We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Convenient!”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Arrived for the weekend and we enjoyed a wonderful sweet stay! I thought I had made an online reservation, when in fact I had not! However, owner was quite nice and gave us a wonderful room for both nights! We will definitely go back! It's close to downtown, we walked alot, and is also convenient to Dupont Forest!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Wow! 5 stars on all fronts with you! Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm with the online community. We are eternally grateful when guests take the time to write reviews like yours.
Please come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This little boutique motel has been renovated and retrofitted to its original 1950s-era glory, with some 21st-century conveniences included. The rooms come in a variety of sizes, and we rented one of the larger ones with two beds. Ours had pink tile on the bathroom walls and tiny black and white tiles on the floor (room 14). The bathroom has a tiny little window in the tub area, which I left open while showering. I was treated to a couple of bluebirds flying back and forth to the large tree just outside the window, which was fun to watch while showering. The showerhead was wonderful, by the way. The room and the bathroom was immaculate. The room came with a flat-screen t.v., a mini-fridge, a microwave, a coffee-maker, and a blow dryer. The a.c. worked very well.

Lori, our hostess, was a delight; she was responsive, prompt, and helpful with our requests. For example, in an effort to conserve water, maid service is not automatic, but if one desires it, just let Lori know and it will be done. If one just needs the towels refreshing or more coffee for the next morning, she will see to it. Her "can-do" attitude was a welcome change from some of the customer service received at the more expensive motels and hotels we've stayed in.

If you're looking for all of the bells and whistles, such as a hot breakfast, a swimming pool, or workout facilities, you need to look elsewhere. If you're looking for a clean room with the amenities mentioned above, if you like unique little motels with an innate charm and a personality all of their own, if you like owners who care for their property and for their guests' comfort, then the Sunset Motel is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OldHandatThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are grateful for your kind words about The Sunset Motel. It is always a great pleasure to hear about new customers like yourself discovering us. We are committed to providing unique quality and flavors that you will enjoy and hopefully keep you coming back. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This quaint lil' motel was like a picture out of a family memory book! It was like we stepped back in time. For me it was like the first beach motel I stayed at in Florida in the 50's! Wow!
From the moment we walked into the front office and Courtney greeted us with a warm smile until the last minute and we knew it was time to go. . . Staying at the Sunset Motel was Fun!
If you are tired of those big, fancy hotels along that fast interstate and want to really experience the joy of traveling like it used to be, treat yourself to this quiet, clean and cozy motel! It is close enough to downtown Brevard to enjoy the best restaurants, gallery browsing and shopping. . . all within minutes. Brevard is also close to Hendersonville where there are many shops and galleries to enjoy.
Check out Sunset Motel and tell Courtney "Bea from Tennessee recommended Sunset Motel."

Room Tip: Corner Room # 11 was nice for sitting outside and feeling like you were not in the middle of things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floyd605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I drive all over the US and Canada, and check into a half-dozen motels every week we're on the road. We prefer to stay in retro, court-layout motels that feature parking at the door of your room. The Sunset Motel takes retro a happy step further with 1950s-themed rooms that harmonize with the architecture. This place is a little gem, owned and managed by folks who really care about their clientele, as well as the place itself. We're pretty fussy people, but our room more than satisfied our need for clean, and we stayed two nights. The wall-mounted heating/cooling unit was new and was much quieter than is typical in such places. We're planning a return to Brevard in a couple of months, and will surely stay at the Sunset again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two larger rooms in the end unit across from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I were on a road trip and wanted to stay in a real, old fashioned motel. We were so happy to find the Sunset. The office was full of cool decorations, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the owner was a really nice person, who made us feel like old friends. The whole place had an (intentional) retro feel, but was very updated where it counts. The rooms were really nicely done, with a couch in front of the TV and beautiful bedding. I would return without a doubt. Really nice night at the Sunset!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinsRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you, Thank you and Thank you! First, for staying with us and second for describing our business in the wonderful fashion that you did. Please know that we are most appreciative of your desire to share your experience with the online review community. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We prefer to stay a little motels when we travel. We enjoy the experience and the family-run business. It was our second stay at the Sunset Motel. We enjoyed the updates that have been made since our last stay. Staff is very friendly. Location to the downtown Brevard area is great. We don’t mind the talking outside or the parking lot. It is part of the fun of staying in great motels like this one!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I'm guessing maybe we had a room that had not been re-done? It's the only thing I can figure after reading the other reviews of this place. We checked in and went to our room to rest before heading back out. My husband sat on the edge of the bed and immediately began itching. The room itself is old, outdated and bears nothing of any sort of resemblance of any picture I saw of this motel. The gap in the bottom of the door was large enough to let a small animal through. We discussed just sucking it up and staying since the room was non refundable, but could not bear to spend the night, so we dropped our key and left.

I should note that about the time we got back home, I received an email from the motel asking if there was a problem and if that was why we left. I thought, "Okay, they at least care." I only went into the itching with her, and expected I would hear something in response to my email. It has been more than 24 hours, and nothing. I guess they really didn't care after all.

DO NOT waste your money on this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winterrose79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I truly hate it when anyone is unhappy when they stay with us. I spoke to this guest prior to finding this review and gave them a full refund. I tried to call and sent them an email as soon as I realized that they left almost immediately after they checked in. After inspecting the room and finding no insects of any sort, we called and interviewed the guests that stayed in that room the night before they came and the day they left, we asked(a) if they experienced any itching and (b) what they thought of the room. Neither of them experienced any itching and both of them were satisfied with their stay so I'm not sure what we can do further in this situation. We realize that not everyone can appreciate a motel built in 1957 with its quirks and everyone has different tastes but it is our mission to provide the best service, value & experience possible. I will be posting photos of this room on the Sunset Motel's Facebook page later today if anyone is interested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
652 reviews
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
77 reviews
18.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, at the intersection of Hwy 64, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to Brevard's picturesque downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 5 with kitchens/kitchenettes. Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! (Designated pet rooms available and we are 100% smoke free inside and out.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing