We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE - LOTS OF SPACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE - LOTS OF SPACE”
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We stayed in room 400. This was a King room with a jacuzzi and fireplace. It was so cozy and spacious. It had a big bar and fridge. It had sitting at the bar and had a sleeper sofa in the living room. This room would be good if you had a kid or two because it was spacious. The room was very clean and seemed soundproof. The bed was very comfortable and so was the other furniture in the room. The breakfast had a good variety. One thing to point out, this room had a frosted glass window between bedroom and bathroom, so you may want someone to go to living room area if you need total privacy. They can see you if they walk right up to the window. There are doors that shut off the bedroom and the living room area but both areas can get to the bathroom. The bathroom had jacuzzi and shower and very big vanity. We went Martin Luther King weekend so we ended up driving off from ski area, way to crowded. We ate at Daniel Boone Inn, very good but get there at 5:00 or the line will be out the door. We also ate at Canyons which is a casual restaurant in Blowing rock about 15 mins away. This restaurant has a great view, as someone told me go at 5:00 so you can see the sunset. I read this in another review and they were right. Customer service was really good too.

  • Liked — it was so clean
  • Disliked — Maiid did not give us enough time to answer door before she barged in -keep door deadbolted
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    131
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
115
95
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

This was our second stay at this hotel and once again it was excellent. The staff were super friendly despite having to work during Christmas week. Our room was spacious and well maintained and we appreciated the working wireless internet after experiences at other hotels. Breakfast was good for a self serve operation and there was adequate seating in the dining area. The only complaint I had was noise from someone constantly running around the room on the floor above us. I suspect an overactive child based on the footstep pattern and believe inconsiderate parents were to blame rather than hotel construction as I never heard normal walking from upstairs. Overall this is a fine place to stay and it is conveneient to all local activities.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel during some business meetings in the area. Location wise was good for us - shops and restaurants within walking distance. However, the main road has no pedestrian crossings. Be careful with the kids.

As we had a couple of informal meetings with another family during our stay, it was nice to have a large breakfast/meeting area. Sometimes these breakfast areas are just little nooks. Not in this case.

The complimentary breakfast was good with a wide selection of foods.

Pool was small, but the kids enjoyed it even though it was right beside a crossroad (fencing adequate).

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Papuacragrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherstocking Region New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Very nice room, 2 Qn beds with a small balcony. HUGE bathroom, all four of us could fit in at one time, big deal for an Express. Very clean room. Nice outdoor pool area, but pool was not heated as advertised. Across street from several very good restaurant choices. Close to Tweetsie Railroad.

  • Liked — Huge Bathroom!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Flying-Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We booked our stay at this hotel online about two months in advance of our stay. When we arrived at the hotel, our room was ready. We wanted to switch from paying with credit card to using Priority Club reward points. The desk clerks were most accomodating in helping us with this. Due to HIE's policies, this had to be done through their 1-800 number instead of locally, but the results were the same.

I didn't have quite enough points to cover both nights of our stay, so we used the points for one night and had to make a new reservation for the second night. It sounds more complicated than it actually was. The end result was that the rate was $5.00 more for the second night, but it came with 1000 bonus Priority Club points. As soon as we were checked in, the clerk promptly adjusted the rate back down to the original amount without me even asking. Sure, it's only five bucks, but it was unexpected and appreciated.

The rooms were clean and the linens fresh. The breakfast offered a wide variety of food that was all delicious. I have nothing negative to say at all about our stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stu11926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Boone, NC. on 6-19-08 while traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

I always find the Holiday Inn Express hotels to be very clean & comfortable and worth a slightly higher price than some other hotels (although I get a discounted rate for internet reservations).

The only complaint I can share this time was my room did not have a refrigerator. I guess I got used to these being standard in hotel rooms anymore, but it was not a big deal.

If you're in the area I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — No refrigerator in the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Geese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

The hotel staff was pleasant but the accomodations weren't as nice as we expected. We had read several positive reviews and this is why we chose to stay here. However, the beds were quite uncomfortable and the room smelled like mildew. My daughter and I had a terrible time with our allergies and hardly slept all evening.

Everything else seemed cleaned though and the breakfast was fine. If you choose to stay here, try to get a discount using an Internet site to book your reservations. I don't feel it's worth spending $148.00 per room for the inconvenience of not sleeping well.

  • Liked — It was near Tweetsie Railroad
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of the room. Not up to par. It smelled like mildew.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ang6993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
1.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boone
Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Rd, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607-6151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing