We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brevard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red House Inn Brevard
Ranked #1 of 5 Brevard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to the Red House Inn for years and are NEVER disappointed. We have stayed in various rooms in the main house, in the Cottage, and, this past week, in the Franklin St. house. It would be difficult to pick a favorite. All are comfortable and inviting. Tracie and Daniel have thought of everything to make their guests welcome and pampered. Their proximity to downtown, Pisgah NF, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and Asheville is ideal. We take miles long walks in the evening. The ambience of the area and the smell and sight of spring blossoms this time of year is a delightful. Daniel's breakfasts are always a treat, done to perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peachykeen889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhoue, Owner at The Red House Inn Brevard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

It is always nice to see repeat guests, and catch up. Our central location in one of the prettiest parts of N.C. does make the Red House an ideal location from which to explore. It also helps that Brevard is a fun town with plenty to keep you occupied after you have exhausted yourselves in the woods. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Bungalow accommodation offered by The a Red House Inn is about 1/2 mile from the Inn and in a rather dilapidated area, the overlook of the house is a run-down neighborhood with yapping dogs quite abundant. No scenic view here. No fenced yard either, only a deck with a railng.
The house itself is fine. The problem here is the dilapidated environment, too far for walking into town, no sidewalks and plenty of traffic, and a hefty price. Not what we hoped for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CarolinaIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhoue, Owner at The Red House Inn Brevard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

First let me say I am sorry you were not entirely happy with the Bungalow. If you had let us know during your stay we would have been happy to relocate you to one of our other properties that have fenced yards or are in different areas of town.

The Bungalow is about 3/10 of a mile from the inn and about 1/2 a mile from the closest restaurant downtown. It is not located in a sub division or a gated community, but the older mixed neighborhood is typical of what was once a Southern mill town and is now a redeveloping tourist destination. We feel that the area is quiet, safe and convenient place to stay while exploring Brevard and Transylvania County. This being said we understand that different people have different expectations, which is why we try to provide as much information as possible on the website, with numerous photographs showing the outside view of the house and the large deck/entertaining area that is ideal for a family dinner.

While it is true that there are no sidewalks on Probart Street, and we can understand a reluctance to walk to town this again is a personal preference. We have many guests who are comfortable walking or riding their bikes, and in the summer time large groups of Brevard Music Center students walk into town this way to shop and do laundry.

Tracie and I do appreciate that you gave us 5 stars for cleanliness. We work hard along with our cleaners and the property owners to provide a house that is clean, comfortable and well-maintained. We feel the Bungalow offers great value for money when compared to other accommodation options.

Again, I am sorry the area was not to your liking and wish we had had the opportunity to discuss this at the time of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having traveled to Brevard every year for the past 25 this trip took an unexpected turn. Normally, while visiting the parents, I have stayed in their cottage. However now that it is occupied I needed a similar arraignment and the Red House's cottage came through with flying colors. As I'm sure you've already read the room is attached to the garage. It has a designated parking spot and well off the street. I found the interior very clean (perhaps a little musty but that's a sign of age) and very well kept. There is a window a/c unit that does a fine job for the space. Stall shower is modern as is the bathroom as a whole. Clean towels daily, quality bath products, hair dryer are just a few of the niceties. The small 'fridge worked great. There is a porch out back that really doesn't look out onto anything spectacular but is a nice place to sit in the evening. The queen bed is very very soft but that's to my liking. There is an additional pillow in the armoire and this piece of furniture must hold all your clothing so don't plan on bringing several suitcases of stuff. Sadly I can't comment on breakfast as the purpose of the trip was to visit parents and that included taking them out for meals. Although my recommendation may not mean a whole lot I can tell you that I would gladly stay at the Red House again. You'd be hard pressed to do better in Brevard.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank geshaw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were incredibly impressed with our stay at the Red House Inn. The history of the building is incredible, over 150 years old and yet the rooms and spaces are all very large. Tracie and Daniel were friendly and full of knowledge, but never intrusive. The breakfasts were really amazing with excellent ingredients, Daniels waffles were unbelieveable - and I dont really like waffles!

We stayed in the Taylor Epworth Suite, the Main BR was huge with a king sized bed, the "smaller" room has a couch that converted to a Queen bed that was already made up for us and was a perfect setup for our teen-aged girls. Both rooms open onto the massive front porch with multiple sitting areas, The bathroom has a huge shower with dual shower heads.

There are lots of great spots downtown within easy walking distance including Hob Nob where we had an excellent Sunday Brunch,

Room Tip: Ask the hosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvandoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our stay at the Red House Inn was great with wonderful hospitality from Tracie and her staff. We selected The Cottage and it was perfect for our weekend stay. Being within walking distance of the restaurants and shops in Brevard was a real plus!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Farm fresh eggs, breakfast potatoes, gluten free bread and hot coffee. Such a sweet family lives here in this old creaking house with the large windows and arid porches. I can walk a hundred yards and be on the skirt of main street, peering in the picture windows or walking in to shop for a thing or two. A few amazing restaurants within walking distance, a chocolatier and toy store worth celebrating, the music center is a sloping one mile walk away - the perfect distance for a little exercise. Tracie and Daniel are perfect hosts who know their terrain well - from how to make a good cup of coffee to mapping out a morning of waterfall hikes. I'm here for the fresh air, tree hugging and meandering a wooded landscape but have found new friends in this old red house. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the red house inn, w only 6 hours notice. We were celebrating our anniversary.Tracie hooked us up on the king bed down stairs, the Probart room. Tracie gave us a map, with some info about food and shops in brevard. She was around , but we didnt see her again till breakfast. Not intrusive at all, we rarely heard or saw anyone else. There was a cozy fire and lite music, in living room. The highlight for me was the claw foot tub, with nice, hot water (and the chocolates Tracie left on dresser for anniversary gift), the highlight for my husband was the delicious waffles w fruit and bacon that Daniel fixed in the am. We highly recommend, and hope to return again.The location is @ 2 blocks from downtown shops and restaurants, great!

Room Tip: The Probart room has a king bed, shower and claw foot tub, the only bedroom downstairs, great for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
0.7 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
788 reviews
9.8 mi away
Etowah Valley Golf & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House Inn Brevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Inn Brevard

Address: 266 W Probart St, Brevard, NC 28712-3616
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brevard
Price Range: £64 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Red House Inn provides comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation in downtown Brevard, NC. The Inn is a short walk from many shopping and dining opportunities and within easy driving distance to Brevard Music Center, Pisgah National Forest and Dupont State forest. It is ideally situated for exploring the North Carolina mountains, visiting waterfalls, hiking, mountain biking and fishing. Amenities include wireless internet, satellite TV and off-street parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing