We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeezing 2013 amenities into a 1950 room”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Squeezing 2013 amenities into a 1950 room”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

You can receive MBA marketing credits for staying here. Owner, Lori, is tops at what she has achieved but a 12 X 12 room can't quite deliver the goods, at least when a platform queen bed is immovable 6 inches from the fan coil unit blasting away. Nice updates on the bathroom, flat screen TV (all within 4 ft - like Japan in the Great Smokies) and imaginative re-use of the old TV armoire to accommodate microwave, mini fridge etc. Nice '50s chairs out front - easy to get acquainted with other guests. Property is on the main drag for Brevard, and Lori is well informed visitor guide for restaurants, etc. Office is closed well into the a.m. - it couild be a nice coffee bar.

Room Tip: As your mom did back in the 1950s - ask to see the room first and think carefully if you are more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you so much for your entertaining review!! I enjoyed the read.
Yes, as you pointed out, we have a few single queen rooms that are only 130 sq ft (+ bathroom).
These are our most affordable rooms for singles/couples who are really on a budget. Maybe I should install floor to ceiling mirrors to visually enlarge the room and give the guest a "fun house" experience. (I would have to stock nausea meds however...)

Next time you come back, try to reserve earlier so that you can rent our 900 sf cabin or one of our 400sf deluxe doubles, even the standard doubles are double the size.

Hope to see you again! Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    85
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
78
139
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

After my wife and stayed we decided this was the cleanest motel room we have ever stayed in. It was fantastic and great location to view many many waterfalls in the area. Lori has done a top notch job and we would highly recommend this motel to everyone...don't waste your money on the Holiday Inn....go to the Sun Set and take in all the ambience she has restored for a night back to the 50's. Nothing but KUDOS from us!!!! The highest star rating that can be given.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAWRENCEVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a room in the back and it was very quiet. We were there for 2 nights to attend a performance at the Brevard music center. We had a full kitchen. Very clean accomodations. Nothing fancy. Well worth the money. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were pleasantly surprised to have a full kitchen. We had a room in the back that was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Sunset Motel is a nice, small traditional motel that has been renovated to have a 1950s look. I really liked its retro style. It's in a nice neighborhood. However, the walls are thinner than some of the newer motels, so be prepared to learn of your neighbors likes, dislikes and views of current events by the end of your stay, if you are lucky enough to have neighbors with loud voices. However, it didn't really affect the quality of sleep as the typical clientele went to bed at a decent hour. The air conditioner sound also masks the outside noises.

The room we stayed in was nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. There was a non-1950s flat screen TV, which was great as I didn't want to be looking at Howdy Doody on a 1950s Crosley. I believe the channel selection was excellent, and featured several HBO channels. Wi-Fi worked consistently well.

We stayed there two days. The room was not made up the first morning, which was interesting, but we didn't complain. I think it was just an oversight, or perhaps hotel policy. If we needed anything the staff was very friendly and obliging. One young man went above and beyond the call of duty to help us get closed-captioning on our TV. I believe it was Jourdane Landry, but I apologize if I got the name wrong.

If you're looking for something out of the ordinary, try the Sunset Motel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from other travelers, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We enjoyed your comment about Howdy Doody! Funny Thank you for commenting that Jourdane went above and beyond. He is a great staff member and is much appreciated around here!

You mentioned a lack of maid service in your review which I'd like to explain. At check-in, you are supposed to be told that housekeeping was available upon request only but that if just needed new towels or trash emptied to put both outside your door and that any supplies you needed were also available by request at the front desk. (There is also a sign at check-in and it's in your guest brochure). I apologize that your needs went unmet!

We really hope you will come back and see us.
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a great place to stay. I've told so many people about it already. I got to Brevard too late to set up camp and I was lucky enough that Lori had one room available and she allowed my little travel companion to stay. Terrific customer service and adorable restoration. As a vinyl fanatic, I adored the main office area covered in vinyl records and the retro decor.
The room was comfortable, cozy, and most importantly clean. I almost felt at home with all the little touches, such as the table in the bathroom for toiletries, the comfy rug, and the fridge, and coffee maker were great in the morning. I read the little books on tips and suggestions for my visit in Brevard. I'm so glad I stopped.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

4-1/2stars, if there was that option! Fun change from standard hotels. A lot of love went into refurbishing this small old school motel. Clean rooms, nice bed, bathrooms are re-done. Small bedrooms, as expected for a small motel. Overall, a place you will want to tell your friends that they should go if they are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Lori was the perfect host for our quick stay in Brevard. Room was definitely renovated and the whole place was really like stepping back into the 50s. The beds were comfy, AC stayed consistent and other than needing a little more water pressure everything was exactly as expected. There were snacks in the office, a vending machine and ice machine and plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Highly recommended!

Little movie trivia for ya, apparently Robert Mitchum stayed there when filming Thunder Road!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
596 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
10.2 mi away
Etowah Valley Golf & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing