We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private-quiet-clean-8 thumbs up”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falling Waters Adventure Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private-quiet-clean-8 thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked the Yurt on line and paid on-line. When we arrived we gave our name and the key was waiting for us no gliches at all. I was hoping that the web site picture of the Yurts were reasonably accurate and to my surprise the pictures were a perfect representation of the condition of the Yurt. My two grandchildren were happy with the accomendations and especially with the fire pit. The idea of camping is maintained but the Yurt provides comfortable sleeping conditions and the other amenities were all we needed. I would certainly go back because this was a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walwhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at one of the yurts at falling waters in late June in conjunction with a rafting and ziplining offered by the same parent company. We stayed in the Garden Yurt right along the lake. It was really cooking in the yurt when we arrived since this yurt is in the direct sun but when we rolled up the screen covers, opened the top, and turned on the fans the yurt cooled off very quickly and was quite comfortable.
It is very peaceful in the "yurt village" except for the soft buzzing of zipliners flying around in the nearby trees. We brought our own food and enjoyed the outdoors. There was an outdoor grate charcoal grill and fire pit available. The refrigerators in the yurts were decently sized and held enough for us. We felt like we got a great value in the yurts and are now looking to stay in yurts in other locations in the future.

Room Tip: The Gorge Yurt has the absolute best view, without question!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikerkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We arrived in the evening and first had a difficult time locating where we should pick up our key (the directions were not clear). We tried to contact the resort, but as it was after hours we spoke to an answering service. The lady kept telling me I was in South Carolina, although I was clearly in Bryson City, North Carolina. She was absolutely no help - and we never received a call the next day from the resort.

Upon arrival at our Yurt, we were surrounded by a swarm of borer bees which had taken up residence in the awning. After about half an hour of spraying, beating with a broom, and stomping we had, unfortunately, killed the bees. We ended stuffing tin foil in the holes where they had come from.

The next morning we called to speak to someone locally to see if we could move to another Yurt - we were told we could, that they had received a message from the answering service (which relayed the wrong unit we were in), and were handed a key. Not once was there an apology for what had greeted us at the Yurt or for the miscommunication from the answering service.

Although the Yurts were neat and clean (as were the grounds), I do not feel the customer service was up to par.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAM3540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campaholickat
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

We wanted to go camping & experience the adventure of white water rafting in NC so my friend found Falling Waters Adventure Resort. It offered packages on room plus rafting so we booked it. In addition we booked ourselves for the zip-lining that they just started offering which is a pretty intense bit of fun.

The yurts were super comfortable, but it can only be compared to a tent or cabin type enviro. And it exceeds all expectations in my book. Ours comes equipped with mini-fridge, radio, coffee pot, queen bed & futon, ceiling & box fans; not to mention the hardwood floors, skylight, locking doors & porch! The staff there is fantastic & they supply towels to the rooms daily as well as keeping the bathrooms super tidy.

Every yurt comes with a porch with chairs & table, grill, picnic table, hammock & water hose. The bath house is centrally located with individual rooms that contain a shower, potty & sink. There's also a hot tub!

Activities include rafting, zip-lining, swimming on a fingerling of Lake Fontana & hiking (to the lake & waterfall overlook onsite). Just nearby is gem mining, horseback riding, kayaking & canoeing.

We had a great stay but something should definitely be mentioned...The county here is dry! Bryson City at 7 miles away is the closest stop to resupply so come prepared.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campaholickat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

My wife and I had the Yurt Village recommended to us by a coworker. We went in November (big mistake on my part) and were extremely cold during the night. I wouldn't consider this a "resort." It's more like a hybrid between camping and a hotel room. The room was cozy in the day. Nice bedding, hardwood floor, ceiling fan, etc. But like camping there is no bathroom or shower except at the bath house. Also, out cabin had the "best view" but it was really disappointing. If you are planning to raft the Natahala Rier, this would be an excllent location since the Village is a couple of miles from where the rafting trip ends. You could be out of the water and in a hot shower in 15 minutes. Also, Cherokee, NC is not too far from the Village if you want to try some gambling (although the electronic gambling is awful). I highly recomend staying in the summer or fall months. We had booked two evenings but because of the cold we only stayed one. The staff was kind enough to give us a rain check for the second evening, which we gave away to some friends who live closer to the Yurts.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hkendrick1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

Tucked away in the Nantahala River Gorge in Western NC was a GREAT relaxing vacation!
Stay in the African Yurt or the high Yurt overlooking the gorge.
Wildwater rafting was fun too!
We will go back and stay longer!
Sleeps 4...
A small walk to clean bathrooms and shower...
Bull frogs sing you to sleep!
Sit around your own private campfire!

  • Liked — Different and layed back...like camping with comfort...white water rafting and hiking...very private!
  • Disliked — Do not go if you are into 5 star comfort...this is a YURT...kids will love it!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
15.6 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
22.1 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
8.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
8.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
17.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falling Waters Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falling Waters Adventure Resort

Property: Falling Waters Adventure Resort
Address: 10345 US Hwy. 74 West, Bryson City, NC 28713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping at its best, luxurious camping in a wooded setting. Eight Yurt Cabins furnished with queen beds and futons, all linens, mini-refrigerators, coffee makers, charcoal grills, ceiling fans, CD players and wrap-around decks. Featured in National Geographic Adventure, Good Morning America, Atlanta Journal Constitution. Shared but private bathrooms, rafting and zipline canopy tour packages, area hiking, boating, horseback riding, motorcycling and more activities available. Group Lodge available for groups up to 44; bunk bed style with shower in each room, kitchen available for rent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falling Waters Adventure Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing