We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“retro awesome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“retro awesome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is a Retro motel. It is definately old school. The room was very clean and size was fine for my wife and I. If we had some kids it might get a little closed in. But the people was nice and it was about a 1/4 mile from downtown. You could walk to downtown if you wanted to. The bathroom ad upgrade plumbing and fixtures. Nice size TV and had a small fridge and microwave. Plus a coffee maker. My wife and I drink coffee alot so it was a plus for us. The only down fall was no room on the desk to do anything because it was full of TV microwave and fridge. Think they should put TV on the wall and build shelves for the microwave and coffee maker. But hay in the old days they didn't have a microwave so it was OK. Wife said it looked like one of those motels you see in scary movies. I agreed but didn't feel scary at all. We enjoyed it and wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    76
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
123
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My daughter and I spent 5 nights here while she attended a day camp in Asheville. Sporting events require our family to spend at least two long weekends a month in hotels and normally we stay in a popular hotel chain, but these deluxe hotels can not compare to the stay we experienced at the Sunset Motel. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the conversations I had with each of them. Unlike larger hotels, they were genuine and truly enjoyed conversing with their guests. I witnessed this on several occasions. The room was spacious, well-equipped, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room temperature was easy to regulate. I loved being able to walk downtown. Overall,the Sunset Motel is a wonderful place reminiscent of days gone by when a motel provided that personal touch, Sadly this is something that been lost with the high rise hotel. I look forward to returning to the Sunset Motel in the near future. ( V. Bellamy, Myrtle Beach, SC)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valariebellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We booked fathers day weekend and liked the cleanliness and convenience of the hotel. Lauri and Glenda were friendly and even gave us charcoal when ours ran out. We enjoyed grilling fresh trout at the hotel. We also liked the convenience of being able to walk to downtown Brevard shops. Thanks for a nice, affordable and clean memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

What a find! This is great place to stay if you want a reasonably priced room in downtown Brevard! It is within walking distance to the cute downtown shops and eateries. We travel with our dogs and this is a nice area to take them out and walk them(there is a beautiful park right up the road). The owner is super helpful and attentive! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Keep in mind that there are only two hotels in this price range in Brevard. This is the only one with a touch of charm and just a few blocks from downtown. It's cute but it's not elegant. The rooms are clean and brightly decorated. The unit we stayed in had a microwave and a minifrig. The TV was new with several HBO channels and full cable. The downside is that the room and bath were small. My wife complained that the sheets were not of great quality. But I'm a man I only noticed that they were clean. She also complained that the carpet was damp in places. In short it's nice looking, I got a good night sleep but there are not any other extras than what I described. It is locally own and not part of a chain. I'd go back.

Room Tip: I think they are all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Memorial Day weekend during the White Squirrel Festival. Everyone was so helpful from the time we called to book the room until the day we checked out. It's well within walking distance to downtown Brevard. We stayed in the room above the manager's office. The room had a full kitchen with a fridge, stove, coffee maker, and a microwave. Also had some dishes and silverware. The wifi here is super easy to connect to from any device. The flat screen tv has every type of connection that you'd want to hook up to while you're there. There is already a cable tv box and dvd player in the room. Even though we had a queen bed, the room was still big enough for us to leave our things out. The bed room had a nice size closet. There was a much bigger closet in the hallway. The bathroom was a nice size. Everything was clean and there was always plenty of towels. There was no noise from traffic, other guests, or staff. The ladies were always eager to give directions or to tell you where to go. At the end of our stay, we didn't feel like random people checking out of some place we stayed for the weekend. We felt like our business was truly appreciated and they would all remember us when we come back. Overall, our stay was awesome. We'll definitely be staying here any time we are back in the area.

The best thing about this place is the full kitchen. We bought all of our own food, additional small appliances, and a cooler. Saving money on food allowed us to do so much more with our weekend. While the prices here may seem a bit high, it's nothing when you factor in how much you would normally spend on breakfast, lunch, and dinner for two or more people. Like I said, this is an excellent value!

Bottom Line:
If you have to spend money on a hotel, why not spend it on a hotel where you can take your own food and cook your own meals? Everything after that is a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My family and I stayed at this motel during our weekend together in Brevard. We loved it. Found this motel on-line and am so glad we picked this motel to stay in. It is close to all the shops and restauraunts of Brevard as well as PIsgah and Dupont. There was no noise from neighbors. The room and bathroom were very clean. The beds were so comfortable, no backache the next morning from not being in my bed. Loved the access to WiFi, as we all three had laptops with us. The staff was nice and accomodated our needs. The lobby was wonderful to look around in. I will definately recommend this motel to others and I will stay there when I return to Brevard as well. I loved the retro feel of the motel. The only suggestion I would have is to number the parking spots to match the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
17.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing