We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Quiet and Clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Rustic, Quiet and Clean”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping is set on a wooded mountaintop and there was a steep road to our site #4. However this presented no problem to us as we were driving a Class B and the site was quite level. Typical rustic mountain type campground and, although there were a few RV sites (don’t think they’d get an A-class in there !!), it was more suited to tent camping but there were several large, comfortable-looking cabins set amongst the trees. The bathroom block was adequate and clean but only one shower; however, as we seemed to be the only folks in the campground, no problem there. It was quite a steep walk down from our site. It was very quiet most of the time - some road traffic noise in the mornings and evenings but very quiet during the night. Although your cell phone is unlikely to work, there is a courtesy phone outside the office that is available for local calls at all times. We stayed here for two nights and spent one day hiking in the Du Pont State Forest which is close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad that you found us to be "rustic, quiet and clean" and we hope that you come back! We do have a couple of things we would like to clear up. First, we have a total of 4 showers, not 1 (two in the men's room and two in the women's room). And second, we can--and do--get up to a 32' class A or C into some of our RV sites (and up to a 28' pull behind trailer).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    8
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Based on the reviews from Trip Advisor, sight-unseen, my family of five (including three kids under age 11) stayed at the Kudzu campsite for five nights--upon arrival, the owner will give you lots of great advice about the campground, facilities, rules, etc., show you where the wheelbarrows are, wait for you to unpack your first load and then walk you to your site. Why? Because that's how the owners roll--they're wonderful. Plus, he will carry with him a bucket of water that must remain at your campsite during your stay--it's excellent because in the event your fire goes crazy, you're ready. He will also share with you that you have just entered a "rainforest" and "you will get wet". He advised, and we followed (thankfully) that we put up the tents first because the chances of rain in a rainforest are fairly high. :-) We did get rain off and on for the first two days, which was a bummer. Since your tent pad and site overall consists of woodchips (which are comfortable for walking and sleeping), they also retain moisture (mulch). Our brand new LLBean tent floor and extra LL Bean "waterproof" tent pad failed miserably to keep the water out...thankfully we had two cots and sleeping bag pads or else we would have been miserable (and would have vacated quickly). The only, only, only downside to this campground and our beautiful (and one of the most private) campsite--Kudzu--were the hills. You are on the side of a mountain and trust me, you WILL be tested for endurance to even get to/from the bathhouse--it was a major challenge for unfit folks like us. Even my very thin and active children were exhausted just getting up/down from the car parking lot (where you are asked to store your coolers and food each night and when away from your site). The bathhouse is attended to often each day and while there linger a few spiders and webs, it really was among the cleanest campground bath house we've used--warm/hot water and great water pressure too boot. We were also told that because it is so heavily wooded/shady/damp, many campers leave their clothes in their vehicles--since it's parked next to the showers/bathhouse and it will stay MUCH dryer in your vehicle than in your tent, we'll follow that advice next time! Honestly? We would not choose Kudzu again for the meer fact that it was quite a pitch and hefty climb and descent--rather miserable with your gear, two coolers...You will also hear some infrequent traffic from the road that passes the resort--nothing too loud, just noticeable at times (and since we hear it often at home, we'd hoped to really get away from it all). Bottom line, however, we will return but next time, we'll ask more questions and find a site that has a flat entry--or MUCH flatter than the one we had!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for being our guests! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return. We are in the mountains, so yes, there are hills! We did have a guest just check -out who was here for a week with a broken foot. She managed the hills to and from her campsite several times a day, so everyone has a different experience and perspective on the hills. We have videos on our website which give you a sense of the campsites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at this divine property a few weeks ago and can't wait to return. It was everything we hoped for and more - an unplugged week immersed in nature. We stayed in Dogwood Den, a charming cabin with hardwood floors, kitchen, fireplace and a large screened-in porch. We were surrounded by the gorgeous forest, where we hiked through several trails. We stayed for 7 days, only going on one excursion. We loved just being at Ash Grove, making wonderful friends, discovering creeks, waterfalls, mushrooms, chipmunks and wild berries that my son devoured.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting your family, who is so appreciative of Nature. And still have so much more to explore when you return. We're looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We tent camped here Sunday to Wednesday and had a great experience. We were very happy with the location of the campground the Dupont State Forest and Pisgah National Forest. We got in a lot of hiking and got to see beautiful waterfalls. The staff gave some great recommendations on local hikes and we also used their guidance for how to get around as our phones did not have service at the campground so we couldn't get GPS. It was nice to be a little disconnected though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for staying at Ash Grove. We are glad that you had a great vacation. Since Transylvania County has 250 waterfalls and over 600 miles of trails, we can recommend waterfalls and hikes for years to come--hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichols, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Greene Family from Nichols SC,Recommends this Resort. We met very nice people and experienced the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen at a campground. It is centrally located to all attractions. The Staff is awesome and very helpful. My son loved the mushroom hunt provided by the Campground Staff. The Sights and facilities are very well kept. This will be a vacation we remember for ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for being our guests. We hope that you come back and go on another nature walk--there is something wonderful to experience in all 4 seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I with our four active and noisy boys stayed in our popup camper for five nights in one of Ash Grove's RV sites at the top of a beautiful, steep hill on the property. The campground is thoughtfully and gracefully laid out. Campsites are well designed and well maintained. I could tell that great care and thought went into how each campsite was laid out - the location of electric and water, picnic table, fire ring, and (I suspect, I'm a tree guy) even the location and species of trees and other plants. As most other reviews have mentioned, the bathroom facilities are spotless. We loved the onsite nature trails, and the boys enjoyed the playground. My inlaws rented one of the cabins during our stay, and that was more of the same - comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The location is excellent, and was a great base of operations for trips to Brevard, Pisgah National Forest, and points beyond. The owners and proprietors Steven and Mark were kind and helpful. We will return, and we will recommend Ash Grove to our friends traveling to western NC.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loblolly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying at Ash Grove. First order of business: we found your boys to be well-behaved and respectful! When we planned Ash Grove, we wanted it to be a place where we would want to camp or stay in a cabin, so we put a lot of thought--and work--into making it so. We are glad that our hard work has paid off. Hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here last year in May (2012) with a 4 month old and a two year old. It was a great location and so nice to be able to camp but not tent camp this time around. Everything was very clean and great place to let our little one run around and 'hike'! Next trip however we'll get a two bedroom!

Room Tip: I thought being an open floor plan would be fine with our little ones but we had a bit of trouble wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Droptop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sldmsh, Owner at Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your visit to Ash Grove! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our Nature trails are a great place to introduce youngsters to hiking in the great outdoors. Both of the kids should enjoy the trails during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
5.9 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
18.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
15.5 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping

Property: Ash Grove Mountain Cabins & Camping
Address: 749 E Fork Rd, Brevard, NC 28712-8803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Revives the Spirit. Revive yours at one of our fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom cabins; secluded tent sites or shady RV sites. Located on 14 wooded mountaintop acres near Brevard, Asheville, waterfalls, hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Resort Cabins And Camping
Ash Grove Resort Cabins & Camping Hotel Brevard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing