We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in route to a family wedding. I chose this hotel based on other reviews and then got worried when I read some negative ones. We found our room on the fifth floor to be clean and comfortable. We loved the balcony but a suggestion would be to put some outdoors chairs and a small table there. We did not enjoy the cigarette and pot smoke of some of the other guests on their balconies even tho the entire hotel is non smoking. The bathroom was. Nice and updated. The breakfast was great with more variety than usual and the breakfast area was large. Staff were very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel based on our experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    135
    50
    16
    14
See reviews for
116
98
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

For everyone's safety, I want to warn you about the dangerous whirlpool/shower combo we had at this HIE in Boone. Upon check in I was greeted by a vey friendly front desk reception who told me that as a platinum member, I had been upgraded to their Executive King Room with a whirlpool tub. My very first question was, does it also have a shower...the answer was yes. Once in the room, I realized the bathroom had a large whirlpool tub with a shower head added up high. It was hard to climb in and out of the whirlpool tub. Once in the tub I immediately almost fell right on my tailbone. The tub is slightly slanted towards the drain and this was just enough to make your entire body want to slide straight to the drain. It was so hard to get your footing. I was so worried I was going to slip, fall and break bones or worse. I warned my husband before his shower and he went in with caution and came out and said, that was the most dangerous shower I have ever been in. He said he felt unsafe because he was sliding all around. We also had an extra bonus because the tub wouldn't drain so we were able to stand in all the dirty water while showering. Upon checkout, I told the front desk of the dangerous shower situation and the lady said I will let maintenance now the tub is broken. I explained it wasn't broken, it was the design. This whirlpool tub was not intended to act as a stand up shower as well. Please remember to avoid this type of room if you are a person who likes to shower instead of soaking in a whirlpool tub. Plain and simple this is a very dangerous shower and I don't want to see anyone get hurt. I can't possibly be the only person to complain about this set up.
In general I thought this entire hotel was in need of an update. Was looking very dated and could use a freshen up. The staff was all very friendly and the breakfast was HIE average. Their guest laundry was nice. The washer was free but you had to pay $1.75 for dryer.
I can not recommend this as a 4 or 5 star HIE, it is very average and showing it's age. However, it was a clean hotel with friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LFSAHWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the design of the whirlpool bathtub. We understand that the design of the tub is deeper than the standard tubs and can be more difficult to get in and out of. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope the safety rails installed in the tub/shower helped you feel safer, upon the entry and exit of the tub. The drain on these tubs as you noticed is also centered in the middle for faster drainage, however they have to be in the up position in order to prevent the guest from having to stand in the old water. We also understand from time to time these things do clog and therefore drain more slowly or not at all. Because of your feedback, we were able to ask Maintenance to take a look at it and make sure it is in good working order. We do apologize if our hot continental breakfast did not meet your expectations. We certainly strive to exceed our guests expectations and apologize for falling short. Again, our guests feedback is invaluable to us and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A large event was held in Boone, NC and we stayed at this hotel. Note: there were 600 people attending this event so other hotels were used as well.

This hotel bent over backwards to accommodate their guests. When there was not enough seating for breakfast in the "common" area, they opened up one of the meeting rooms with tables and chairs set up and we could eat in there.

The staff that worked in setting up breakfast in the morning did an excellent job.
The staff that serviced our rooms were thorough and fast.
All staff we encountered during our week stay were friendly and eager to please. Thank you for a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelerinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed on the third floor on July 4th. The cost was WAY too expensive for the filthy room we were in! It was very clear that the people before us smoked in the room and it reeked of cigarettes! The balcony was covered in cigarette butts too! There was black hair all over the bathroom floor and in the tub! Thank God I only had to endure it for one over-priced night! The beds were comfy, but it did not make up for the dirty, stinky room!!! I WILL NOT stay here again! Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry you had a poor experience with regard to the cleanliness of your room. Even though we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, and we require all guests to sign an acknowledgement of this policy upon check-in, some guests choose to ignore the policy. We're grateful you brought the cleanliness/cigarette smell it to our attention so that the necessary measures may be taken to ensure this does not happen again. We truly wish we had the opportunity to know about this occurrence when it happened, as we would have jumped at the opportunity to rectify the situation and make you more comfortable. We hope you will reconsider staying with us some other time so that we can provide you with the expectations you deserve as a loyal guest. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests feedback is invaluable.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were here for the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games. Hotel was convenient enough to the games but even more convenient to shops and restaurants in Boone. Looks to have been recently built or redone. Everything was clean and in great shape. Breakfast was delicious and plenty to choose from. The sitting area in the lobby was really nice with lots of windows and high ceilings. There as a Model T Ford owners group (lots of cars!) when we were there and there was enough staff to handle everyone as we were not inconvenienced at all by the large group.
I should mention our stay was with Reward Night Points so price was not a factor in our decision to use this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyandEwanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, TN
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times -- normally it is up to Holiday Inn standards, but this time was not as good as usual. As others have mentioned, the location is great. We had planned to walk the Greenway, which is just outside the hotel. We went to a show just up the street.

Now to the cleanliness: lots of sticky hand prints on the windows -- those should be gone after housekeeping makes up the room -- they were there both days. Garbage containers just outside the lobby were overflowing when we arrived at around 2:30 p.m. My husband mentioned it to the front desk and they said they'd call maintenance. When we left around 5:30, the garbage was still there. When we arrived back around 10:00, it was finally cleaned up.

Lastly, the mattresses. They were not uncomfortable to sleep on, but when you sat on the edge, which you have to do in order to get in the bed, the whole mattress would collapse and you felt like you were sitting on a floppy cushion with a huge seam down the length. Very strange.

Room Tip: We always ask for a "quiet room," away from the elevators, and in this case the street out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for bringing the sticky handprints to our attention. Our Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of the situation, so the necessary corrections can be made to ensure these details are not overlooked. We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guest as it continues to allow us to see our hotel through our guests eyes and helps to notice any areas that may need attention. Thank you again for your time and your continued patronage. We hope you will continue to choose to stay with us on your future trips, as we look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salyersville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the HIE in Boone because HIE's are usually very clean and comfortable. W e stayed in Room ;319 on July 3, 2014. The young man at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. He gave us a map of the area and told us what he thought was the best restaurants in town.
We went up to our room and I was disappointed when I walked in. I looked at the beds and they both looked "lumpy" for lack of a better word! They are really in need of replacement. The nightstand between the beds was very old and a lot of scratches. The office chair had hair in it apparently someone had dried their hair there? I opened the refrigerator and there was food in it from a previous guest! There was a dead bug in the floor in the bathroom. There was dust on either side of the refrigerator. I think some of the problems we encountered was just due to poor housekeeping.
On the bright side - the location is great. There are lots of restaurants and a little shopping plaza across the road. Overall, I just don't think this HIE is up to the standards of other HIE's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dallen_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
First and foremost, please accept our most sincere apologies. It is most unfortunate your experience while staying with us was so un-satisfactory. Our Executive Housekeeper has been notified so the necessary corrections can be made to ensure another guest does not have the same negative experience. We do however regret we were not made aware of the situation when it occurred as we did not have the opportunity to apologize and do something about the room at the time. Should you return to the Boone area, we hope you will allow us to exceed the expectations you have of a HIE. We very much appreciate your communication and are grateful you took the time to review our hotel as our guests input is invaluable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boone
Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing