise at times, but we had no problems sleeping. I would visit again, were I in need of lodging in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our experience with the Holiday Inn Express in Boone was not good. We arrived at the front desk after driving all day and told the girl at the desk we had a reservation. She said our reservation was for the night before and that we had been a “no show”. She offered to move it to that night and not charge us for the missed night. Another person standing next to her said “but you won’t get that price you reserved for” and laughed. We were tired and didn’t care about the forty bucks more.
Had a two room suite with fireplace. Got moved in and walked out on the balcony to look around. Littered with beer bottles and piles of cigarette butts, smelled so bad we had to go back in. The room was literally over a Lowes Lumber parking lot where lift trucks had backup alarms and trucks unloaded early in the morning.
Sat on the edge of the bed and there was like a hard wire edge that then sagged into the middle. The flame in the fireplace was maybe an inch high at best. Looked for a TV listing and couldn’t find one, called the front desk and asked about one. The girl at the desk said “I’ll bring one right up, never showed.
Beautiful building and nice lobby but stay at the Holiday Inn in Blowing Rock a very short distance away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Dicar,

Thank you for your feedback. It's feedback like this that will allows us to improve our guest experience.

We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. Our guests comfort is our number one priority. Please, in the future, do not hesitate to inform us of any issues you may have and we'll do our best to rectify any issues you may have.

Hopefully we'll have a chance in the future to better show you our high standards in comfort and cleanliness.

Olga Monfiston
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express of Boone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boone
Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing