We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healing escape”
Review of Hemlock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I used to come stay at the Hemlock Inn to get away from the busy, stressful life we led in the Atlanta area. We not only came back as often as possible but began long-lasting friendships which still enrich us. We were comfortable, charmed, well-fed, and treated so courteously. The place attracts folks whose company we enjoy.

Room Tip: For those with mobility problems, there are rooms quite close to the dining rooms. For those who wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiecbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hemlock Inn represents the best of Smoky Mountain culture -- friendly family familiarity, stunning views, saliva-inspiring food and comfortable quarters. The White family has managed Hemlock for ages, and their compassionate supervision provides a personal touch for every guest. You'll meet owner Mort at breakfast or dinner -- which, by the way, is a la carte, classic Southern dining. When you're done with your piece of pie, sit on the rocking chairs and overlook the Smokies or play shuffleboard with your kids.

Craving mountain adventures? Hemlock is a five-minute drive from a branch of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Go tubing at Deep Creek -- you won't regret it. Want a hike but don't feel like leaving the property? Take a stroll on the Inn's trail, which starts right behind the main lodge and winds up the adjacent hill.

I grew up going to Hemlock for a weekend nearly every summer. While my life has changed in so many ways since those days, the Inn hasn't. And that's comforting. If you want consistent, comfortable lodging with a tremendous family touch, please try Hemlock Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WesVols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have not personally stayed the night here, but I have family that stays here when they come to visit me. Why am I writing a review? To tell you about the food! We have had the good fortune to be a part of several meals served at the Hemlock Inn. Meals are family style and the food gets blessed! Talk about feeling at home! Anything brought to the table is prepared with love. The people running the inn are very welcoming. I also enjoyed spending time rocking on the front porch! What a view! It is close to town, but feels like your thousands of miles away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The property has its flaws but we still loved it. It is quaint, has lots of atmosphere and is an interesting place to stay. In fact, we were delighted that we still had two unplanned nights in our itinerary and were able to book an additional night. Our room was clean and comfortable and situated at the end of the block and yes, one day it will need a lot of money to be spent; but then the charm would be lost. There was no TV or telephone but they were not missed. The dining room area was interesting as was the pewter tableware. Our dinner experience on the Saturday night was a little chaotic because the majority of guests on the night were families with excited young children rushing off to the Polar Express train journey but everyone was so friendly and it was a very positive and welcoming experience. The sitting area was like being in somebody's home with an open warm wood burning fireplace that just invited you to sit and relax in the rocking chairs lined up in front of it. The Inn is located on the top of a hill with views to the mountains. It is an easy drive to Bryson City. This was a great place for us to have the opportunity to absorb the small town feel with the comforts of a couple of good coffee shops and a welcoming pizza outlet. Dinner is not served at the Inn on Sunday evening. Although we were not participating in the train journey, we gained much pleasure in being onlookers of all the activity at the station. We used our additional day to shuffle through the deep forest floor of fallen leaves to complete a "hike in the woods" ( "bush walk" in Australia) in the Deep Creek National Park and later drive to Cherokee and visit the Museum . A hearty cooked breakfast of juice, cereal and yoghurt, stewed apples with cinnamon, baked grits, biscuits ( scones) and muffins, scrambled eggs and tea or coffee was served both mornings at the Inn and we didn't mind one little bit that the bell was rung to rush everyone along to the sitting. We have been fortunate enough to have many overseas travels in recent years. Many of the places you stay are quite generic and often forgotten. Hemlock Inn will always be in our memories and while we probably will not return from Australia to North Carolina, we would recommend this experience to other open minded travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit. I love this quaint mix of motel and b&b. We took our boys for the Polar Express package. This is the kind of place you build memories at. There are no tvs phones or wifi in the rooms. The rooms are your basic grandmothers home. The ONLY reason I couldn't do 5 star was the mattresses. They need replacing. So very uncomfortable and not just our room but the kids as well. Please replace them with good ones. It was pretty noisey one night with a bunch of inconsiderate guests letting their kids run rampant at 11.30 one night. Not inn keepers fault.
If you are offended by someone blessing the food at mealtimes then you probably are not a good fit at Hemlock Inn. Mealtimes are all family style and quite a treat,
Not much I can add to other reviews we love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This was our first trip to the Hemlock Inn. We love love loved it. Everything was exactly what we thought. This is a very Rustic environment,Very Cozy, no TV, hand stitched quilts, The family staff was very friendly and helpful, we immediately felt like we had been going there for 20 years and new everyone. The food was FANTASTIC with all the extra details included. warming the plates using metal serve ware to keep all food hot, heated cups in the morning, a beautiful fireplace in the main house.. and rocking chairs around the wrap around porch for the breath taking view.
We sat with three couples at our table who were all together they were very friendly and welcoming, they had all been going for ten plus years, and were actually locals who live in a bordering town that go regularly just for dinner. I cannot say enough good about the Hemlock Inn and staff.. If that is the environment you are looking for.. We have booked our next trip to return in two months.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dittodal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We rented the top floor of the "red cottage" for an overnight stay when visiting Bryson for a ride on the Polar Express train.
The cabin was very cute! Cozy with plenty of room for our party of 6.
It could use some updates. The mattresses are old and uncomfortable, I was glad we were only staying one night due to the beds.
There is no TV, and limited internet service, which was ok with me, but it's good to know when traveling with small children.
We were provided breakfast with our stay, it was good. Nice selection of different standard breakfast food (eggs, grits, ham, biscuits, muffins, etc) served family style. The main cabin is very cute, with plenty of rocking chairs around the fire.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
1.4 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
1.5 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
2.1 mi away
Folkestone Inn
Folkestone Inn
#1 of 10 in Bryson City
260 reviews
2.6 mi away
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Address: 911 Galbraith Creek Rd, P.O. Box 2350, Bryson City, NC 28713-8229
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: £91 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing