We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit here; still lovin' it but ya gotta spell out whatcha want”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Every room is different. Some are quieter, some are noisier, some have better wifi. Each is decorated special. Last time we were in the wonderful cabin. This time we were in one of the rooms on the backside, perfect as we wanted to be away from traffic noise. The backside rooms are sheltered from the rumble of cars. I think we were in #19. Room was cute and very very clean. Kitchen is tiny but.. hello... this is retro 50s... what did you expect? Owner somehow managed to wedge a tiny fridge and microwave in there plus table and chairs. Bedroom wall covered in cute little mirrors and other wall had a gorgeous pull-out 3-panel screen.

My ancient laptop wouldn't talk to her wifi. There's a McD's 5 minutes away that did fine. We're in the gorgeous mountains on a weekend. Email can just wait. I enjoyed being logged out, really.

We will request this room or the cabin next time and we will definitely be back. Owner Lori very receptive and accommodating of requests and takes notes if you spot potential grumbles. I wish more people in hospitality were as hospitable. We still think she's awesome for rescuing this place.

Room Tip: If you can't sleep through some traffic noise, ask for a secluded room on the back side or find...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JN1901A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Wow! Thanks for a great review! We are pleased that you appreciate our originality. We are always on the look-out for fun kitschy decor to put in rooms so they are ever-changing. We are glad you enjoy our cottage. It is one of our most requested options. We hope to see you again! Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, cute decor and quiet neighborhood surroundings made our 3-day stay just perfect! A real nice respite from the typical chain hotel/motel scene. Definitely recommend staying here if you're visiting any of the surrounding parks and the Blue Ridge Parkway!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Yes, we were hesitant when we saw the outside, but it's just as advertised on the website. It's from the '50s and it looks that way inside and out. We liked it so much we stayed two nights. A king bed with couch and retro decorations fit our bill just fine. It is close to downtown, and while it's on the main street, it wasn't too noisy at all. The cleaning staff and owner are terrific. There's even a picnic table behind the building where it's cool and shaded. Each room seems to have its own decor and theme, so choose one that makes you dance!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SandAngel13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

I hope I can borrow that quote "choose a room that makes you dance". That is awesome. Thank you for your kind review and we are thrilled you gave us a chance and we passed! Please come back again. Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Sunset Motel is cheap, very clean and a blast from the past. The bed was super comfortable and there were NO bugs. I check! It might look like a seedy old roadside place but up close and inside, everything has been redone with new bathroom fixtures, new appliances, new linens, carpet. The furniture is like something from your old aunt's garage sale but it looks nice. Each room is decorated a little differently, like you do at home. At the end of the day, all I care about is a clean bathroom and comfortable bed. So happy to have found this place! And the price is right

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My only regret was that we could only stay one night! We really felt at home and both our little girls loved the motel. You did a great job remodeling and it really feels like we went back in time. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank sainthegap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your comments! We try hard to make a stay at The Sunset an experience, not just a place to sleep for the night and we are pleased that you like what we have created and hope you can come back for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I had hoped that my husband and I would really enjoy this place when I found it online and saw the pictures. Unfortunately those hopes were pretty much dashed from the moment we arrived. Check in-time is 3:00pm, but our room wasn't ready until almost 3:45pm. All we got was an "oh sorry". After a long day of driving we weren't happy about that. We had to sit in the car in the heat until the maid was finished.

To get to our room (#19) you have to drive down an alleyway and there are only 2 rooms back there (and the large cabin). We felt very cut off from everything...you couldn't get to the front of the hotel to get ice or drinks without walking up the alleyway. Our room was much smaller than we expected. The kitchen table only had two chairs and was teeny-tiny so there was really no where to sit unless you wanted to sit on the end of the bed. The room did have a desk and chair but the chair was not very sturdy.

There was a huge hairball on my side of the bed on the floor that I found as soon as we walked in. Yuck. The bed had a pretty comforter on it and the room was decorated nicely but it smelled old and musty. The appliances are VERY old, but they worked. Not sure how the dishes get cleaned, except by hand maybe, and that can't be very sanitary with so many people staying in the rooms.

Every night when we got in bed I felt like I was being bitten by tiny bugs. We couldn't see anything in the bed (believe me, we looked!) but I didn't sleep well at all because my legs and ankles were itching constantly.

When you go to their website it states that the Wi-Fi is "spotty" in the rooms. But when we got there, we were told by the person in the office that it was pretty much non-existent. So I was having to walk up to the front of the motel whenever I wanted to do an online search for places we wanted to visit. They do have a little table and chairs in the front of the motel that we sat at to do some online searches but the table and chairs are in the grass and we got ate up by bugs there too. This was very irritating also.

We were supposed to be staying from Thursday through Sunday but by Saturday I had had enough and we left a day early. I didn't say anything to the people in the office because every time I went up there they were on the phone, which wasn't their fault, I was just impatient - plus I was really trying to give this place the benefit of the doubt.

Our stay was in June and I've been debating until now as to whether I should write this review, but I think others should know how we felt. If you want to stay there, then maybe the rooms up in the front of the motel are nicer and more up-to-date. We were really sad that the motel didn't work out for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We thank everyone who writes a review. We also think it necessary to address issues brought up in the review if they are negative. I'm really sorry you were so disappointed from the moment you checked in. I can't understand why you chose not to say anything to us and just stay unhappy for 48 hours, especially if you thought you were being bitten by bugs in your bed and you found a hairball. We offer a satisfaction guarantee and, if we couldn't move you to a room that better suited your needs, we would have refunded your money and found you another place to stay. Since the time you stayed in that room, the A/C has been replaced with a modern unit so I'm sorry that it was not up to par when you were with us. To anyone reading this, please tell us if you are unhappy at my motel. We will do whatever we can to fix the problem or refund your money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were very happy to find Sunset Motel on Yelp, within our price range, and just sideways enough to appeal to us. It's a throwback to the 1950s family vacations of our youth updated with modern conveniences. Owner Lori was very welcoming when we checked in mid-afternoon. We enjoyed a refreshment on the front lawn with the pink flamingos (could've done the same in the backyard under the hemlocks), then walked 5 blks to downtown Brevard to inquire about music possibilities that night. On the return walk stopped at the Blue Ridge Bakery. That evening we had dinner at the Cardinal Drive-In on our way back downtown to enjoy Old Time music at the music store 3 doors from the White Squirrel. Bought a growler at Brevard Brewing Co. on the way back to Sunset Motel. Great respite and highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lynette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorileigh63, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Wow what a great review! Sound to me like you took advantage of all Brevard has to offer. Thank you for saying such complimentary things. We appreciate you and hope to see you if you wander this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
641 reviews
17.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
253 reviews
18.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
76 reviews
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, at the intersection of Hwy 64, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range: £58 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to Brevard's picturesque downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 5 with kitchens/kitchenettes. Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! (Designated pet rooms available and we are 100% smoke free inside and out.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing