We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat as a pin”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat as a pin”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nostalgic. I like the decor and the rooms are very well kept. Owner and staff are very friendly. I slept better than I usually do away from home. Our room had a fridge, micro, and coffee pot. We love the Brevard area and will stay at the Sunset again should we travel back this way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    81
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
134
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April for 2 nights while on a family vacation; I would come back and stay for a week! We rented the "cottage", it was perfect for us: a full kitchen so we didn't have to go out for every meal, washer and dryer, a great deck with a grill, it was like a little house, perfect for us and our 4 year old. Plus, it was centrally located and a short driving distance to both Pisgah and DuPont. The cottage was very clean, the decor slightly dated, but it is supposed to look retro. Overall, I loved staying here and thought it was an amazing deal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank xurn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Your review is much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and found our cottage to be "an amazing deal". As for the decor, the cottage is still a work in progress you might be happy to hear for your next visit. I spend a great deal of time shopping for vintage furniture and finally hired someone able to "retrovate" the pieces I've found without breaking the bank! All of our rooms/apartments are also constantly being updated and decor is a revolving door since each room is completely unique. We just added new carpet to all of our rooms this month. Thank you for using our big new grill! Not many people bother to even take the cover off and I was starting to wonder if I'd made the right decision by putting it out there. You have alleviated my "buyer's remorse" issue. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My husband, teenage son and I stayed at the Sunset for three nights in their cottage!
Great spot, lots of room, very clean and extremely quiet.
We had a lots of room to spread out, the kitchen was great to make dinner and breakfast. The boys had a great time fishing and I had tons of room to sew in. I had my very own quilting retreat while they were out. Will go there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DIXIEDEE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our cottage. Many people don't realize we have this gem on the back acre of the property. Like you, many enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and appreciate the pretty setting within walking distance to downtown. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Brevard! Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My hubs and I stayed there last night and loved it. Like the reviewer before me said, it was perfect for the price. Everything had a personal touch, and our room was super cute. The sheets and blankets were soft too, which is a nice change from regular hotels. We met Lori the owner yesterday and she was extremely accommodating and friendly. We also love that they attempt to be green in every way possible… Only complaint were the thin walls and noisy neighbors, but we just turned the fan in the AC unit on, and that pretty much drowned them out… plus, that's no different from every other hotel/motel. Overall, we will definitely be back and would recommend this to anyone who is willing to sacrifice some amenities for charm, character and a personal touch.

Green Features: Excellent! Happy to see that they recycle (not happy to see that they've obviously had some issues with guests not helping in these efforts) and the green certification in their lobby.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtns2beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about The Sunset Motel. It is always a great pleasure to hear about new customers like yourself discovering us. We are committed to providing a unique experience that you will enjoy and hopefully keep you coming back. We look forward to serving you again. Gratefully, The Sunset Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We just stayed here for two nights. My husband and I were in town to bike at pisgah. The 2nd day I mentioned that the wifi did not reach the room we were in and they quickly wanted to move us. The rooms were cute and very clean. The water pressure was awesome. So def fixed from earlier reviews. They are still doing some remodeling but did not affect us. The only thing I would change is a king bed for two since we r use to that at home. They do have that option.

Room Tip: If you like a lot of space rent bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Your review is much appreciated. Any time a person takes time out of their day to say something nice, it makes all of our hard work worthwhile. We try very hard and we hope it shows! Thanks,Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed while on a visit to the college. Was difficult to book online, so I called and left a message, she called me back immediately. Told her my son and I were visiting, and she hooked us up in a bigger room. so mom had a little space. Room was clean and very comfy, stayed two nights, and had no issues, wifi worked fine.
clean comfortable and inexpensive, what else do you need in a hotel?

Room Tip: Talk to the owner, tell her your circumstances, and let her hook you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenoshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit and subsequent praise. Feedback from guests like you is not only invaluable to those using lodging like ours, but is also important to us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and feedback with us. We just installed a new sophisticated reservation again that should eliminate most all online booking issues.Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The room was clean and all the necessary amenities. The folks on the phone and at the front desk were very friendly! It id really close to the Pisgah National Forest with all its beautiful waterfalls, hiking, and biking. just a few blocks from downtown brevard, and the Oskar Blues Brewery is only a 10 min or less ride away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieamazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again! Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
578 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
10.2 mi away
Etowah Valley Golf & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing