We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST campground in NC!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Reviewed 18 September 2011

First of all, this campground is unbelievable. You will NOT find another campground in NC that gives you the seclusion of these campsites. We had a stellar tent site, which is a primitive campsite, and it was SPOTLESS, comfy and serene. When you add to that owners that are friendly, organized, knowledgeable and helpful, it is a dream come true for campers wanting a relaxing getaway.
Mark and Stephen are super organized, and CLEARLY experienced. It shows in every little detail being covered at this place. They start your visit off by checking you in with a campground map, customized for each person with arrows drawn on it directly to your site. They have wheelbarrows to use to move your gear, they have a dish-washing station and laundry room at the bath house. And the bath house?? SPOTLESS!! There are even room fresheners and a fan blowing to keep it fresh and clean. There are little friendly signs over every switch and faucet so you will know which switch operates what light, etc. There is even a cute little hook outside the bathrooms for your dog leash!! Trash and recycling instructions are clear and simple... I could go on and on!! When you drive down to the parking area for your campsite, Mark meets you and goes over everything with you so you will not have any problems finding anything, and answers any questions. He is FUNNY and friendly and we liked him right off the bat. He is available throughout the afternoon in case you need advice or have questions, but doesn't hover. You can barely see glimpses of the other tent sites through the trees, and the noise of other campers is VERY minimal. I mean virtually non-existent. There are wooded paths leading from the main path to your campsite, and then hiking trails all through the woods and around the campsite. We ran into other campers that had a lot of experience, and everyone was asking each other if they knew of any other campsites that gave this much privacy, and no one did. This is NOT a party campground, but if you are going for quiet relaxing time with each other and with nature, this is the only place to go!! Can't WAIT to get back!!!!

Room Tip: Stellar tent sites are secluded and quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
25  Thank LarisaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

WOW! Thanks for the great review. Our goal is for everyone to love Ash Grove as much as you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Ash Grove in the Stellar tent site named Kudzu. This is an excellent site that is quite secluded and really gives you the feel of being out in nature. The bath house and other facilities are in excellent condition and I enjoyed every second of my experience there. I will say that the Kudzu site is a bit "down the hill" from the bath house/facilities and thus one needs to be prepared to deal with that. Otherwise it was an excellent weekend retreat that will surely be repeated!

Room Tip: Be sure to book well in advance on holiday weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay! Our "No Extra Charge Fitness Program" is complimentary with every walk-to campsite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have been tent camping at Ash-Grove several times over the past few years and it never, ever disappoints!! Its always one of the highlights of my summer. The stellar sites are tucked away in the trees for a feeling of really camping in the woods, instead of a crowded campground with cars going by and your neighbors breathing down your neck. The owners have thought of every detail to make your stay pleasureable and stressfree, including wheelbarrows to haul your gear and a clean showerhouse!! They are kind, welcoming and full of information about the area. They take a great deal of pride in their property and making sure their guests enjoy their stay. Its a fabulous location - close to hiking, waterfalls, pottery shops, and Brevard NC. Im already looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOHike679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thanks for the review and for being a regular guest. It really lets us know that we are doing something right when people return again and again. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is the place to go if you want to experience nature at its finest. Peaceful, tranquil and perfectly situated in the mountains. My sis and I recently stayed at Ash Grove in one of the cabins for a long weekend. What a wonderful place to re-charge yourself. Even a light drizzly rain didn’t stop us from grilling out and enjoying the beautiful surroundings that this place has to offer. Our cabin was adorable and well equipped with all the essentials. The proprietors could not have been more helpful and accommodating to our needs. They made us feel at home the second we arrived. Giving us the highlights of the area helped us narrow down our list of things to do and places to see. We are already scheduling our next trip back to this serene and tranquil spot. Thank you for making this such a special trip for us.
Kathy and MaryAnn, Naples Fl.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

We look forward to seeing you and your sister again. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I'm given Ashe Grove 2 stars only because the bathrooms were clean. Overall my experience there was not a pleasant one from the start. The first red flag should have been the fact that after several calls and requests to return my calls (to reserve a site and ask questions about the campground) I merely received emails as the only form of communication. The location is nice but my biggest issue with the camp grounds were the less than welcoming demeanor of one of the owners. Upon arrival, camping instructions, rules and regulations were communicated by one of the owners with a tone of annoyance. Asking to have something repeated was met with irritation and it felt like we were being given instructions by a very strict 3rd grade teacher who you dared to cross paths with on the wrong day! Although the policy states strict adherence to the 10:00pm quiet rule, it apparently doesn't apply to all guest or at least the returning ones. After reading several positive reviews I am glad to hear that the campground has several loyal customers, I however was not one of them. My experience there left me knowing from the start that this would be my first and last stay at Ash Grove.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
12  Thank KindnessMatters12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

It is difficult to respond to this review, as we have no idea who wrote it and do not know to what they are referring. We have had no recent guests who listed a Washington DC area address. Neither of the owners has any recollection of being asked to repeat the camping instructions--given that the request elicited such a negative response from the reviewer, it seems as if we would remember the incident. We enforce our 10pm quiet time policy "what (noise) happens in your site, stays in your site", but we can't be everywhere at all times, so if we do not hear noise and no one notifies us that there is a problem, we cannot do anything about it. As to the complaint about responding by email, our Wi-Fi coverage at Ash Grove is much better than our cordless phones, so if someone has provided us with their email address,it is sometimes faster for us to respond to a potential guest's questions by email rather than by phone. We also send an email in addition to leaving a voicemail if they don't answer their phone. In the future, we will try to be more persistent in contacting guests by phone, if they request it.

With the information that we have, our best response to this reviewer is to say that we are sorry that their experience was not what they desired or expected. We would also suggest that in the future, if they have problems at any business, they notify management-- at the time the problem occurs--so that management may have the opportunity to try to make things right

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I just returned from our refreshing, relaxing stay at Ash Grove Campground. We stayed in a Stellar tent site, and it was absolutely perfect for us! We've only been camping a couple of times, but we plan to make it a tradition after this wonderful experience. Management was extremely helpful, and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We were also very impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the general maintenance of the campground. Our one regret is that we could only stay for two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you! We are glad that your positive experience at Ash Grove has encouraged you to go camping more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

we couldn't of been happier with ash grove! we stayed at campsite kuzu with another couple and it was a great time. the tent pads were level and cleared of all roots. a good thing since we had forgotten our air mattress! the sites are secluded, but close enough if you have friends or family staying at another site. kudzu is a double site but you're tents are not on top of each other. the bath house is the cleanist i've ever seen at a campground! we'll definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: make reservations ahead of time, watch their video online to pick out your site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volvogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. And thanks for the compliment on the clean bathhouse--it takes a lot of work to keep it that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
5.9 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
360 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
644 reviews
21.9 mi away
Cabins of Asheville
Cabins of Asheville
#1 of 5 in Candler
181 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Brevard
The Inn at Brevard
#4 of 5 in Brevard
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

Address: 749 E Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712-8803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Brevard
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Revives the Spirit. Revive yours at one of our fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom cabins; secluded walk-to tent sites or shady sites for small RVs. Located on 14 wooded mountaintop acres near Brevard, Dupont Forest, Pisgah Forest, Asheville, Biltmore, waterfalls, hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Resort Cabins And Camping
Ash Grove Resort Cabins & Camping Hotel Brevard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing