We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new tradition”
Review of Hemlock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I went to the Hemlock Inn, and had such a wonderful time that we want to make it a yearly event. The food was fantastic and the rooms were comfortable. The staff made sure we felt at home and always had a smile. We highly recommend this Inn!

Stayed: January 2012
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Hemlock Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hemlock Inn for 3 days and it was the highlight of our visit to the grand Smokey Mountains. Great place, great food, great service and wonderful people.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My family and I have been going to the Hemlock Inn for more than 25 years. We first started going when my two sons were young children. The boys loved the Hemlock just as much as my husband and I did and they continued to enjoy the visits through their teenage years and are now taking their own young families.

The Hemlock is not a big, swanky, city hotel. It is a casual family style inn where one of the best parts is getting to relax, meet new people, and eat. At the Hemlock Inn, the scenery is beautiful – from the first peak of the sun over the mountains in the morning to the sunset in the evening. This scenery changes frequently as the mist over the Smoky Mountains moves in and out.

There are huge porches on three sides of the inn lined with rocking chairs and a large sitting room inside for those would want to gather there. There is room in the yard for children to play and run around. On cold mornings or cool rainy days, the big fireplace is filled with a cozy fire for all to gather around and talk. Guest rooms also have comfortable seating for those times when you want some privacy. One former guest room has been turned into a library with books from floor to ceiling. No phones in the rooms and no TV sets help to encourage a quiet, restful, stay and visiting with your own group or new friends. The Hemlock has a large percentage of their guests return year after year. It is a great place for large families to gather for reunions.

The Hemlock serves meals around large tables, seating about 12 at a table. There are huge lazy susans in the middle of the tables filled with a variety of food choices. Breakfast and dinner are included with the price of your room and are always delicious. Conversation around the table includes what everyone did that day and recommendations to table mates of activities for the next day.

When guests stay at the Hemlock, they are treated as friends and are welcomed back as family. I have traveled extensively and this is definitely my very favorite place to stay. I think one's enjoyment of lodging often depends on their expectations. Hopefully, I have given a good picture of the Hemlock so you will know what to expect when you visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Hemlock Inn is the place to go to get away from it all--they serve two delicious meals a day (breakfast and dinner), which are included in the price of your stay. No phones or tv in the rooms, which really helps with winding down. Best folks ever who own, live on the property, and are your host and hostess.. The rooms are cozy, nothing fancy, but nice and clean--with double top sheets. The rooms were built in the 1950's, so have that mid 20th century charm (and quirks, which is part of the fun of staying here)

Beautiful views from the large porch, complete with rocking chairs. They even have a small reading library. My husband and I have been coming here for annual (and now semi-annual) retreats since 1998. We come back from the Hemlock rested, rejuvenated and relaxed every time.

Sleeping is wonderful--no humming air conditioners, just the mountain breezes lulling you to sleep. I love waking up in the morning here, when you can here the surrouniding woods come alive.

Very Close to town, but located on a property that neighbors the Park, it is both quiet and convenient.

I f you want a "retro" vacation, where the kids play games, or ping pong and you can either zone out or hike or both, then tthis is the place for you

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own porch (ask Mort, the owner) Most rooms have a small riefrigeator in them...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Hemlock Inn is a favorite destination for our entire family, including our three married daughters and their families. We have been staying at the Inn for 20 years or more. We always find peace and relaxation there, and so appreciate the Christian atmosphere, and the scrumptious food! We love Mort and Laney, have enjoyed watching their sons grow up. It's a place that seems suspended in time, lovely and clean and wholesome. They are very welcoming to kids. Our family speaks of it longingly, saying, "I wish we could go to the Hemlock Inn!"

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our daughter and niece, the meals and conversation were amazing. I love the fact that there was NO tv. We loved the library. he views where breath taking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My family stayed at the Hemlock for three nights in August. We were impressed with the location (out of town, up a winding road), and the meals were fantastic. Served family style at large round tables with lazy susans filled with southern goodness. There are a few cabins and rondettes in addition to traditional motel type rooms. We stayed in a rondette and if I were to return, would probably prefer the traditional rooms, which appeared slightly more updated. Don't go here for wifi and tv. Go here to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walkabout24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
1.3 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
2.2 mi away
Folkestone Inn
Folkestone Inn
#1 of 10 in Bryson City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Address: 911 Galbraith Creek Rd, P.O. Box 2350, Bryson City, NC 28713-8229
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: £89 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing