We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deerwoode Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely weekend at the Deerwoode Resort just outside of Brevard. We stayed in the River Cabin which was absolutely charming. It's right on the river with a beautiful view and couldn't be more quiet and peaceful. The cabin is small but perfect for a couple. In addition to the bedroom and bathroom inside, it has a lovely back porch overlooking the river. There is also a fire pit alongside the river, and the owner keeps dry firewood on hand so that you can make a campfire if you'd like. My wife and I enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire while listening to the coyotes sing in the distance! It was absolutely lovely.
The 175 acre property is beautiful with great hiking opportunities both on the property and beyond. Plus it's a quick, easy drive into town where there are no shortage of nice restaurants, coffee shops, and stores.
Highly recommended for a long weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We loved the River Cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in the Riverside cabin for 4 nights and could not have been more comfortable. Owner Bill was green before anyone else even knew what it meant! He is a lover of his land and the environment, plus he has a definite focus on healthy living. Matt, one of his sons, gave us the warm welcome, explaining everything we needed to know, but also saying they would stay out of our way unless we needed something. We got some great recommendations for hiking, waterfalls, and restaurants. Important to note - though you feel out in the woods, you are just outside the quaint town of Brevard which offered some really great dining options! Our cabin could not have been any cleaner or more comfy. The full kitchen came in very handy. And, the matriarch (Liz, though we didn't meet her) is quite the artist and has lots of originals in the cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomeAgain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Pros:
Location on 175 acres of woods, river, and ponds, self-catering cabins.

Cons:
Time there is always too short.

Tips:
For a romantic getaway, choose the Barn Cabin, with full kitchen overlooking the pond.

The Deerwoode resort is one man's vision and dream to preserve 175 acres of pristine woodlands, ponds, and a river for future generations. Bill Mayes will complete his dream this year when he signs final papers with the land conservancy. In the meantime he, his wife, and their two sons run what used to be a summer camp converted into a rustic and private resort.

The main lodge has four rooms with a common kitchen facility and great gathering room. In addition.there is a number of cabins scattered throughout the property. Some cabins offer cooking facilities that include microwave, refrigerator, hot plate or cooktop. All cabins are air conditioned but only a small number is winterized.

The cabins are rustic, no doubt about that; but this is why we come here. Deerwoode is for those who seek to relive the days of summer camp, fishing, walking, watching the mist lift from the ponds, and sipping wine by the fire. Even rainy days have their charm.

The owners, the Mayes family, is welcoming, keeps the property in immaculate condition, and loves to tell stories. The boys are singers and may even entertain on weekend nights. For a real treat, purchase trout raised by the local Sunburst Farms (available from Ingles in Brevard) and either roast it on the open fire or on the grill provided by the Mayes. This is living.

We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Choose the Barn Cabin for a romantic getaway overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exaramco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my first trip to Brevard, and I stumbled upon this place at the last-minute; boy, am I glad that we did! We stayed in Bear cabin, a very thoughtfully themed private cabin on the grounds. The room has a gas fireplace and/or a/c for the summer months, queen bed, loveseat, tv (four stations, but you wont need it here!), small refrigerator, scrabble/cards/games/books, bureau, coffee maker, etc. I was so impressed with the thoughtful design, beautiful artwork (by Elisabeth Mayes- the owner's wife), the porch and rocking chairs and the amazing hospitality. Go for a Saturday night and you'll be delighted when Matt and Andy Mayes play music for the guests (only) in the main lodge. The grounds here are GORGEOUS....a small golf green, hideaway, ponds, trails, peaceful sitting spots, kayaking, bamboo forest, etc... it's simply amazing. I went to see Dupont and Pisgah and ended up wishing i'd stayed longer on the resort. I will be back, and for longer next time! The place is so peaceful and the hospitality superior. A note to the fitness junkies: run or walk around the grounds, kayak, or use the two-story gym of old (but safe) equipment that Mr. Mayes, sr. put together in the 70's. A health nut, he's designed 50+ programs using the equipment which will work all muscle groups. My boyfriend, a health nut, was very impressed!

Room Tip: For a romantic stay/couples stay, I recommend bear cabin. If you have a large group, consider the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EBoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A great relaxing place; we stayed in the Bear cabin. Beautiful grounds to see, go for a short hike and also see the bamboo forest. Our cabin had lots of room; ask for some extra towels if you stay 3 nights; bring your bug spray and favorite beverages for sitting on the porch.
Ask if Matt and Andy will play their guitars on Saturday night in the lodge. Enjoy the beautiful paintings by Liz one of the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goheels63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Really had a wonderful time at Deerewood, very peaceful and serene setting. The owners are some of the friendliest people you could hope to meet. We were treated to some great music by Matt and Andy on Saturday night. We understand that Matt plays in a band known as Jupiter Coyote,and we will certainly be following for updates. Very impressed with the ecological aspects of Deerewood, lots of TLC went into this place. It's apparent that the owners are very environmentally conscious, something that my husband and I appreciate very much. We
plan to visit again, and will be looking forward to hearing more music. Lots to do in Brevard as well, DuPont Forest is a must see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahL220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway Deerwoode is the place. Matt is very accomodating and made us feel welcomed. We enjoyed listening to him and Andy play Saturday night at the lodge. The River Cabin was perfect, we kayaked 9 miles on the French Broad River and exited right at our cabin. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
1.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
364 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
17.1 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
19 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerwoode Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerwoode Lodge & Cabins

Address: 269 Riversedge Rd, Brevard, NC 28712-9854
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: £80 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Deerwoode, 175 acres of green, sustainable, peaceful serenity and wildlife preserve along the banks of The French Broad River, one of the oldest rivers in the world. Once a summer camp built in 1923 and closed in 1991, Deerwoode has matured into a quiet retreat for adults only. Preserving the vintage, old hardwood structures, many unique old stone fireplaces, and all with lake, river and mountain views, makes Deerwoode a must stop when visiting WNC. Deerwoode is truly one of the most ecological and pretty places in North Carolina, and only two miles from downtown Brevard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing