We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A large event was held in Boone, NC and we stayed at this hotel. Note: there were 600 people attending this event so other hotels were used as well.

This hotel bent over backwards to accommodate their guests. When there was not enough seating for breakfast in the "common" area, they opened up one of the meeting rooms with tables and chairs set up and we could eat in there.

The staff that worked in setting up breakfast in the morning did an excellent job.
The staff that serviced our rooms were thorough and fast.
All staff we encountered during our week stay were friendly and eager to please. Thank you for a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank happytravelerinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed on the third floor on July 4th. The cost was WAY too expensive for the filthy room we were in! It was very clear that the people before us smoked in the room and it reeked of cigarettes! The balcony was covered in cigarette butts too! There was black hair all over the bathroom floor and in the tub! Thank God I only had to endure it for one over-priced night! The beds were comfy, but it did not make up for the dirty, stinky room!!! I WILL NOT stay here again! Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry you had a poor experience with regard to the cleanliness of your room. Even though we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, and we require all guests to sign an acknowledgement of this policy upon check-in, some guests choose to ignore the policy. We're grateful you brought the cleanliness/cigarette smell it to our attention so that the necessary measures may be taken to ensure this does not happen again. We truly wish we had the opportunity to know about this occurrence when it happened, as we would have jumped at the opportunity to rectify the situation and make you more comfortable. We hope you will reconsider staying with us some other time so that we can provide you with the expectations you deserve as a loyal guest. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests feedback is invaluable.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were here for the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games. Hotel was convenient enough to the games but even more convenient to shops and restaurants in Boone. Looks to have been recently built or redone. Everything was clean and in great shape. Breakfast was delicious and plenty to choose from. The sitting area in the lobby was really nice with lots of windows and high ceilings. There as a Model T Ford owners group (lots of cars!) when we were there and there was enough staff to handle everyone as we were not inconvenienced at all by the large group.
I should mention our stay was with Reward Night Points so price was not a factor in our decision to use this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyandEwanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times -- normally it is up to Holiday Inn standards, but this time was not as good as usual. As others have mentioned, the location is great. We had planned to walk the Greenway, which is just outside the hotel. We went to a show just up the street.

Now to the cleanliness: lots of sticky hand prints on the windows -- those should be gone after housekeeping makes up the room -- they were there both days. Garbage containers just outside the lobby were overflowing when we arrived at around 2:30 p.m. My husband mentioned it to the front desk and they said they'd call maintenance. When we left around 5:30, the garbage was still there. When we arrived back around 10:00, it was finally cleaned up.

Lastly, the mattresses. They were not uncomfortable to sleep on, but when you sat on the edge, which you have to do in order to get in the bed, the whole mattress would collapse and you felt like you were sitting on a floppy cushion with a huge seam down the length. Very strange.

Room Tip: We always ask for a "quiet room," away from the elevators, and in this case the street out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for bringing the sticky handprints to our attention. Our Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of the situation, so the necessary corrections can be made to ensure these details are not overlooked. We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guest as it continues to allow us to see our hotel through our guests eyes and helps to notice any areas that may need attention. Thank you again for your time and your continued patronage. We hope you will continue to choose to stay with us on your future trips, as we look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the HIE in Boone because HIE's are usually very clean and comfortable. W e stayed in Room ;319 on July 3, 2014. The young man at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. He gave us a map of the area and told us what he thought was the best restaurants in town.
We went up to our room and I was disappointed when I walked in. I looked at the beds and they both looked "lumpy" for lack of a better word! They are really in need of replacement. The nightstand between the beds was very old and a lot of scratches. The office chair had hair in it apparently someone had dried their hair there? I opened the refrigerator and there was food in it from a previous guest! There was a dead bug in the floor in the bathroom. There was dust on either side of the refrigerator. I think some of the problems we encountered was just due to poor housekeeping.
On the bright side - the location is great. There are lots of restaurants and a little shopping plaza across the road. Overall, I just don't think this HIE is up to the standards of other HIE's.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dallen_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

First and foremost, please accept our most sincere apologies. It is most unfortunate your experience while staying with us was so un-satisfactory. Our Executive Housekeeper has been notified so the necessary corrections can be made to ensure another guest does not have the same negative experience. We do however regret we were not made aware of the situation when it occurred as we did not have the opportunity to apologize and do something about the room at the time. Should you return to the Boone area, we hope you will allow us to exceed the expectations you have of a HIE. We very much appreciate your communication and are grateful you took the time to review our hotel as our guests input is invaluable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was my son's birthday weekend and he wanted to go to Tweetsie Railroad, so after doing the research and discovering that most of the hotels were booked in Boone, I ended up making reservations here for a two room suite at about $250 a night for two nights. The hotel is easily located, near essential areas including a CVS and a Walgreens, and parking is plentiful. Check in was easy, quick, and efficient (which is essential when you have a child on the Autism Spectrum). The luggage cart I used was, per the norm, a poorly constructed pain to navigate which also had the added bonus of listing to the side--but that's typical. There are two elevators so we never had to wait very long, which is nice. We were given a choice of the fourth or fifth floor and as my son's favorite number is "5" we chose that. Our room was number 500 at the very end of the hallway. This was a nice suite--the floors, with the exception of the tiled bathroom, were wide plank dark hardwood. Immediately on entering the room the kitchenette is on your left and has a ample (really too much but I see the overall vibe they were going for and it works) cabinet space, granite counters, mini-fridge, microwave, nice metal high end barstools, and a cordless phone (this is the only phone--there isn't one by the bed which is odd). Just past the kitchen area is the living space with two club chairs, an ottoman, side table with lamp, round coffee table, sofa, fireplace, and television. All very clean, relatively comfortable, and well constructed--not saggy or worn looking at all. There is a door from here off to the balcony. From the living area you go through two double doors to the bedroom, which featured a king bed with wonderful pillows, white high thread count linens--but only a thin down alternative comforter. They had a blanket in the closet, but I never use those (bad experience with one at the Doubletree in Charleston SC--reeked of urine. It was disgusting--this one did not smell and I'm sure was clean, but the Doubletree scarred me). The room had another flat screen tv, a bench at the end of the bed, luggage rack--it was very well appointed. There was a door to the balcony from here as well overlooking the next door Lowe's, but with a great view of the mountains and the city lights (and my son loved seeing all the goings on in the garden center at Lowe's so it was a win-win). My on,y true complaint is that the locks on neither balcony door worked--of course you're on the fifth floor and only Spiderman can access the area, but still, door locks should always work. The bathroom was HUGE. Seriously. It had granite counters, tile floors, good water pressure. The only thing that made it seem not "high end" was the super small, cramped shower with the shower head way too close to the shower opening (no door, just a curtain). It was a little creepy. The huge tub, however, was awesome. The suite itself could use better lighting--there were the usual number of lamps but with the dark wood, dark furniture--some more lighting wouldn't hurt.
We used the pool twice while there and both times it was incredibly cold--it is obviously not a heated pool. I think that was poorly planned--but the pool was a nice size, the pool furniture was good quality. You do have to get your towels from the front desk, and can have several at a time. The breakfast was quite good! Check out was easy. The housekeeping staff are friendly and efficient.Overall, it was a great stay and I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here while dropping off our son at ASU for the summer. The hotel looks brand new and the rooms are large, bright and very clean. We had a room with two queen beds and a balcony that was perfect for our family of 4. The breakfast was also good by hotel standards with pancakes, biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage and bacon, oatmeal, cereals, etc. A great way to start the day! The location is also very convenient to ASU but also many restaurant and shopping outlets in the area. Check out Makoto's for dinner across the street!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: £75 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing