We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, inexpensive, and clean”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2013

If you want a place to sleep within walking distance of downtown Brevard, this is a great option. We enjoyed our two nights here. Our room (a Queen room) was a bit small, but we were not there to spend time in a motel room. We weren't interested in their breakfast, which consists of prepackaged pastries, cereal, oatmeal, and beverages. Though we went elsewhere for breakfast, I noticed that they don't print breakfast hours (or office hours) in the information brochure in the room. It would be useful to make this information more visible.

This place may not be a good option for those who are overly sensitive to light and sound. Light came in from the parking lot, the air conditioner was a little bit noisy, and in the morning, the sounds of people packing their cars may disturb you. I am not complaining about these things, but I know that some people are bothered by them.

The front desk people were friendly and helpful. They also have information in the lobby about area activities.

Anyway, we were pleased by the location and value, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessgino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

The staff at the Sunset Motel was personable, friendly, and flexible, accommodating my request to leave my bike in their care for a few hours and allowing me an extra hour before check-out when I needed that little extra time. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and equipped with all the basics. Thanks to Glenda for her good cheer right when I needed it. If you enjoy a small town, neighborly environment when you travel, you're sure to put the Sunset Motel at the top of your list.

H. L. Wilson

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

have stayed here many years. new owner is making a real effort . pricing now varies with demand
so value also varies . best to check rate ahead for your stay. some repairs and cosmetic improvements but much still needs to be done, which will require more investment. windows original and need replacing. Most a/c units old and loud. older rooms cramped. hair dryers and cleaning, by request only, which we were not told. rooms 16 &17 newer and much roomier .no breakfast . office hours limited. no phone. plumbing needs to be upgraded. ice machine was not working. spring in my box spring broken. STILL it is clean and feels safe. staff is friendly and helpful. you can drive up to your room. town is short walk away. it's literally the only motel from which you can easily walk to Brevard, which is a wonderful town.
so, given all it's challenges, I would stay there again. it is expensive to fix up these older
properties so perhaps different standards should apply. I'm glad it's still there as a lodging option in Brevard.

Room Tip: 16 and 17 are much larger and worth paying extra for even if closer to road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We are all confused as to why you gave us 4 out of 5 stars when you found so much wrong with the motel but I'd like to address the areas of concern you listed. Yes, the windows are original. We have no plans on replacing them but are slowly restoring them and replacing broken parts. Rooms 16 & 17 have big new plate glass windows that don’t open however. 80% of the Amana PTAC units are new (including the one in your room) and are the same used by many big chains. All the rooms are old (50's) including the one you stayed in. 65% of rooms have new beds, 100% have new linens and decor. 90% have completely renovated bathrooms & new fixtures. They all also have free Wifi, brand new flat-screen Tv's, fridges & microwaves.
In order to keep our rates 40-60% lower than the chains in season, we provide in-room coffee service but breakfast only on Saturdays in season. We do provide blow dryers & irons upon request by calling the front desk. All rooms do have phones. You are correct that we provide cleaning upon request only. We've found that about 95% of our guests would prefer we don't come in their rooms. We state that in three places, when we check you in, on a sign at the front desk and in your guestroom brochure. I'm sorry that message wasn't made clear to you when I checked you in.
The ice machine was down for 4 days for which we apologize. We provided ice in a cooler in front of the machine, but I guess we didn't make you aware of that either.
Not quite sure how you determined a spring in the box spring below your mattress "sprung" but we apologize that that happened to you too.
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The motel has been updated to modern comforts. Each room's decor is different and I really enjoyed the decor in my room. Lori is very interested in making sure your stay is perfect. It's refreshing to be able to meet the owner instead of just hired help. My room was about the same size as Drury Inn and the refrigerator was the same size. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you very much. We hope you come back to see us again!
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The purpose of this review is not to comment on the facilities, or to compare an old fashioned motel with bigger and newer francise units.
This is about hospitality. Helpfulness. Feeling good . And the relationship between innkeeper and guests.
Lori, the owner, is open, friendly, and very helpful to the guests. She has a clear business plan and pays attention to details. The confort and happiness of her guests is the top,priority of the Sunset Motel.
Glenda, the manager, is anxious to please the guests. She helps create a family atmosphere during your stay.
Keep it up.

Miguel

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Miguel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Sunset Motel is amazing -- one-of-a-kind. This is no ordinary motel. Its owner Lori has lovingly restored the rooms with a 50s theme. Lori and her staff are always looking to go the extra mile to take care on their guests and help them enjoy the beautiful area around Brevard. We spent nearly a week at the Sunset Motel, mountain biking. We could not have asked for a better place to base our activities. Lori has made a real effort to meet the needs of mountain bikers with an outstanding facility for washing down bikes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at this motel. Decent value for the price. Clean, but very small rooms! Very small fridge.
The motel has been updated but i wouldn't say it is completely retro. A few "retro" effects in our room but it was not as well redone as i expected.
The price is the best reason to stay here. If you plan on being out most of the day and just need a place to sleep then the rooms are big enough but if you like to lounge around in your room don't get the single queen room. (not sure if the other rooms are bigger but it wouldn't hurt to ask).
The only real issue we had was with the hot water during a shower. It kept getting hot/cold. (hot to the point that it was very uncomfortable to stand in). We spoke to the people next door to us and they experienced the same thing. Also, parking spaces are very tight. small cars are fine but bigger ones will be tight.
We probably would stay here again if we went back to Brevard, just in a bigger room.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
641 reviews
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
253 reviews
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
76 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, at the intersection of Hwy 64, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to Brevard's picturesque downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 5 with kitchens/kitchenettes. Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! (Designated pet rooms available and we are 100% smoke free inside and out.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing