We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even Better Than We Expected!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bryson City, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dowrite
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Even Better Than We Expected!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

If you’re looking for the perfect mountain getaway, look no further. We had an amazing time at High Haven! Be prepared though…if you’ve never driven on mountain roads, you’re in for a surprise. Our family rented High Haven with another family, so there were four adults and four children in a big, heavy Ford F150 van. It didn't take us long to figure out why it's called High Haven. It's located high on top of a mountain, and you must travel up a long road that winds around…and around…and around. Thankfully the road is paved, but it’s narrow and steep and, as on all mountain roadways, there are no railings. Yikes! The first time up, we were all scared – but it was an adventure, and we got used it after a few trips up and down the mountain.

When you reach High Haven, you immediately realize the drive up was so worth it. The views from every single window are spectacular (and High Haven has a LOT of windows). The main floor has a huge wrap-around balcony with plenty of seating, and a hot tub (what a great place for a hot tub!). The view of the Smoky Mountains is breathtaking from this balcony, and from the other large balcony on the lower level. The pool table in the spacious lower level was great. The kids – and some of the adults – had a blast playing pool! The upstairs loft is a spacious bedroom with a bathroom and large closet. We loved it because it's so unique and you can enjoy the fabulous view... but it is open and doesn’t offer any privacy for sleeping.

High Haven is located in Bryson City. We didn’t spend much time in Bryson, but there is so much to do nearby. We went whitewater rafting at the Nantahala Outdoor Center, Zip lining at the Nantahala Gorge Canopy Tours (I highly recommend both), and had lunch in nearby Cherokee. We also went gem mining, hiked to Mingo Falls, and to the fire tower on the Appalachian Trail. We took a day trip to explore and hike through Cades Cove, and stopped for lunch in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. There was so much more to do and see within a short drive from High Haven. I would definitely rent High Haven again!

Also...Great Smoky Cabin rentals was great to work with. They were very professional, customer service oriented, and helpful, and they made sure we had everything we needed. They also patiently answered all of our questions, and gave us lots of great information about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Incredible Views
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review High Haven Cabin.
We're glad that it was better than you expected.

We agree about mountain roads! We're glad you got used to it after a few trips.

We're glad you enjoyed the view and the pool table.

It sounds like you had quite an adventure enjoying the NOC, zip lining, gem mining, visiting Gatlinburg, and enjoying the outdoors!

We're so glad that you had a good experience with our staff and hope you will keep us in mind for future vacations. As a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount when you call to book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Reviewed 14 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Dec 2012
Thank you John and Dana, for taking the time to review High Haven Cabin.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's interesting that you say the parking area was narrow -- there is parking not only at the back of the house, but also further down in the gravel lot where you can access the lowest level.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations - as a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount off any of our cabins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clarksville
Reviewed 14 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Dec 2012
Thank you, Angie, for taking the time to reserve High Haven Cabin.

We're glad you enjoyed it and hope you will come back.

As a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount when you call to book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2012
Thank you, Sarah, for taking the time to review High Haven Cabin.

We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to having you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SC
Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Apr 2012
Thank you, Repairhandyman, for taking the time to review High Haven Cabin. We love the view too.

We'll let the owners know about your suggestsion for the chairs near the pool table.

Please keep us in mind for your future vacations -- as a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount when you call to book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GA
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Apr 2012
Thank you, Christy, for taking the time to review High Haven Cabin.
We appreciate your feedback and your repeat business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kelbermom
New York City, New York
1 review
“Paradise-A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We are an extended family of 7 ( 3 middle agers, 3 young adults and 1 teenager) who ventured to NC to celebrate Thanksgiving. There was ample room for everyone. The floor to ceiling windows in the front of the cabin allowed us to take in the amazing views! I can not say enough about being above the clouds-words can not describe it. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night, we would turn off all the lights and look at the sky-we saw shooting stars every night! Loved the gas firestove in the family room, it really kept the main and loft areas warm. The cabin is well maintained and clean. Look no further if you are seeking a place to relax, unwind and enjoy nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is amazing
Liked least: Cloth sofa-leather would be much nicer/cleaner, updated flat screen television in main family room would be nice, heater for game room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2011
Thank you, Lisa! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations -- as a repeat guest you'll receive a 10% discount when you call to book.

Don't forget about our Wacky Snowman Photo Contest. Just email us (Rentals@4Smokys.com) a picture of a snowman from your stay or upload one to our facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/SmokyMountainRentals) to be entered to win a free 2 night stay in one of our cabins.
The snowman only needs to be a representation of a snowman and does not have to be made from snow.

Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing