We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest for the weary (traveller)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rest for the weary (traveller)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This classic 50s/60s-style motor inn is an excellent value. Though my girlfriend and I arrived at nearly midnight from the airport in Greenville, SC, it was a cinch getting settled in. The owner, Lori, had set aside our keys—along with a gracious note—allowing us to spare not a minute of sleep after an exhausting day that began in Brooklyn. We left the next morning, deposited the keys in the drop box, and were off to the Smoky Mountains. Our stay could not have been any smoother.

Given the price, I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the bathroom and the quality of sleep. The rate even included toiletries! We only stayed in Brevard long enough to appreciate its breakfast, but the motel is centrally located to downtown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boludo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    76
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
123
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great value for what you get compared to other like motels...I've been all over the east coast. The rooms are clean and has everything you might need for a 1 or 5 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I thought this hotel was great ! Really clean, really friendly, cheap, and close to town. Perfect for a small family looking for a weekend getaway ! We had twin queen beds in the room, which were nicely made, very clean and the carpet looked new + a TV, Microwave and little fridge. I forgot my bottle opener and the front desk was more than happy to find me one. We're staying for a week next time !

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side, but there looked like two doubles on the left side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great little motel with lovely new owners who have plans to turn it into the best little motel in the area. I fully expect this to happen. The rooms are already comfortable with nice new bedding and towles in place. The fabric of the buildings needs some updating but I understand this is in the pipeline. Price wise very good value. The bed was comfortable, the room a reasonable size and the owners were very helpful and friendly. The best bit about it is the short walk into the centre of town: about 10 minutes and perfectly safe. Brevard itself is lovely: a real gem in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and definitely worth spending a few days exploring.

Room Tip: Nothing in it between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at the Sunset while riding Pisgah and had a great stay. Super nice owner with great restaurant recommendations.... didn't have a bad meal our entire stay! Mountain bikers are welcomed at this place with a bike wash stand complete with rags and brushes... after the bath there are dry rags to dry your rig off... Tarps are provided so you may bring your bikes in the room. Hot Hot Showers are a big plus...Fridge, WIFI,microwave too. Very clean and Retro...Had a great stay.

Room Tip: If WIFI is important let the owner know, and she will get you a room closer to the router
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMizutani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We would stay again. Had a fridge and good hot showers.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daleandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Sunset Motel not expecting much, but were surprised by the clean room and
new large flat screen TV in the bedroom.
The hotel was booked, so we stayed above the office in the efficiency.
Our room had a coffee maker and also had wireless internet.
The bathroom was new and the kitchen-living room is being updated.
In the morning we walked down the block to the local bakery near the hotel.
This is a good bargain and will be a really nice hotel once all the renovations are finished.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room with a new TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing