We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deerwoode Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Deerwoode is a classic. An old school camp from the 1920s that has been renovated (ever so gently) to accommodate couples and/or families. We stayed in the Coyote Lodge. The room was large and clean, rustic and quiet. And the Lodge itself is great. Large with wood paneled floors, walls, ceiling, a great stone fireplace, rocking chairs, and plenty of room for a family or corporate gathering. A refrigerator provided perfect "room service." Matt the owner was very accommodating. The grounds have nice walking trails and the goats, chickens, ducks, and donkeys are a joy. Finally, you are five minutes from downtown Brevard and 15 from Pisgah.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scmom2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Matt Mayes and his cabins are a gift!!! We drove to get out of the city for a night when our car broke down half way up the mountain. Matt picked us up and let us use his car for the night!!! What a place! We woke up in the morning and took a run on the properties trails that lead into a bamboo forest and your own personal mountain! We even saw a deer! Even when life threw us a curve, because of the hospitality we had an amazing time. Can't wait to go back and listen to some music.
Thanks so much! Colleen and Mike

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked a stay here because of trip advisor reviews. And they were right on target. The place is rustic, clean, endearing, quiet, friendly . . . . The grounds and trails are fascinating, the owners extremely friendly, helpful, attentive to your requests, and full of quirky stories about this cabin or that cabin, this feature or that. It's very quiet, very peaceful. Go outside after dark and just look up. If you're a city-dweller, you'll see the stars just pop out at you.

We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This will be our second time, once in the Wolf and once in the Bear cabin.
What a great place to relax, no kids, no pets, no worries.
You can fish, walk, run or meditate. I can't say enough about the place. We love it, honestly.
David and Pam

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went to Deerwoode in May and had a wonderful time! It was peaceful and very relaxing. We walked the trail on the property. The proximity to hiking in DuPont was perfect! Dinner in downtown was very quaint. My favorite part was the Saturday music. What an intimate and special event for guests. I highly recommend Deerwoode! We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Askoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you're looking for a beautiful property with plenty of space for a relaxing getaway - this is it. The cabins are rustic but very clean. The French Broad river flows along much of the border of the property and offers fishing and floating. I met Matt and Bill Mayes, the owner/operators. These guys are real characters and super nice folks who want all their guests to enjoy their stay. Check out all the information on their website. There is an interesting story here.
Great location very close to downtown Brevard, NC (but you'll think you're miles from nowhere) and all that it has to offer - not to mention Pisgah, DuPont State Forest, waterfalls, and the Blue Ridge Parkway attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the River Otter cabin - full kitchen, very roomy. Great views from a big deck. We'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Go see it! You won't regret this one. Spend some time on the property, see the wildlife, listen to the music, feed your soul. I love Barn Cabin, Otter Cabin and Riverside Cabin the most but all are clean and quant.

Room Tip: otter cottage is gorgeously renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyfisher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
1.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
360 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
89 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerwoode Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerwoode Lodge & Cabins

Address: 269 Riversedge Rd, Brevard, NC 28712-9854
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Deerwoode, 175 acres of green, sustainable, peaceful serenity and wildlife preserve along the banks of The French Broad River, one of the oldest rivers in the world. Once a summer camp built in 1923 and closed in 1991, Deerwoode has matured into a quiet retreat for adults only. Preserving the vintage, old hardwood structures, many unique old stone fireplaces, and all with lake, river and mountain views, makes Deerwoode a must stop when visiting WNC. Deerwoode is truly one of the most ecological and pretty places in North Carolina, and only two miles from downtown Brevard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing